"I’ve No Apology For Not Backing Tinubu During APC Presidential Primary" –Ex APC Chairman Adamu

Date: 02-10-2023 12:30 pm (7 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 2-10-2023 12:30 PM (7 months ago)

Abdullahi Adamu, former National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), says he does not owe anyone an apology for supporting a northerner in the Party’s presidential primary.

According to the former Nasarawa Governor, he pitched his tent with a northern candidate because he’s a northerner, adding that he did not regret his action.

Recall that, Adamu openly supported the then Senate President, Ahmad Lawan for the presidential ticket of the Party.

But Lawan was resoundingly defeated at the primary with President Bola Ahmed Tinubu winning by a landslide.

Many however opined that Adamu’s decision to support Lawan, who was the least favourite to clinch the ticket, cost him his position as the party’s chairman.

In a chat with Daily Trust on Sunday, he said:
“The party chairman has a role, but with a ruling party, I could not take it on myself to float Ahmed Lawan’s name.

“I am curious because everybody put it on you. Well, of course, I take responsibility as party chairman, but nobody with maturity in politics and governance will say that Abdullahi Adamu, as the chairman of the party, would just get up and say this is my presidential candidate. It doesn’t add up.

“Of course, there were processes. I don’t want to go back on that. What I detested about this whole setting was that people who wanted to win favours with President Ahmed Bola Tinubu continued saying there was cold war between me and him and making so much capital out of it.

“I am an established person from my root, right from birth. I come from a royal family and I am proud of it. I was born at a time when there was a northern Nigeria. I was brought into its values even though I worked mainly in the private sector. I saw myself first and foremost as a northerner in Nigeria and I have no apologies to anybody on this.

“But times are changing, if you want to take a count of people with the same feeling, attitude, commitment and loyalty to the North, you would have a problem”

He noted that identity politics is entrenched in Nigeria socio-political dynamics, adding that its reality is rife in the South-West where the president hails from.

“But go down South, especially the South West, and you would see that people are not ashamed of beating their chests and telling you who they are and where they come from and what they stand for. Go to the East, till today, we are losing lives in the East for what they believe in, not here.

“The reason I have no regret is that only what God wills will happen. God has made Bola Ahmed Tinubu the president of this country,”
he added.

Posted: at 2-10-2023 12:30 PM (7 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- nikiniki at 2-10-2023 02:38 PM (7 months ago)
oloshi, tribalist
Posted: at 2-10-2023 02:38 PM (7 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 2-10-2023 03:19 PM (7 months ago)
Posted: at 2-10-2023 03:19 PM (7 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- OmoNobaUku at 2-10-2023 04:17 PM (7 months ago)
Fair play but you are now out on your ears as Awa lo kan consumed you.
Posted: at 2-10-2023 04:17 PM (7 months ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Moment Zubby Michael Stormed Junior Pope’s Funeral With Heavy Security

2. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

3. Popular Lagos Cosmetic Surgeon Dr. Anu Convicted Over Death of Her Client, Nneka Onwuzuligbo

4. FAAN Introduces E-tags Payment For All Travelers at All Federal Airports in Nigeria

5. Pastor Adeboye’s Son, Leke, Queries Bishop Oyedepo’s Son Isaac on Why He Left His Dad's Church

6. Actress Sarah Martins Shades Judy Austin & Yul While Mourning Junior Pope Who Was Buried Today

7. Video of Nigerian Man Angrily Calling Out His Abroad-Based Uncles For Refusing to Help Him

8. British Media Personalities Fault Prince Harry & Megan's Visit to Nigeria (Video)

9. Netizens React As Zinoleesky Makes a Bold Fashion Statement at Recent Outing (Video)

10. NCC Suspends Licences of Virtual Network Operators And Two Others

11. Nigerian Singer Ayra Starr Nominated For 3 Categories At The BET Awards 2024

1. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Never Relocate to These Two Countries Even If Their Visa is Free - Lady Sternly Warns Nigerians

4. Afrobeat Singer, Burna Boy Opens Up Amid Rumours He Can’t Have Kids, Gives Reasons

5. Nigerian Journalist, Reuben Abati Pens Lovely Note To Wife On Their 4th Wedding Anniversary

6. Naked Daughter’s Picture: Simi Berates Police Over Counseling Comment

7. Portable Breaks Silence Hours After Being Arrested By The Police

8. "I Regret Opening Up On Weight Loss" - Real Warri Pikin Laments

9. Burna Boy Framed Davido And Wizkid’s Picture In His House, Sparks Outrage

10. See Mercy Johnson & Other Actors' Reactions As Veteran Actress Liz Benson Stormed Movie Set