Angry Netizens Knock Senate For 'Mocking' Poor Nigerians (Video)

Date: 27-07-2023 4:24 pm (9 months ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 27-07-2023 04:24 PM (9 months ago)

Many Nigerians have gone on social media to slam the Senate. The Netizens took to social media platforms to knock the Senate for appearing to 'mock' poor Nigerians during plenary on Tuesday in a viral video. The lawmakers were seen in the video making fun of the popular slang, 'Let the poor breathe'.

While deliberating on a resolution, the Senate urged the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission and 11 Electricity Distribution Companies to halt their proposed tariff increase in order to “allow Nigerians to breathe.”

In the video making the rounds on social media on Wednesday, the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, could be seen laughing with other senators after saying the phrase "Let the poor breathe," before hitting the gavel on the table.   

Reacting to the video,
hypemanguru wrote, "This is a mockery to the most populous black nation on earth, such a derogatory term used to describe Nigerians by its leaders. It is a sh#me to all Nigerians. I reject being called poor. Words are powerful !!"

Another Instagram user, iamhoustyforbes said, "I said it, Tinubu will weaponize poverty and use it against Nigerians. And it's already happening, the masses will pay for everything, he will even tax you for sleeping at your home at night, and he is already taxing car owners 1k yearly. His administration is designed to favour politicians. It's going to be a long ride but he will lose the wheel because Peter Obi will take over. I just pray he has not done more damage before then."

iyke1steel simply said, "These people are making a mockery of Nigerians."

While thefoodnetworking2 said, "As you lay your bed, you lie on it! They know all we do is “cruise” about everything! We don’t challenge them for the hardship…We just cruise and cruise some more…Why won’t they mock us?"

The Senate also called for a halt to the estimated billing by mandating the Discos to urgently supply all electricity consumers with prepaid meters at affordable rates across the country.

Posted: at 27-07-2023 04:24 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 27-07-2023 04:29 PM (9 months ago)
Those are the people una sends to represent una!! na una people......no be only president dey rule Nigeria!!!!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

NO, LET BLAME JAGABAN  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 27-07-2023 04:29 PM (9 months ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 27-07-2023 05:42 PM (9 months ago)
The masses keep paying while the leaders keep enjoying
Posted: at 27-07-2023 05:42 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- angelzizi at 27-07-2023 06:25 PM (9 months ago)
Everything is a joke for them cos 1, they lack human feelings and sensitivity  secondly, they lack leadership skills and doesn't understand what it means to be leaders. The unbearable hardship in the country doesn't affect them in anyway as long as their pockets are full, they don't care about the next person dying of hunger.
Posted: at 27-07-2023 06:25 PM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 28-07-2023 08:30 AM (9 months ago)
can u just imagine.... poverty will never leave ur generation even if u steal all the whole money

Posted: at 28-07-2023 08:30 AM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero

1. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

2. Veteran Actress, Shan George In Desperate Plea As Fraudsters Clear N3.6m From Her Bank Account

3. Fred Adujua Arrested Amid Allegations From House Of Reps Member & Former Senator Nwaboshi

4. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

5. Lagos Police Command Dismisses Two Inspectors Amid Allegations Of Romantic Relationship

6. "Prioritize Wives Over Mothers Or Stay Single" - Ifu Ennada Issues Stark Warning To Men

7. Village Head, Kabiru Mohammed Killed As Suspected Assassins Ravage Marke Community In Kaduna

8. Journalist Hit By Stray Bullet Inside Kano Government House, Raises Concerns On Press Freedom

9. Nigerian Man Offers $2000 Reward For Arrest Of Fraudster Who Stole N42m From Him

10. Suspect Says Human Head Is Sold For ₦45,000 In Lagos As Police Parade Ten Organ Harvesters

11. Ex-FCMB Manager, Nwachukwu Placidus Sentenced To 121 Yrs For Embezzling Customer's Funds

12. "Overeating Caused My Excess Weight" — Nigerian Physician And Politician, Doyin Okupe

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed