Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu and Wife Appears In UK Court For Child Trafficking

Date: 23-06-2022 5:23 pm (1 year ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 23-06-2022 05:23 PM (1 year ago)

The Nigerian couple arrested on suspicion of plotting to harvest the organs of a child in the UK are one of the west African nation's most high profile politicians and his wife, MailOnline can reveal today.

Ike Ekweremadu, 60, a People's Democratic Party politician for 19 years who was once Deputy President of the nation's senate, was held with Nwanneka Ekweremadu, 55, in Britain this month.

Mr Ekweremadu has been an elected senator at the Abuja-based parliament since 2003 after moving into politics after years as a lawyer. His wife, five years his junior, is an academic and doctor and also a major public figure in Nigeria. They are believed to have four adult children.

They are both charged with conspiracy to arrange or facilitate travel of another person with a view to exploitation, namely organ harvesting. The have been remanded in custody and will appear at Uxbridge Magistrates' Court today.

The Metropolitan Police has said the child, who is under the age of 18, at the centre of the alleged plot is in care. Organ harvesting involves removing parts of the body, often for cash and against the victim's will.

Scotland Yard has not given the gender or the age of the child - or the location of the arrests. But given the suspects are appearing in court in Uxbridge, it is likely they were held at the nearby Heathrow Airport.

Ekweremadu has been in the UK for at least the past fortnight having met with members of the Nigerian community in Britain in Lincoln around ten days ago.

He tweeted: 'It was a pleasure and an honour to receive a letter of appointment by the University of Lincoln, UK, as Visiting Professor of Corporate and International Linkages. I also got a highly treasured gift - a copy of the Magna Carta. It was created in 1215, about 807 years ago'.

The investigation was launched after detectives were alerted to potential offences under modern slavery legislation in May 2022, the force said.

In 2017 a former Nigerian government minister claimed that migrants from his country were having their organs harvested after being sold into slavery.

Femi Fani-Kayode, a onetime aviation minister in Nigeria, claimed that 75 per cent of slaves who have their organs harvested in North Africa are from his country.

The Cambridge University-educated lawyer added that the victims have their 'bodies mutilated' and are 'roasted like suya [shish kebabs]'. He went on: 'Roasted alive! This is what Libyans do to sub-Saharan Africans who are looking for a transit point to Europe.

'They sell them into slavery and either murder, mutilate, torture or work them to death.'

Posted: at 23-06-2022 05:23 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- maxzy277 at 23-06-2022 06:35 PM (1 year ago)
Yawa
Posted: at 23-06-2022 06:35 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 23-06-2022 06:41 PM (1 year ago)
I am yet to understand the rationale behind using another person's organ for whatever purpose.

If it's for making money, what is the difficulty in using your own organ?

People are intentionally heartless. God will punish this man and his wife. They will not go free.

People like you are the reason why innocent Nigerians face racial discrimination all over the world.

Deputy president of the Nigerian senate for three consecutive terms. How much money will the organ of an innocent child fetch you compared to the huge amount of money you earned, and stole while in office? Wicked Soul.

They are scattered all over Europe, America, Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

I wish the UK authorities will torture them to the extent of calling names, and giving useful information about their network.

The human life is not a toy to be played with. Man is God's most priceless possession.

These are the kind of people if you dare to get close to their children they will use all their powers to put you in jail for a long time.
Posted: at 23-06-2022 06:41 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Stengo at 23-06-2022 07:04 PM (1 year ago)
OMG
Posted: at 23-06-2022 07:04 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 23-06-2022 07:07 PM (1 year ago)
He will die in prison!! fool he let his wife too PUSH him.....
Posted: at 23-06-2022 07:07 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Jiiitk4 at 23-06-2022 07:25 PM (1 year ago)
This is what you get from being DISOBiDIENT. Our gods are not happy with Ike Ekweremadu for saying that NDIGBO will vote for Atiku. We warned him. Many more will fall like him. Be OBIDIENT. Join the OBIDIENT MOVEMENT
Posted: at 23-06-2022 07:25 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- angelzizi at 23-06-2022 08:06 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 23-06-2022 07:07 PM
He will die in prison!! fool he let his wife too PUSH him.....
U honestly need to forgive this woman that shattered your heart to pieces, be it ur mum or whoever just forgive and forget ok? May the Lord heal your broken heart
Posted: at 23-06-2022 08:06 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 23-06-2022 08:34 PM (1 year ago)
Let this be the last time we hear of him.

Posted: at 23-06-2022 08:34 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Boi2Man at 23-06-2022 09:31 PM (1 year ago)
Husband and wife agreed to do evil together!! Na wa ooo
Posted: at 23-06-2022 09:31 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac