According To New Opinion Poll, Peter Obi Emerges As Top Choice To Become The Next President

Date: 29-09-2022 11:44 am (1 year ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 29-09-2022 11:44 AM (1 year ago)

According to Bloomberg, A third-party candidate is the top choice to become the next president of Africa’s most populous country, according to a new opinion poll. A clear majority of respondents said they intend to vote for Peter Obi, a former state governor, in elections scheduled for February. The results of the survey conducted for Bloomberg News by Premise Data Corp. were published on Wednesday as the official campaign to succeed President Muhammadu Buhari kicked off.

Of the 92% of participants who said they’ve decided how to vote, 72% named Obi as their first choice. Of those who are still unsure, 45% said the 61-year-old is their preferred candidate.

The San Francisco-headquartered data company surveyed 3,973 Nigerians from Sept. 5-20. Respondents to the app-based poll were selected from quotas developed by age, gender and location across the country’s six geopolitical zones. Results were then weighted against the original quotas to ensure national representation. About 44% of Nigerians own smartphones, according to the Alliance for Affordable Internet.

The candidates of the two parties that have ruled Nigeria since the restoration of democracy in 1999 fared less well. Bola Tinubu of the ruling All Progressives Congress garnered 16% of decided voters and 23% of those yet to make up their minds. Atiku Abubakar of the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party tallied 9% and 17% respectively.

A former two-term governor of the southeastern Anambra state, Obi is running on the ticket of the Labour Party, which won a single seat in the Senate and House of Representatives in the last election in 2019. The APC and PDP dominate both chambers of parliament.

Posted: at 29-09-2022 11:44 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 29-09-2022 11:49 AM (1 year ago)
silly internet poll Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-09-2022 11:49 AM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Jiiitk4 at 29-09-2022 01:14 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 29-09-2022 11:49 AM
Sorry for you and your  RICH FOR NOTHING candidate. Nigerians are speaking. Do him a favour now. Save him from heart attack after the election. Advice him to quit NOW.
Posted: at 29-09-2022 01:14 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 29-09-2022 06:33 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 29-09-2022 11:49 AM
E go shock you. I go dey here by 2 pm on election day. I know that I should meet you here because you are nowhere else.

Posted: at 29-09-2022 06:33 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 29-09-2022 06:53 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 29-09-2022 06:33 PM
E go shock you. I go dey here by 2 pm on election day. I know that I should meet you here because you are nowhere else.

I will be here!! na here i dey eat, dey sleep, dey jolly!!  my money dey work for me  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 29-09-2022 06:53 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 30-09-2022 07:56 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 29-09-2022 06:53 PM

I will be here!! na here i dey eat, dey sleep, dey jolly!!  my money dey work for me  Grin Grin Grin
Ok then.

Posted: at 30-09-2022 07:56 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero