"Why Naira Continues To Fall" – Central bank Of Nigeria (CBN)

Date: 13-08-2023 8:31 pm (9 months ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 13-08-2023 08:31 PM (9 months ago)

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), on Thursday, attributed the continuous fall of the Naira against dollars to present unofficial diaspora remittances.

The acting governor of the apex bank, Folashodun Shonubi, stated this at the National Institute for Security Studies, Abuja where he delivered a Distinguished Personality lecture titled: “Diaspora Remittances and Nigeria Economic Development” for members of the Executive Intelligence Management Course (EIMC) 16.

There are reports that the naira plunged to a record low of N925/$1 on the parallel market on Wednesday as demand for foreign currency outstripped supply.

This is the aftermath of liberalising the foreign exchange regime, which is a clear departure from what was obtained during the President Muhammadu Buhari- led administration.

But Shonubi explained that many diaspora remittances came to Nigeria in dollars and they were not recorded officially, as such found their way to black or parallel markets.

“With those remittances, the dollars have come in, we know the dollars have come in but we don’t see them in the official system. So, they must be going somewhere and somewhere.”

“And the challenge with the black market, unofficial market or parallel market or whatever name you want to call it, it is as a result that it is not regulated, and it becomes an easy place to have criminal activities.

“We investigate bankers, not just bankers, anybody who has committed an offence, the first thing they want to do is to run to the black markets, change it to the dollars because it is less money to carry around.

“Some of the funding in the black markets are actually from diaspora remittances. That’s why it is important we need to know a lot of what’s going on there. We can’t play the sentiment game. If we don’t understand the dynamics, we usually go with the literature which does not necessarily work for us,”
the top banker said.

He noted that many countries have remittances as the major source of dollars or income saying that, “we have countries that earn about 1.5 million dollars in remittances.

Posted: at 13-08-2023 08:31 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 13-08-2023 08:42 PM (9 months ago)
Everytime black market,una no get yellow market, failed system
Posted: at 13-08-2023 08:42 PM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 13-08-2023 09:05 PM (9 months ago)
Clueless people

Posted: at 13-08-2023 09:05 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 13-08-2023 09:25 PM (9 months ago)
 Grin Grin Grin stupid
Posted: at 13-08-2023 09:25 PM (9 months ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 13-08-2023 11:03 PM (9 months ago)
Useless excuses
Posted: at 13-08-2023 11:03 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Patode at 14-08-2023 02:38 AM (9 months ago)
For as long as we have nothing to contribute to the world commodities market, the naira will continue to fall.
Posted: at 14-08-2023 02:38 AM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- Makodama at 14-08-2023 04:37 AM (9 months ago)
I thought that by fuel subsidy removal the cabals will calm down and let the wheels of the Nigerian project begin to spin again cause they've got nothing to lose anymore.When will our refineries begin to work abeg?Exporting finished/processed products will definitely strenghten the Naira.Perhaps I'm complaining too early,let me be patient and anticipate the turnaround of the economy under the leadership of the well seasoned Jagaban.

Posted: at 14-08-2023 04:37 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 14-08-2023 05:09 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: Makodama on 14-08-2023 04:37 AM
I thought that by fuel subsidy removal the cabals will calm down and let the wheels of the Nigerian project begin to spin again cause they've got nothing to lose anymore.When will our refineries begin to work abeg?Exporting finished/processed products will definitely strenghten the Naira.Perhaps I'm complaining too early,let me be patient and anticipate the turnaround of the economy under the leadership of the well seasoned Jagaban.
You are still thoughting and still patienting,all of una wey dey support this tinibu regime are all bastard and useless, you all deserve to die by hanging
Posted: at 14-08-2023 05:09 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Makodama at 14-08-2023 07:40 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: Dopybadass on 14-08-2023 05:09 AM
You are still thoughting and still patienting,all of una wey dey support this tinibu regime are all bastard and useless, you all deserve to die by hanging
Yeah,we know them.All they do is throw insults on you online because they don't have anything to back their points while arguing online.For example this one quoting me might say Pitobi is the best governor Anambara state and the entire East and Nigeria at large has ever had,if I ask him to tell me why he thinks so, instead of giving me points,antecedents and track records to back his statement he'd resort to abusing me up and down because there's non to tell.Fake news people.

Posted: at 14-08-2023 07:40 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 14-08-2023 09:00 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: Makodama on 14-08-2023 07:40 AM
Yeah,we know them.All they do is throw insults on you online because they don't have anything to back their points while arguing online.For example this one quoting me might say Pitobi is the best governor Anambara state and the entire East and Nigeria at large has ever had,if I ask him to tell me why he thinks so, instead of giving me points,antecedents and track records to back his statement he'd resort to abusing me up and down because there's non to tell.Fake news people.
All the points that have been given to you guys since PO started his journey to the presidency, how many have you imbibed? All you people know is to act like attack dogs, calling PO a liar with no evidence. Is it fake news that he left 75 Billion Naira for his successor at a time all other Governors were leaving empty treasuries? Is it fake news that he invested massively in Education (Which is the best investment by the way) and that the dividends are still evident to this present day? Since he claimed that he paid all contractors owed before he came into office, paid all pensioners all that they were due, paid workers as at when due, and asked Nigerians to verify, have you heard anything on the contrary? Now tell us confirmed things that Tinubu started and finished in Lagos.

Posted: at 14-08-2023 09:00 AM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Makodama at 15-08-2023 07:59 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 14-08-2023 09:00 AM
All the points that have been given to you guys since PO started his journey to the presidency, how many have you imbibed? All you people know is to act like attack dogs, calling PO a liar with no evidence. Is it fake news that he left 75 Billion Naira for his successor at a time all other Governors were leaving empty treasuries? Is it fake news that he invested massively in Education (Which is the best investment by the way) and that the dividends are still evident to this present day? Since he claimed that he paid all contractors owed before he came into office, paid all pensioners all that they were due, paid workers as at when due, and asked Nigerians to verify, have you heard anything on the contrary? Now tell us confirmed things that Tinubu started and finished in Lagos.
Lover of fake news,go and research about Tinubu's tenure as Lagos state governor from 1999 to 2007.He's known in Nigeria,not only in Lagos.

Posted: at 15-08-2023 07:59 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac