Afrobeats Set To Be Included As a Category At The Grammy Awards - CEO, Harvey Mason Jr.

Date: 26-09-2022 4:21 pm (1 year ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 26-09-2022 04:21 PM (1 year ago)

The press caught up with the CEO of GRAMMY Awards, Harvey Mason Jr. and he confirmed that plans are underway to include the Afrobeat genre in the Academy Awards.

In 2019, Burna Boy lost out to Beninese singer-songwriter Angelique Kidjo in the “World Music” category at the Academy Awards.

His loss sparked a conversation online with supermodel Naomi Campbell and other celebs using the Grammy organizers to reflect on their view of “World Music” and the recognition of the Afrobeat music genre.

Harvey said a review and board meetings have been held to that effect and more will be organized in the coming months to cement Afrobeat music as a category in Grammys.

Chief Executive of the Grammy Awards, Harvey Mason Jr., is currently in Ghana ahead of the 13th edition of the Grow, Unite, Build Africa (GUBA) Awards, slated for September 29, 2022.

The music executive will be meeting some industry players and musicians on his visit to Ghana.

Posted: at 26-09-2022 04:21 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 26-09-2022 04:27 PM (1 year ago)
Don't do it mason!!!! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-09-2022 04:27 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- KDoinspire at 26-09-2022 04:35 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 26-09-2022 04:27 PM
  Bad omen will befall on you and your entire generation. It Shall Never be well with you. You will toy and never reap the fruit of your labour since your prayers is for people to work and never be recognized and be elevated. Go and Mark it. You will not end well. It seems a joke , but you will bite your fingers.
Posted: at 26-09-2022 04:35 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 26-09-2022 04:40 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: KDoinspire on 26-09-2022 04:35 PM
  Bad omen will befall on you and your entire generation. It Shall Never be well with you. You will toy and never reap the fruit of your labour since your prayers is for people to work and never be recognized and be elevated. Go and Mark it. You will not end well. It seems a joke , but you will bite your fingers.

Posted: at 26-09-2022 04:40 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- KDoinspire at 26-09-2022 04:44 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 26-09-2022 04:27 PM
Bad  omen will befall you and your entire generation. It Shall Never be well with you and your household   As much as your prayers is for people to work and never be recognized and be elevated, today I curse you , you will toy and Never reap the fruit if your labour. It will stand as a generational curse upon you . Mark my word You will not end well. It seems a joke , but you will bite your fingers.
Posted: at 26-09-2022 04:44 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 26-09-2022 05:18 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: KDoinspire on 26-09-2022 04:44 PM
Bad  omen will befall you and your entire generation. It Shall Never be well with you and your household   As much as your prayers is for people to work and never be recognized and be elevated, today I curse you , you will toy and Never reap the fruit if your labour. It will stand as a generational curse upon you . Mark my word You will not end well. It seems a joke , but you will bite your fingers.

Posted: at 26-09-2022 05:18 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- alexidwayne at 27-09-2022 06:11 AM (1 year ago)
KDoinspire and gogoman u guys should stop behaving childish and grow up men.
na fun we dey catch here,if u know like person comment pretend not to see it and just post ur comment and move on biko.
Posted: at 27-09-2022 06:11 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac