Untalented Artistes Gaining Popularity In Nigerian Music Industry - Ruger Express Concern

Date: 07-11-2024 1:32 pm (4 weeks ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 7-11-2024 01:32 PM (4 weeks ago)

Popular singer Michael Adebayo Olayinka, popularly known as Ruger has expressed concern about untalented artists gaining popularity in the Nigerian music industry due to extensive promotion.

He stated that the situation has been hurting him because, regardless of an artist’s lack of talent, they can gain popularity if they have money for promotion.

On his X handle, Ruger wrote: “The music scene has been hurting me coz no matter how shit an artist is, once there’s money for hype, Otilo.”

He also lamented about the use of autotunes by some artists, especially during stage performances.

“Now, let’s talk about the gaddamn autotunes on the mic when y’all perform. Next time, tell your engineer to shut it down when you’re about to speak coz you be speaking in Tunez wahalaaaaaa. Well, Ruger don’t need that shit. thank you,” he wrote.

Ruger recently claimed that Nigeria currently has less than five talented musicians, adding that most Nigerian artists are just singing for “cruise”.

Speaking in a recent interview with Cool FM, Lagos, Ruger stated that those of them who are talented and doing proper music are not up to five.

However, he didn’t name the only talented Nigerian artists in his opinion, or where he is on the list.

“I’m not the biggest artiste in Nigeria but talent-wise, I’m standing somewhere there. We are not up to 5,” he said.

“I won’t say where I am on the list but I’m there. It’s not up to five. Most people are just singing for cruise but we [the talented artists], we make music.”

Ruger recently announced his new record label named ‘Blown Boy Entertainment’ in January. He also adjusted his profile names on social media to reflect the new label.

In an Instagram post, he said he was grateful to Jonzing World and D’Prince but it was time for him to take a bet on himself.

In 2021, Ruger rose to stardom under Jonzing World, a label owned by Nigerian singer D’Prince, which is an affiliate of Don Jazzy’s Mavin Records.

Ruger has won several awards for his craft. In same 2021, he won the AFRIMA best newcomer award, and also the best new artiste category at the 2023 Soundcity MVP Awards.

Ruger has also swept some of the major awards, including the Best New act in Africa at the 2022 prestigious Afrima Awards.

Posted: at 7-11-2024 01:32 PM (4 weeks ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 7-11-2024 01:45 PM (4 weeks ago)
Yes wetin this guy talk na true, Nigeria music industry now is like a big joke, the kind of music we dey hear now I wonder how it will be in years to come, I can mention the names of many un talented artist that's disturbing the airwaves with thier wack songs and lyrics but because them get money for promotion and featuring, you will have to hear them everywhere, and see them everywhere, people like me that has real talent but no money to push forward makes me sober all the time Sad
Posted: at 7-11-2024 01:45 PM (4 weeks ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 7-11-2024 08:48 PM (4 weeks ago)
Posted: at 7-11-2024 08:48 PM (4 weeks ago) | Grande Master