Check Out New Name Of Nollywood Actress Belinda Effah, Explains Reasons

Date: 13-05-2021 8:05 pm (2 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 13-05-2021 08:05 PM (2 years ago)

Nollywood actress, Belinda Effah, has revealed that she will now be officially addressed as Grace-Charis Bassey. The actress recently announced this development on her Instagram page.

Speaking at a press conference held on the set of the “Nollywood Queens” reality show, Effah disclosed that she changed her name from Belinda Effah to Grace-Charis Bassey.

According to the actress, her divine encounter with God prompted the name change.

Her words; “I had to change my name and the only thing that can make me change my name will be the most supreme being which is God.

A lot of people will not understand that. So I don’t bother to explain to people when they ask me why. On the 15th of August last year. I had a divine encounter with God to change my name to Grace. Nobody changed my name, God did.”

“A couple of years ago, I wanted to change my name when I found out that I could not really grasp the meaning of my name. Some people said it meant ‘beauty’ some other people said it meant ‘beautiful serpent’.

So I was caught in between not knowing what the right meaning is and I wasn’t quite comfortable with that. Also, Belinda was not the name my parents gave to me.

My birth name is Uyu.”
I came across Belinda in secondary school, when my brother came up with the idea of changing my name and my sisters’ names because we were all bearing native names. He came up with different names and asked us to pick.

Funny enough, I picked Melinda but I didn’t like the name because people started calling me Mirinda in school. So I decided to just go on with Belinda because they could not twist it to something funny like Mirinda. I didn’t check the meaning, I was just carried away because it sounded cool and funky.”

The Calabar, Cross River State-born beauty, said she went soul-searching after feeling stuck in life “Having fully grow

Posted: at 13-05-2021 08:05 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 13-05-2021 11:27 PM (2 years ago)
i like UYU and what hell do you mean by native name...Mumu girl  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-05-2021 11:27 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- GermoDon at 14-05-2021 12:19 AM (2 years ago)
Aduro name loading and u will still tell us ur true name later
Posted: at 14-05-2021 12:19 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 14-05-2021 08:20 AM (2 years ago)
Belinda, you've disappointed me beyond imagination. Changing your names to names really doesn't bother me, but  to refer to your actual name as 'native' just confirms  your level of ignorance. And without a shadow of doubt, your reference to  native is implicit- a derogatory  attribute , not so. Well I live in Europe, but Europeans will never change their names   for any other region or civilisation simply because their  initial  names felt' native'. Have truly come across eastern European names, they're amongst the most difficult  names on earth. But you know what, they can't give it up to anyone for anything. In fact they're more than proud of the tags. So to you Grace is more 'classy' and 'civilised', you're disappointment. I had had personal liking for your action abilities and beauty, but to self prophess this rubbish about your actual self is  mind bugging. Please try a small read from Andrew Maslow about self actualization. You're a disappointment.  Again ignorance is more expensive than illiteracy  and you've just confirmed that.
Posted: at 14-05-2021 08:20 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smart61 at 14-05-2021 12:35 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: Kormeijama on 14-05-2021 08:20 AM
Belinda, you've disappointed me beyond imagination. Changing your names to names really doesn't bother me, but  to refer to your actual name as 'native' just confirms  your level of ignorance. And without a shadow of doubt, your reference to  native is implicit- a derogatory  attribute , not so. Well I live in Europe, but Europeans will never change their names   for any other region or civilisation simply because their  initial  names felt' native'. Have truly come across eastern European names, they're amongst the most difficult  names on earth. But you know what, they can't give it up to anyone for anything. In fact they're more than proud of the tags. So to you Grace is more 'classy' and 'civilised', you're disappointment. I had had personal liking for your action abilities and beauty, but to self prophess this rubbish about your actual self is  mind bugging. Please try a small read from Andrew Maslow about self actualization. You're a disappointment.  Again ignorance is more expensive than illiteracy  and you've just confirmed that.
...SHE IS NOT AN ILLITERATE AND YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE MAD OR HATE HER OVER A MERE CHANGE OF NAME. SHE IS AN ADULT AND REALLY KNOW WHAT SHE WANTED. I ALSO LIVE IN EUROPE AND I HAVE WITNESSED SOME WHITE PEOPLE CHANGING THEIR ORIGINAL NAMES TO WHAT THEY FELT WAS APPROPRIATE. I GAVE MY DAUGHTER A NAME THAT I AND HER MOTHER LATER REALISED THAT THE CHOSEN NAME WAS A MISTAKE AND CONTEMPLATED CHANGING IT. WHY? BECAUSE SOME DOGS OWNERS PURPOSELY NAME THEIR PET DOGS WITH THE NAME BECAUSE IT IS A BEAUTIFUL NAME AND THEIR PET BELOVED DOGS DESERVE A SWEET NAME. BUT OUR DAUGHTER WAS NOT COMFORTABLE WITH THE NAME.
Posted: at 14-05-2021 12:35 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac