Cost of an Average Wedding (Page 4)

Date: 15-01-2011 6:40 am (13 years ago) | Author: Chuks
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 17
- Beauti4 at 15-01-2011 07:12 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 07:08 PM
Quote from: Beauti4 on 15-01-2011 07:06 PM
Typi baby...Happy New Yr to u o... well u sound stingy to me on this one dear, but i think #600,000 not enough, u will ve to find some1 who will manage the servings not some1 who look at face b4 feeding u. but 600,000 will not do. i mean u don't hve to do wedding right away
Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided

well, wedding can take place anytime my dear. let him manage wat they have right now.
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:12 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 15-01-2011 07:12 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onyi2010 on 15-01-2011 05:50 PM
Quote from: ajanni on 15-01-2011 05:47 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 06:40 AM
    Not sure if any of you have actually had a wedding in Nigeria but if you have the experience, what is the cost of an Average Nigerian Church and trad wedding (Both done in one day)? My big bro is wedding in 4 months and I kinda want to prevent him from spending too much money just for a day event.

how much has he got at hand for the ocassion ?
Mr Advicer

o yes
and you nko ?
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:12 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- typicalman84 at 15-01-2011 07:13 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 07:06 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 06:59 PM
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 06:54 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 06:42 PM
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 06:30 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 06:18 PM
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 06:09 PM
Quote from: ILOVEIT on 15-01-2011 06:07 PM
@poster..it depends,for some the 600,000 u mention maybe too much,
while some it will be ok.but, it can also be a "chicken change" to some as well.
so watch your pocket while spending aight!!

YOU ROCK Wink Wink Cool
Now he rocks? Initially 600K will be laughed at. Now watching the pocket seem like a great thing to do Eh! make up your mind hun.
but what i said is what i mean weddings in nigeria arew not cheap
HOW?
Initially, you insinuated that a 600K naira wedding will be laughed @, Now you seem to agree with him that it is very well to do.

he gave three options  and i agree with his comments cos dey r always very reasonable comments your brother just has to b ready in other not to be embarrassed its different from marrying abroad and i didnt insinuate
Embarrassed??? How do you mean? So wedding is now to impress people?
take thier d

when he needs  to buy something for d wedding and he doesnt have money anymore or dey call for the bride and groom to do money donation on d wedding day in front of all d guest and he didnt have money or people came and d food was not enuf for all d guest d list goes on its embarassing , yes nigerian weddings u have to impress d guest and convince d parents dat u r capable of taking care of thier daughter  Undecided if not dey can have doubts and dats not good and u have to complete all the necessary requirements and traditional process before u r capable of being given thier daughter Cool
FYI... this is not some Lagos wedding... this wedding is going to be done in the East. The wine carrying has already been done back in August last year for way less than that amount and from what I heard it was like a trad wedding and everyone was very satisfied. He is expecting triplets a month after the wedding and come on why spend millions of dollars just for a second and third wedding in a day.

Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:13 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- truenaija2 at 15-01-2011 07:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nice9ija on 15-01-2011 07:11 PM
tell him to try makam 1 million for safety reasons

i talk say e no cheap he thinks i am joking Smiley
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- typicalman84 at 15-01-2011 07:17 PM (13 years ago)
Typi baby...Happy New Yr to u o... well u sound stingy to me on this one dear, but i think #600,000 not enough, u will ve to find some1 who will manage the servings not some1 who look at face b4 feeding u. but 600,000 will not do. i mean u don't hve to do wedding right away
Nah hun.. it's not about being stingy... it all depends on planning it well. Most weddings cost alot of money because they hire a wedding planner. Wedding planners keep more than half of what you think you're spending for your wedding. Why hire a wedding planner when the family can get together and plan their wedding to be very successful and besides we do not have to impress anyone as our inlaws have already given their daughters hand on the wine carrying which i heard people thought was a trad wedding.

Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- truenaija2 at 15-01-2011 07:18 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 07:13 PM
while some it will be ok.but, it can also be a "chicken change" to some as well.

YOU ROCK Wink Wink Cool
Now he rocks? Initially 600K will be laughed at. Now watching the pocket seem like a great thing to do Eh! make up your mind hun.
HOW?
Initially, you insinuated that a 600K naira wedding will be laughed @, Now you seem to agree with him that it is very well to do.

he gave three options  and i agree with his comments cos dey r always very reasonable comments your brother just has to b ready in other not to be embarrassed its different from marrying abroad and i didnt insinuate
take thier d

when he needs  to buy something for d wedding and he doesnt have money anymore or dey call for the bride and groom to do money donation on d wedding day in front of all d guest and he didnt have money or people came and d food was not enuf for all d guest d list goes on its embarassing , yes nigerian weddings u have to impress d guest and convince d parents dat u r capable of taking care of thier daughter  Undecided if not dey can have doubts and dats not good and u have to complete all the necessary requirements and traditional process before u r capable of being given thier daughter Cool
FYI... this is not some Lagos wedding... this wedding is going to be done in the East. The wine carrying has already been done back in August last year for way less than that amount and from what I heard it was like a trad wedding and everyone was very satisfied. He is expecting triplets a month after the wedding and come on why spend millions of dollars just for a second and third wedding in a day.

yeah you r right when u say y spend so much money but its nigeria dats d way it is let him just take enough money just for security reasons and a mistake i made in my wedding i had only 1000 notes so i spend without end let him change his money in twenty naira notes for spraying and other extravagance and maybe also 1 dollar notes for show off but its not cheap Cool
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 15-01-2011 07:20 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 05:52 PM
Quote from: ajanni on 15-01-2011 05:47 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 06:40 AM
    Not sure if any of you have actually had a wedding in Nigeria but if you have the experience, what is the cost of an Average Nigerian Church and trad wedding (Both done in one day)? My big bro is wedding in 4 months and I kinda want to prevent him from spending too much money just for a day event.

how much has he got at hand for the ocassion ?
Well it's not about how much he got at hand cos he aint spending all of it. I am pushing for a maximum of 600K in naira.

its necessary atimes , so that we work it out for him , he need to cut his coat according to his size
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:20 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 15-01-2011 07:23 PM (13 years ago)

chei, this my pikin sef
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:23 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- typicalman84 at 15-01-2011 07:25 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 07:18 PM

YOU ROCK Wink Wink Cool
HOW?

take thier d

yeah you r right when u say y spend so much money but its nigeria dats d way it is let him just take enough money just for security reasons and a mistake i made in my wedding i had only 1000 notes so i spend without end let him change his money in twenty naira notes for spraying and other extravagance and maybe also 1 dollar notes for show off but its not cheap Cool
I agree with this part. But seriously, I think 600K will do a very descent wedding.

Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cuttiehommie4u at 15-01-2011 07:27 PM (13 years ago)
pomporomi
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- truenaija2 at 15-01-2011 07:31 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 07:25 PM

YOU ROCK Wink Wink Cool
HOW?

take thier d

I agree with this part. But seriously, I think 600K will do a very descent wedding.

it depends, its possible its enough but just to be on a safer side let him take enough money with him. i have to go extend my congratulations on thier triplets. Cool
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nice9ija at 15-01-2011 07:31 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 15-01-2011 07:23 PM

chei, this my pikin sef

my pikin you miss me???
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joyjumper at 15-01-2011 07:43 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: japhethjeff on 15-01-2011 07:11 PM
Quote from: joyjumper on 15-01-2011 06:55 PM
Below is a summary of how much my own brother spent in Nigeria on December 5, 2010 for both traditional and white wedding.  500 guests in attendance.  You can spend less if you desire.

chair and canopy___________  80,000   

food______________________    400,000

drink_____________________     300,000

musician and mc____________ 160,000   

costume__________________  550,000   

hall rent__________________  95,000   

transportation______________ 100,000   

thanksgiving_______________ 80,000   

gift to share________________130,000   

photographer_______________60,000   

video coverage_____________25,000   

printing invitation card & program_______ 105,000   

bride price________________igbo traditional 260,000   

contingency________________120,000   

Asheby ------------------- 70,000   

Rings - 75,000   

Travelling back from abroad ----  240,0000   

Honeymoon - 300,000

TOTAL___________________    3,150,000

500 guests N3.15 million.

if na so, who go marry me 4 credit?Huh?Huh???

Do not marry to make a wedding.  Spend what you can afford.  Use this list to budget how much you can afford.  My brother spend above average.
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- joyjumper at 15-01-2011 07:43 PM (13 years ago)
I mean do not borrow to make a wedding. Cheesy
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- joyjumper at 15-01-2011 07:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: truenaija2 on 15-01-2011 07:31 PM
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 07:25 PM

YOU ROCK Wink Wink Cool
HOW?

take thier d

it depends, its possible its enough but just to be on a safer side let him take enough money with him. i have to go extend my congratulations on thier triplets. Cool

People steal the one dollar notes that you use in spraying. Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Grin Grin
I will suggest that you get trustworthy people to pick up your money and they should give it to you before you leave the reception.
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- joyjumper at 15-01-2011 07:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 07:17 PM
Nah hun.. it's not about being stingy... it all depends on planning it well. Most weddings cost alot of money because they hire a wedding planner. Wedding planners keep more than half of what you think you're spending for your wedding. Why hire a wedding planner when the family can get together and plan their wedding to be very successful and besides we do not have to impress anyone as our inlaws have already given their daughters hand on the wine carrying which i heard people thought was a trad wedding.

I am of the opinion if there was a wedding planner, I think my brother's wedding may have been cheaper.  He actually paid for the girl's grand parents outfits as well, etc.
Posted: at 15-01-2011 07:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Beauti4 at 15-01-2011 08:03 PM (13 years ago)

Yeah i understand but wat and wat did u need to plan? the church will sponsor the wedding which u can give some small amount, the reception is takin place at the bride's. try to put the thought together and see wat u can do. am not sayin u should impress anyone but manage what u have. and let everybody join hands to together then u can pay the W.Planner and get it out of the way.
Posted: at 15-01-2011 08:03 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- typicalman84 at 15-01-2011 08:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: joyjumper on 15-01-2011 07:48 PM

I am of the opinion if there was a wedding planner, I think my brother's wedding may have been cheaper.  He actually paid for the girl's grand parents outfits as well, etc.

Have you thought of how he got the money to pay for all that. No one does anything for cheap these days especially in Nigeria. They will tell you this and that but you do not know they're getting some money right in their pockets.

Posted: at 15-01-2011 08:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- japhethjeff at 15-01-2011 08:11 PM (13 years ago)
every tings don cost 4 market ...
Posted: at 15-01-2011 08:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugaDaddy1forU at 15-01-2011 09:00 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: typicalman84 on 15-01-2011 08:04 AM
I am trying to get him to not spend more than #600,000.00 as there would be no need to rent a place for reception since the Trad will be held at the brides compound immediately after the church wedding. Do you think 600,000 will do it?
THATS NOT ENOUGH IF HE LOVES HER. THERE IS NO FIXED AMOUNT ON THIS, BUDGET MORE, IF YOU USE LESS THEN KEEP THE CHANGE. BUT IF YOU BUDGET LESS AND RUN OUT OF THINGS, THE SHAME WILL BE ON YOU AND YOUR BROTHER MOSTLY HIM.

Posted: at 15-01-2011 09:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 17