Arranged Marriages… What’s Your Take?

Date: 12-12-2010 11:07 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 12-12-2010 11:07 AM (13 years ago)

Many of us have seen it, heard of it, matter of fact, it has happened to us. I’m talking about arranged marriages. Back in the day, it was obvious when parents choose who their children would marry. For reasons which seem absurd today, years ago arrangements were made at birth way before the child could walk or talk because of the reputation of the family, vocation, wealth, and religion. Nowadays, we say these sorts of arrangements are nonexistent but I beg to differ.

Ladies…fellas, how many times have your parents told you that your spouse must be from a certain nationality, tribe, religion, or state? How many times have your parents argued that you should not come home with “oyibo” or “akata?” How many times have they “suggested” a suitable son, daughter, niece, or nephew of their very close friend? And lastly, ladies how many times have you received a phone call from a random guy saying they got your number from your mom’s friend? If this has happened to you and a relationship grew from this hook-up, your union was arranged.

Some say that since my parents did not hand-pick my spouse then it was not arranged. So I ask this question, what is the definition of an arranged marriage? Arranged marriage is a prearrangement by someone other than the couple getting wedded, curtailing or avoiding the process of courtship. I know people hardly get married without getting to know the person but the fact that parents have already pre-selected factors that must be considered before marriage is an arrangement. They have done almost everything but select your spouse. When I was growing up, my father always talked about the many virtues of an Igbo man and about reasons why I should not deter the male prospects that he “prefers.” At first, I thought it was cute and funny but then my mother started singing the same song. So as a rebellious young adult, I decided to do some research.

Over the years, I have been fortunate to date other races and I have to conclude that I do not see what the fuss is about. Love should not be confined. I agree that there are culture differences that have to be considered if you want your offspring to be familiar with their roots but that can be fixed. However, when I lived in Nigeria, I had several “mixed” friends who accustomed to the lifestyle. Therefore, there should not be that fear that your children will not adopt the African culture. It is possible just as long as parents are bringing their children up in the right way.

Needless to say, my mom is beginning to fuss about my male selections and has taken it upon herself to select Nigerian Igbo men for me to date and eventually marry. I get calls from my mom’s friends trying to hook me up with Nigerian guys in Malaysia, London, Brazil, and of course Nigeria. They always say “you guys should talk and see what happens.” However, if it does not work out…everyone is disappointed in me. Am I wrong for choosing not to discriminate?

Posted: at 12-12-2010 11:07 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FlyMamacita at 12-12-2010 12:28 PM (13 years ago)
U are not wrong, but i think the way u talk about it is so.... hmmm i cant find the words rite now.

Culture differences is not something easy! And even when it doesnt bring problems rite away, they will come in the future!

It takes a lot of understanding, but only when tht happens from both sides! Which is not always the case...
Posted: at 12-12-2010 12:28 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PreetyInstinct at 12-12-2010 01:00 PM (13 years ago)
The back of dat man's head is weird. Undecided

@Post neva been a fan, and it's neva applied 2 me but i would say they should probably cohabitate first & get 2 know eachother a lil better b4 any major decision.

Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:00 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 12-12-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago)
PI, yes ooo i neva paid attention sef but d head weird oo
Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PreetyInstinct at 12-12-2010 01:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 12-12-2010 01:02 PM
PI, yes ooo i neva paid attention sef but d head weird oo
Cheesy Grin

Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:03 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 12-12-2010 01:07 PM (13 years ago)
now i cant stop staring at it... how com its like dis ?  Cheesy
Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:07 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PreetyInstinct at 12-12-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 12-12-2010 01:07 PM
now i cant stop staring at it... how com its like dis ?  Cheesy

Maybe he is related to the poster let's ask him.... Grin

Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 12-12-2010 01:14 PM (13 years ago)
Poster, how com ur friend get head like sometin wanna com out from d back??  Grin Grin
Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:14 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- xena15 at 12-12-2010 01:17 PM (13 years ago)
Long story bt it's a NO NO 4 me....

Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- justceetah at 12-12-2010 01:20 PM (13 years ago)
i aint 4 all dat

Posted: at 12-12-2010 01:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nellygold at 12-12-2010 02:16 PM (13 years ago)
It's a personal call.....
Posted: at 12-12-2010 02:16 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 14-12-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago)
Capital NO
Posted: at 14-12-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- blessedme at 14-12-2010 02:41 PM (13 years ago)
yes and no
Posted: at 14-12-2010 02:41 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- do4sure at 14-12-2010 02:54 PM (13 years ago)
SOMEONE IS TRYING TO CONFUSE ME.PLS SOMEONE SHOULD FLASH A LIGHT ON MATCH-MAKING AND ARRANGED MARRIAGE AS PRESENTED BY THE POSTER.
Posted: at 14-12-2010 02:54 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 14-12-2010 02:59 PM (13 years ago)
A NO-GO area ooo..........

Posted: at 14-12-2010 02:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 14-12-2010 03:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 14-12-2010 02:59 PM

dp this ur profile pics is telling me something oooooooo

Posted: at 14-12-2010 03:05 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 14-12-2010 03:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 14-12-2010 02:59 PM
why why why?

Posted: at 14-12-2010 03:07 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chiglamour4u at 14-12-2010 03:08 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 12-12-2010 01:14 PM
Poster, how com ur friend get head like sometin wanna com out from d back??  Grin Grin

lol watin carry ur eye go there
Posted: at 14-12-2010 03:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Priceless-jewel at 14-12-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 14-12-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 14-12-2010 03:11 PM (13 years ago)
dats a mango head(Opioro mango)

Posted: at 14-12-2010 03:11 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Odumeje Disappointed Us - Abroad Based Man Shares What ‘Indaboski’ Did at London Airport

2. Internet on Fire As Wizkid and Davido Fight Each Other With Words on X(Twitter)

3. Careful o, I'm Not The One to Be Played With - Tekno Replies Kizz Daniel Over 'Buga' Royalties

4. Two Employees Suspended After Their Footage Of Performing Ritual In Office Is Exposed

5. SHOCKING Moment Two Employees Were Caught on CCTV Performing Rituals in The Office

6. Forex: CBN Stops Opay,Palmpay, Kuda& Moniepoint From Onboarding New Customers

7. War Of Words Lingers On As Oritse Femi Sides With Wizkid After Calling Don Jazzy An Influencer

8. Former UFC Heavyweight Champion, Francis Ngannou Mourns Death of His 18months Old Son

9. Upcoming Singer, Gnewzy, Kidnapped in Delta, His Abductors Demand $200k Ransom

10. 16 Persons Land In Police Net Over Murder Of Female Police Inspector, Erekere In Rivers

11. Bayern Munich v Real Madrid: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)