Nigerian Man Shares Teary Testimony of How He Was Wrongfully Jailed For 10 Years (VID)

Date: 01-09-2023 7:25 am (8 months ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 1-09-2023 07:25 AM (8 months ago)

Nigerian celebrities are reacting to the tearful testimony of a man identified as Martins, who was wrongfully imprisoned.

The man, during a program at Living Faith Church better known as Winners, recounted how he was wrongfully imprisoned for a crime he didn’t commit.

According to him, he was coming from a football match in 2009, when some police officers forcefully arrested him and he was made to face the law for a crime that belonged to someone else.

He was accused of robbery and killing and was locked up in a cell for 10 years till God came through for him in 2021.

Martins added that some people came from the Justice, Development, and Peace Commission (JDPC) and helped him reopen his case, which led to his release.

“My name is Martins, I want to thank God and I want Youths and those who love football to be attentive. I only went to watch the Barca match.

I only went to watch football, that’s all I know, and as I was coming back the police backed beside me and said I should enter. I tried proving stubborn and then put tear gas on me, that’s all that I know. When we got to the station, they just put me straight into the cell. No statement, nothing, like a joy. So the third day, this woman I will never forget ASP Diko, just came and said bring him out, his case is settled already, let’s take him.

Before I knew it, they took me straight to court, and they were calling another person’s name, which I wasn’t the one. They came to force me up and they said I collab with some people to kill and rob, which I didn’t know anything about. I thought it was a joke. 2019 they stopped taking me to court, and in 2020, some people came to preach and I keyed into a testimony.

So 2021, some people from the Justice Development and Peace Commission came. So a woman came to call me from the cell and they listened to my story. They had to trace my name back to UI, found my name, and found everything. So it was my name they took to the court to find out that I wasn’t the right person.

After 10 years I was released, though I lost my mother, lost my life, but I didn’t lose my wife”.

VIDEO

Taking to comment section, Shaffy Bello, Helen Paul, Warri Pikin, and Woli Arole shed tears on his behalf.

Woli Arole wrote, “Thank God for freedom

Shaffy Bello wrote, “Jesus!

Helen Paul wrote, “God have mercy

See some reactions from netizens below,

One David Chisom wrote, “May we not suffer for what we don’t know of

One Mr Tosh wrote, “Sadly this happened to my neighbor, the van stopped and asked him to enter, he refused and he was pushed in. What saved him was his neighbor in school hostel saw what happened and started alerting his siblings. Like play they took him to state CID and was bailed with 70k. Just like that. God for his a country like Nigeria.

One Chinny Elsie wrote, “Nigerian police need to pay this man

One Sar Tomi wrote, “Chai!!! May Nigerian not happen to us. You can just imagine. You can sue the Nigerian police and that ASP Diko they acting made you serve another person’s term

One Peaceful Baddie wrote, “Nigeria police can do better smh

One Jewel Baby wrote, “After our leaders fear the police. Fear them fear them

Posted: at 1-09-2023 07:25 AM (8 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 1-09-2023 09:58 AM (8 months ago)
He should sue them for that
Posted: at 1-09-2023 09:58 AM (8 months ago) | Hero
- ManBongoMan at 1-09-2023 03:27 PM (8 months ago)
USELESS COUNTRY WITH UNTRAINED POLICEMEN AND WOMEN EVERYWHERE
Posted: at 1-09-2023 03:27 PM (8 months ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 3-09-2023 01:35 PM (8 months ago)
sue!!!!!!
Posted: at 3-09-2023 01:35 PM (8 months ago) | Grande Master

1. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

2. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

3. Peter Obi Missing as EFCC Releases Names of 58 Former Governors That Embezzled N2.187 Trillion

4. "Why INEC’s Server Suffered Glitch During 2023 Presidential Polls" – Peter Obi

5. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

6. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)

7. Mohbad's PA, Darosha Grilled by Police, Spills More About Singer's Death & Hurried Burial

8. Mercy Johnson's Husband Raises Awareness On Mental Health Amidst Angela Okorie's Claims

9. Outcry As Lagos Govt Begins Demolition on Parts of Arowojobe, Mende Estate (Video)

10. Controversial singer, Portable Spotted On A Flight To Kenya With Wife, Bewaji Amid Online Drama

11. Actress Genevieve Nnaji Appreciates Her Fans, Shares Special Moment From Fer 45th Birthday

12. Wizkid And Babymama, Jada P Quench Split Rumours As They Step Out in Matching Outfit (VID)

13. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

14. How 40yr Old Man Lured 13yr Old Girl With N200 to His House & Held Her From January to March

15. Amidst Witchcraft Accusations, Mercy Johnson Marks Daughter’s 4th Birthday in Style (VID)

16. Rising Nigerian Singer, Gnewzy Who Was Kidnapped in Delta, Regains Freedom After 6 Days

17. Don't Choose to be Lonely Because of People - Judy Austin Dishes Tips on Fighting For 'Love'

18. After Heavy Criticism, Teni Reveals Why She Prostrated to Greet Socialite IBD Bende on a Plane

19. Moses Bliss & Wife, Marie Wiseborn Spark Pregnancy Rumors As They Arrive Canada (Video)

20. Filmmaker, Mary Njoku Cries Out After Her 7am Flight Was Moved to 6pm Without Explanation

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

3. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

4. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

5. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

6. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

7. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

8. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

9. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

10. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family