'They’ve Lost Focus' - Charly Boy Blasts EFCC Over Recent Fight Against Naira Abuse

Date: 18-04-2024 10:30 am (1 week ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 18-04-2024 10:30 AM (1 week ago)

Charles Oputa, often known as Charly Boy, a popular Nigerian activist, has slammed the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for charging businessman Cubana Chiefpriest with Naira abuse.

He accused the anti-corruption agency of engaging in “frivolous shenanigans to distract Nigerians.”

He then questioned why the EFCC is pursuing people for Naira abuse rather than for major offences.

Spraying Naira, he claimed, is “part of our age-long familiar culture which promotes bonding among people.”

He claimed that the EFCC’s three-count indictment against Paschal Okechukwu, alias Cubana Chief Priest, “leaves one thinking that the Commission has no important job to do” and that they are simply engaging in frivolous activities to “keep distracting poor, hungry, and hopeless Nigerians.”

Charley Boy wrote on Instagram: “Currently, the attention of Nigerians is being drawn to an issue that has no bearing whatsoever, on the well-being of the ordinary people or the National economy.

“The arrest and arraignment of person or persons spraying the local currency, Naira, at social events is now a f3cking Big deal.”

He continued: “Why focus massive energy, on frivolous, pedestrian, and harmless misdemeanor by people catching fun rather than going after those who use executive powers to steal humongous amounts from the public Treasury with reckless impunity?

“God punish all of una in EFCC, una no go die better. Ur Fathers.

“Seriously my people una think say na the kin work EFCC suppose to dey do?”

Posted: at 18-04-2024 10:30 AM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 18-04-2024 11:04 AM (1 week ago)

Posted: at 18-04-2024 11:04 AM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-04-2024 11:58 AM (1 week ago)
Posted: at 18-04-2024 11:58 AM (1 week ago) | Grande Master
- Patode at 18-04-2024 05:23 PM (1 week ago)
If there is a law enacted against this action of Naira mutilation, it must be enforced. Why are people trying to be uninformed about this. We keep saying that Nigeria should be better, and we are not ready to do the needful. I know that it is not possible to prosecute all violators, many people need to be jailed. If I am arrested as an armed robber, I should say that all the robbers must be arrested.
Posted: at 18-04-2024 05:23 PM (1 week ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 18-04-2024 07:51 PM (1 week ago)
Lost focus
Posted: at 18-04-2024 07:51 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- smart61 at 18-04-2024 10:06 PM (1 week ago)
Quote from: Patode on 18-04-2024 05:23 PM
If there is a law enacted against this action of Naira mutilation, it must be enforced. Why are people trying to be uninformed about this. We keep saying that Nigeria should be better, and we are not ready to do the needful. I know that it is not possible to prosecute all violators, many people need to be jailed. If I am arrested as an armed robber, I should say that all the robbers must be arrested.
..THE LAW AGAINST NAIRA MUTILATION WAS SIGNED INTO LAW IN 2007 BUT HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE BEEN ARRESTED AND JAILED EVER SINCE WHEN IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THERE IS NO SINGLE NIGERIAN WHO DOES NOT BRAKE THE LAW. AND WHY ARE ONLY  RICH WHO ARE BEING TARGETED ?
Posted: at 18-04-2024 10:06 PM (1 week ago) | Gistmaniac
- Panaki at 19-04-2024 04:39 AM (1 week ago)
Well, law is law. Whenever it's passed. It must be enforced.
One of the problems we have in Nigeria is ethnic colouration.
Who cares if an Oba, Obi, Igwe or Emir is arrested for falling foul of the law.
When Idris Okuneye was arrested and tried fir abusing Naira which Nigeria pride. Social media was full of mockery of Idris.
Now Cubana Chief Oriest was arrested. Suddenly, Charles Oputa has regained his voices.
EFCC will not arrest every of these so called law breakers. But would name some as scapegoats to send message to others.
Arned robbery is a crime in the land. But does it stop armed robbers? No
But the law would deal with arrested ones, period.
Regardless of your tribe. Yoruba, Hausa, Igbo, Efik, Fufude,  Kakabari and so on. If you're caught then you face the music. No amount Social media outcry would help you.
This is purely my personal opinion. Before some people start threatening with thunder here.
"Thinder fire your mama" is a common language here.
Posted: at 19-04-2024 04:39 AM (1 week ago) | Upcoming