PDP Flagbearer, Atiku Laments ASUU Strike, Promises Students’ Loans If Elected President

Date: 03-08-2022 6:23 am (1 year ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 3-08-2022 06:23 AM (1 year ago)

Atiku Abubakar, the presidential candidate on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), says he is worried about the ongoing ASUU strike, promising Nigerian youths students’ loans if elected president in 2023.

He also called for increased collaboration between the UK and Nigeria on issues of mutual benefits. He made the call on Monday in Abuja when he hosted a delegation of the British high commission in Nigeria, led by High Commissioner Catriona Laing at his residence.

Mr Abubakar in a statement he personally signed said the meeting discussed a wide range of issues bordering on security, education, agriculture, economy and how to foster national unity in Nigeria.
“Bilateral ties between Nigeria and the United Kingdom have a rich history and it is important for both countries to leverage on that to promote issues that are of mutual concern,” explained Mr Abubakar. “I expect the UK to play a more active role for the survival of democracy in Nigeria.’’

Mr Abubakar thanked the delegation and expressed confidence that the 2023 presidential election in Nigeria would be free and fair.

He, however decried the worsening insecurity plaguing Nigeria, and solicited the UK’s assistance, especially in providing training and intelligence sharing.

On the economy, Mr Abubakar said if given the opportunity, he would, among other things, end multiple exchange rate regimes and reduce tax to encourage genuine manufacturers and promote real investments.
He also promised to boost agriculture to create employment for the country’s teeming population. In addition, the PDP presidential candidate expressed concern over the lingering ASUU strike and the rot in the education sector, promising to carry out reforms, including loan schemes for Nigerian students.

According to the statement, Ms Laing said the meeting was part of the ongoing engagement of the UK government to enhance democracy and credible elections in Nigeria.

Posted: at 3-08-2022 06:23 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Dopybadass at 3-08-2022 06:30 AM (1 year ago)
No be only loans,bloody liars
Posted: at 3-08-2022 06:30 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Asugboma at 3-08-2022 06:39 AM (1 year ago)
Same lies as usual, promised to install electricity till today it has entered voicemail. We are going for Obi thanks for your offer.
Posted: at 3-08-2022 06:39 AM (1 year ago) | Newbie
- Jiiitk4 at 3-08-2022 06:46 AM (1 year ago)
Story. Another story from  another  hausa fulani.  To hell with your  empty  promises. Just  prepare yourself for failure  because  based on the killings,  destruction  and  kidnappings  by the  hausa fulanis today  no northerner will be voted to succeed Buhari.  NEVER.
Posted: at 3-08-2022 06:46 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- constigoldo at 3-08-2022 08:40 AM (1 year ago)
Nigerian youths, don't believe this, please......
Posted: at 3-08-2022 08:40 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 3-08-2022 09:53 AM (1 year ago)
Your children are  schooling abroad.  And you are living in Dubai only  comes to Nigeria  to contest for  election  which you  never  win. After failing  the election you defect to  another  party and rush back to Dubai. We know all this.  We know  you  but Obasanjo knows you better and has warned and  advised  us  to be  OBIDIENT and YUSFUL.
Posted: at 3-08-2022 09:53 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goldtime at 3-08-2022 12:47 PM (1 year ago)
Hmmm ! I’m not sure this is genuinely coming from Atiku .The former VP knows better than that ! Lending student loan requires so much fundamentals and the state of Nigeria hasn’t put in place those mechanism for achieving that goal yet . Easy to say but the implementation comes takes decades Caz Nigeria is not there yet .
Posted: at 3-08-2022 12:47 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 3-08-2022 12:54 PM (1 year ago)
Posted: at 3-08-2022 12:54 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Somtoya at 3-08-2022 01:26 PM (1 year ago)
Story of the gods. UUPE we don hear.
Posted: at 3-08-2022 01:26 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming

1. Construction of Sokoto-Badagry Coastal Highway Will Commence Soonest - Min. Dave Umahi

2. Court Remands 8 Nigerian Men Accused of Attacking Police Officers in South Africa

3. NDLEA Nabs Man, Yahaya Danjuma While Trying to Export 4,000 Pills of Tramadol 225mg to Italy

4. Woman, Vera Embarrassed By Pastor Enenche, Apologizes For Seeking Accommodation

5. President Wife, Remi Tinubu Mourn Victims Of Rivers Tanker Fire

6. Prince Harry And Meghan Markle Set To Visit Nigeria

7. Justin Bieber Sparks Concern After Seen Crying Amid Rumors Of Rift With Wife, Hailey Bieber

8. President Tinubu Meets Microsoft Founder Bill Gates In Saudi Arabia

9. Emotional Moment Gospel Singer, Moses Bliss Gifts Team With Three New Cars

10. Late Actor, Mr Ibu’s Funeral Arrangement Emerge Online

11. P&ID Fraud Allegation: Seun Kuti Apologises To Ayorinde

12. 'If My Name Is Removed From Your Name, You Are Nothing' - Portable Continues Dragging His Wife

13. 'Surrender To EFCC, Don't Disgrace Us Ex Govs,' -Samuel Ortom Tells Yahaya Bello

14. Police Begin Investigation As Gunmen Murder Aiyedatiwa’s Campaign Coordinator

15. 'This Is The 1st Time I Will Be Celebrating My Birthday Without My Husband'-Mohbad's Wife, Wumi

16. Actress, Kemi Afolabi Celebrates Her Birthday With Powerful Words Of Prayer

17. Police Rescue Two Kidnap Victims In Delta

18. Wizkid Mocks Don Jazzy While Reacting To Shade Fired At Him By Ladipoe

19. Beg Me Like This If You Want New Song – Wizkid Mocks Davido (VIDEO)

20. Herdsmen Attack Enugu Community Leaving Many Dead

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. "How I Was Stylishly Set Out Of My Husband’s House The Same Day He Was Buried- Ajigijaga's Wife

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son