Funke Akindele Narrates How She Lost Movie Roles Because People Tagged Her Ugly

Date: 07-10-2023 2:26 pm (6 months ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 7-10-2023 02:26 PM (6 months ago)

Popular Nollywood actress and filmmaker, Funke Akindele has recounted how she was denied playing major roles during her days as a struggling thespian because people tagged her as “not fine.”

Speaking in the latest episode of the TokeMoments podcast, hosted by Toke Makinwa, Akindele said she lost major roles even in Yoruba indigenous movies because of her physique.

She recalled that actress Iyabo Ojo helped her several times during her altercations with filmmakers who turned her down because of her looks.

The ‘Jenifa Diary’ actress said producers were giving her just minor roles which made her cry.

“I remember people telling me, ‘You are not fine. You don’t have ass. You don’t have boobs. You will not be in this film,” she recalled.

“And, I remember crying. A lot of times I would cry, break down, get into the bathroom and cry.”

Posted: at 7-10-2023 02:26 PM (6 months ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 7-10-2023 02:30 PM (6 months ago)
To be candid Funke u aint beautiful at all but we just accept u as human abi we no go allow raccoon to calm you cos u look like one of dem  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 7-10-2023 02:30 PM (6 months ago) | Grande Master
- nikiniki at 7-10-2023 03:53 PM (6 months ago)
but its true. you are not beautiful but you are blessed.
Posted: at 7-10-2023 03:53 PM (6 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- teddyson2017 at 8-10-2023 04:31 AM (6 months ago)
I feel your pains but you nor fine as they said and you nor get boobs and yansh
Posted: at 8-10-2023 04:31 AM (6 months ago) | Upcoming
- wolefafo at 8-10-2023 11:40 AM (6 months ago)
 Grin
Quote from: gogoman on  7-10-2023 02:30 PM
To be candid Funke u aint beautiful at all but we just accept u as human abi we no go allow raccoon to calm you cos u look like one of dem 
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes  Grin
Mad man
Posted: at 8-10-2023 11:40 AM (6 months ago) | Gistmaniac