Jonathan laments quality of Nigerian graduates (Page 4)

Date: 22-11-2010 11:30 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 2 3 [4] 5
- adewalefisayo at 23-11-2010 02:31 PM (13 years ago)
who's fault? no be dem?
Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- glamourjoe at 23-11-2010 02:38 PM (13 years ago)
we are in a sorry situation..9ja sorry oooo
Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Abby at 23-11-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: laydeelaracraft on 23-11-2010 11:42 AM
Quote from: odiono on 22-11-2010 07:09 PM
Quote from: Abby on 22-11-2010 06:52 PM
Huh?... there are very few female leaders in Nigeria

WHAT HAS FEMALE LEADERSHIP GOT TO DO WITH THIS TOPIC? THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT THE QUALITY OF GRADUATES BEING TURNED OUT YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT WITH THE RESULTING UNEMPLOYMENT, YOU ARE HERE TALKING GENDER AND MARGINALISATION!

i tire for people oh. they always av to turn everything into a gender/ race debate
smh I guess Oyez is right... "jumping into assumptions and conclusions is just another case of unemployable Nigerians"... did you read the before and after before posting this?
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- RAPH2009 at 23-11-2010 03:36 PM (13 years ago)
Believe me guys this country is full of unemployed and unemployable graduates.Nigerian graduates are not helping themselves,employer outside there are looking for somebody that has something upstair ,that can deliver not simpleton.

But our leaders contribute to this problem Nigerian Graduates having today, no good Laboratory for Science Students,no Engineering workshop for engineering students .Electronic Engineering student can not identify components, they dont know the difference between Veroboard and Breadboard, God will help us.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- democrazy at 23-11-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago)
I wonder what the statistics will say for those wanting or ruling Nigeria. Can we also say they are a bunch of corrupt, unrepentable illiterates?
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 23-11-2010 05:30 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 23-11-2010 11:08 AM
i am lying down already now , so abi make i get up and sidon well well ?

No....no get up oooo just lye down there and sleep well well.............
Posted: at 23-11-2010 05:30 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- laydeelaracraft at 23-11-2010 06:59 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Abby on 23-11-2010 03:13 PM
Quote from: laydeelaracraft on 23-11-2010 11:42 AM
Quote from: odiono on 22-11-2010 07:09 PM
Quote from: Abby on 22-11-2010 06:52 PM
Huh?... there are very few female leaders in Nigeria

WHAT HAS FEMALE LEADERSHIP GOT TO DO WITH THIS TOPIC? THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT THE QUALITY OF GRADUATES BEING TURNED OUT YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT WITH THE RESULTING UNEMPLOYMENT, YOU ARE HERE TALKING GENDER AND MARGINALISATION!

i tire for people oh. they always av to turn everything into a gender/ race debate
smh I guess Oyez is right... "jumping into assumptions and conclusions is just another case of unemployable Nigerians"... did you read the before and after before posting this?

If u notice the order of the write-up, u will notice that oyez sed this after the comment I responded to. Plus "many of them especially girl" wasnt exactly in context, yeah the writer was been sarcastic but the whole point of sarcasm is that it appears to mean sumthing but really does mean the opposite. and for that u cant blame people for misinterpreting what u say
Posted: at 23-11-2010 06:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- laydeelaracraft at 23-11-2010 07:07 PM (13 years ago)
@ twinster- true that but it sounds like anoda political tactic. na today naija dey suffer for education, chances r he is full of ideas now before election so that he will get his votes....it has been done before n it will b done again. He raises an issue out of it but will he follow it up? most politicians dont. If he really is that keen on naija education, one of the things he shud av done (even before he became president) is train up his wife. It has been done before.

Maybe we are all a lil skeptical of our politicians becuz what they do best is promise promise but most of them dont exactly follow it up. As such most people av lost faith in them
Posted: at 23-11-2010 07:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- puffyer at 23-11-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago)
Abeg ma hear word,this is what the late abami eda sang in one of his tracks,how Govt. .go say my people are useless,senseless,my people are indiscipline ,
this is just are political statement from Jonathan...if he is serious,striking lecturers should be called back.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Celestial1 at 23-11-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago)
I honestly think that this is a reflection of the state of the curriculum in Nigerian universities .   Nigerians have a stellar reputation in British and North American universities for academic excellence.  Therefore, I would conclude that the same level of intellect exists among Nigerian students in Nigeria, but one can only do with what they are given.  If students are asked to study from an under-par curriculum with under-par instructors then we can all see what the end result will be.  Better to reevaluate the state of Nigerian universities than to blame the graduates.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- brightossy at 24-11-2010 12:13 AM (13 years ago)
Mayb hin wife no be graduate.
Posted: at 24-11-2010 12:13 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- laydeelaracraft at 24-11-2010 12:47 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Celestial1 on 23-11-2010 11:55 PM
I honestly think that this is a reflection of the state of the curriculum in Nigerian universities .   Nigerians have a stellar reputation in British and North American universities for academic excellence.  Therefore, I would conclude that the same level of intellect exists among Nigerian students in Nigeria, but one can only do with what they are given.  If students are asked to study from an under-par curriculum with under-par instructors then we can all see what the end result will be.  Better to reevaluate the state of Nigerian universities than to blame the graduates.

so true- if u end up spending 7 yrs instead of 4 doing a course, it becomes so disjointed n ur commitment u had at the start wud av dwindled. a spoke to a frn whose bro is currently studying in a university in Cotonou n I was angry n ashamed! it is not like they ave better resources than us (intellectual/ financially), but they got their sh*t right n we r where we r!
Posted: at 24-11-2010 12:47 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 2YOUNG at 24-11-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago)
Senseless speech are we the one to provide Standard education for ourselves... striking all the time.. and they just overlook it cos their Children are studying in Nigeria they are less consigned about that.. we don't ask him to address Problem.. Solve the Problem is the issue.. MR PRESIDENT   
Posted: at 24-11-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Gbadura at 24-11-2010 03:55 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: solojaro on 22-11-2010 04:45 PM
The truth is very bitter , Can you imagine where a graduate can not even write a formal letters. she was also asked to summerise the letter, which she could not do. yet she is graduates, a product of a Nigerian Univesity.
          If there should be a change, then it should start from the top, I mean the so call leaders.
Posted: at 24-11-2010 03:55 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Gbadura at 24-11-2010 03:59 PM (13 years ago)
I think if there should be any change, then it should start from the top, I mean the leaders.
Posted: at 24-11-2010 03:59 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ANYIDONSAIL at 24-11-2010 11:53 PM (13 years ago)
oyez uv finished this man on the verge of correction he was committing blonder
Posted: at 24-11-2010 11:53 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- uwachi at 25-11-2010 02:26 AM (13 years ago)
True talk,what did they expect when some government university don't even have lab for the student to put what they are studying into practical,i just pray d method of Nigeria education should change for good.
Posted: at 25-11-2010 02:26 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- los_blancos at 28-11-2010 01:57 AM (13 years ago)
that a good idea by introducing an entrepreneurship courses in the academic system...that's cool,,,but then grant the once who are already the job opportunity first.. good work presido 
Posted: at 28-11-2010 01:57 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- LEONE at 28-11-2010 03:16 PM (13 years ago)
Fix the problem mr. president
Posted: at 28-11-2010 03:16 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- c2bconference at 2-12-2010 03:35 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ksurrina on 22-11-2010 05:08 PM
The only way a person can go through UNIVERSITY and HIGH SCHOOL with a Certificate and is unable to do what is require of them, they were place there through witchcraft and not because of their abilities. So this speech by the President only allow the World to look at Nigerians as "EDUCATED DUNCE." The Professor who wrote this and give him to read only let the LECTURERS at the school look as if they are passing out graduates because they cannot do better. Also that the segxwal TRADE that are portrayed in the Nigerian Movies are truthful were University Graduates are concern.

My advice to Mr. President is that not everything is to make headline. This was given to you call a meeting and discuss it. That is what LOVE is, it shows compassion and not shame.

The process of learning is a life-time one, it doesn't just end after you've graduated, you keep gaining information and experiences, meeting people and learning from them, being in the right places at the right time, attending seminars and conferences...watch out for classroom to boardroom conference 2011, visit www.c2bconference.com for more details.
Posted: at 2-12-2010 03:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 [4] 5