2023 Election: "Don’t Allow Religion To Divide Us" -Lagos Gov. Sanwo-olu Urges Nigerians

Date: 16-09-2022 6:16 am (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 16-09-2022 06:16 AM (1 year ago)

Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has urged Nigerians not to allow religious division, especially in respect to the APC Muslim-Muslim ticket for the presidential poll.

Sanwo-Olu gave the advice on Thursday in Ikoyi, at the 96th Anniversary Lecture of the Yoruba Tennis Club, with the topic: ”Social Club and the Search for National Cohesion”.

He said that electing the next President of Nigeria should be about leadership, character, audacity to think and the ability to think deeply and solve problems.

According to him, the election of the right persons is not about religion, as there is nothing in the issue of a Muslim-Muslim Ticket for the APC Presidential candidacy.

“I am a Christian and my wife is a Christian but we know too well that it is not about religion.

“We have forgotten that in 2011 when Action Congress at that time gave a platform to Malam Nuhu Ribadu and his vice presidential candidate then was Mr Fola Adeola.

“It was a joint Muslim-Muslim ticket and we did not see any problem at that time.

“But suddenly, because there is a likelihood of this ticket emerging as a winner, people now want to divide us. We will say no because that is not who we are.

“It is about leadership. It is about character. It is about audacity to think. It is about the ability to be able to think deep and solve problems.

“We do not want to despair other candidates. We all know too well what their antecedents are. We all know too what their credentials are. But we know that as a nation, we need a strong launch pad. We need to think out of the box and be able to put our best foot forward,”
he said.

The governor commended the leadership of the Yoruba Tennis Club for making the right choice of inviting the APC Vice Presidential candidate, Sen. Kashim Shettima as the guest speaker.

“We are celebrating 96 years now and let it be on record that by 2026 during our centenary celebration, by the grace of God, we will have Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu coming here to celebrate as President on our centenary.

“By your grace and your support, I will still remain as your 15th Governor, coming here and celebrate in four years time and all of you will be here.

“We deserve the presidency. In Lagos we deserve it. Lagos requires it and it would be by the grace of God a bigger, better and stronger nation and state that all of you would be truly proud of to have been part of,
” he said.

While delivering his lecture, the Vice Presidential candidate of the APC, Sen. Kashim Shettima, said that there had been so much talk about the Muslim-Muslim ticket of the party.

Shettima said that Sen. Tinubu is a Muslim but his wife is not only a Christian, but a senior pastor of the Redeemed Christian Church of God as well.

“Some of Asiwaju’s children are Christians. How can you convince someone that Asiwaju is going to Islamise Nigeria when he did not Islamise his own family?,” he said.

Posted: at 16-09-2022 06:16 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Goldtime at 16-09-2022 06:27 AM (1 year ago)
It’s not an issue or fear of Islamization or whatever your definition of it , but the fact that the Christian community in this country ain’t short of quality and qualified choice of a VP ! It’s an outright disrespect to the millions of highly educated ,academicians Christians in this nation .The exclusion of a Christian body in the highest office of the nation is unacceptable to the millions Christian population in Nigeria .It’s disrespectful and I hope u get that in your dead ears . If you as a Christian serving and feeding under Tinubu can’t see nothing wrong with that then you have sold your birthright for porridge. JUDAS get it clear !
Posted: at 16-09-2022 06:27 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 16-09-2022 08:24 AM (1 year ago)
You are noting but a controlled laid governor,you as a Christian supporting Muslim Muslim ticket very obvious you have sold your soul to the lies and conspiracies of tinubu,Muslim Muslim ticket we all know the agenda of tinibu and that Boko Haram cooperate leader called shit-tima, bullshit
Posted: at 16-09-2022 08:24 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 16-09-2022 08:27 AM (1 year ago)
This Mr Governor is  a cheat and serial liar.
Posted: at 16-09-2022 08:27 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Northrop at 16-09-2022 09:03 AM (1 year ago)
If you can't settle for the Muslim-Muslim ticket, or what the Governor has just said, then let it be about Religion! So what!!!
Posted: at 16-09-2022 09:03 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- constigoldo at 16-09-2022 11:09 AM (1 year ago)
I don't expect less from Sanwo-olu
Posted: at 16-09-2022 11:09 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 16-09-2022 12:07 PM (1 year ago)
Be careful, be very very CAREFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 16-09-2022 12:07 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Goldtime at 16-09-2022 02:09 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Northrop on 16-09-2022 09:03 AM
If you can't settle for the Muslim-Muslim ticket, or what the Governor has just said, then let it be about Religion! So what!!!
The what will be costly for APC! And if by electoral fraud APC emerged winner then Nigeria is heading for its final straw .Our resources is what makes the bulk of national revenues.So the (so what ) will be costly .Nigeria will cease to exist as one sovereign nation.We aint one same people .Culturally,traditionally,religiously we ain’t the same .The Muslims north and their southern Muslims shoukd all get the hell out of our land .
Posted: at 16-09-2022 02:09 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- kima77same at 16-09-2022 02:53 PM (1 year ago)
SANWO, YOUR BOSS TINUBU STARTED THE DIVISION. HE PLAYED THE BALL AWAY FROM THE CHURCH; THE CHRISTIANS WILL PLAY IT VERY FAR ALSO
Posted: at 16-09-2022 02:53 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boi2Man at 16-09-2022 05:45 PM (1 year ago)
To to add pain to injury Ahmoda made mockery of the Christians by way of arranging fake bishops. This is full evil and wickedness
Posted: at 16-09-2022 05:45 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

4. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

5. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

6. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

7. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

8. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu