Tragedy in Owerri: Pregnant Mother Alleges Vigilante Group Killed Her 5-Year-Old Son

Date: 29-12-2024 8:31 pm (4 months ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 29-12-2024 08:31 PM (4 months ago)

A heart-wrenching case of alleged extrajudicial actions by a community vigilante group has left the Obolo area of Mbano in Owerri, Imo State, reeling. Mrs. Jennifer Johnson, a pregnant housewife, has accused the local youth president, Amaze Chibuke, popularly known as Jaguar, of leading an attack that resulted in the killing of her five-year-old son and the shooting of her husband and brother-in-law.

In a petition addressed to the Director-General of the Department of State Services (DSS) and the Inspector-General of Police, Mrs. Johnson narrated the traumatic sequence of events. According to her, a longstanding land dispute between her husband, 33-year-old native doctor Bright Johnson, and Chibuke escalated into violence.

Speaking through tears, she alleged that on December 26, 2024, Chibuke, accompanied by armed men in civilian clothing, stormed their home to arrest her husband on accusations of involvement in kidnappings. She claimed that when her family resisted, Chibuke ordered his men to open fire, killing her young son, injuring her brother-in-law, and leaving her husband with a gunshot wound before whisking him away.

“My husband was shot in the leg and taken to an undisclosed location. His younger brother was shot in the back, and my five-year-old son was killed instantly,” she said. “I want to know if my husband is still alive. He doesn’t even know his son has been killed.”

Mrs. Johnson recounted how the trouble began on November 9, 2024, when she was allegedly abducted by masked men, along with her son, while returning from an errand. After escaping the ordeal, she and her husband reported the incident to the police, only for the situation to spiral further when Chibuke accused her husband of being behind the abduction.

She also alleged that Chibuke runs a “self-styled prison” where individuals are tortured to extract false confessions. The family’s efforts to seek legal redress were reportedly thwarted when their lawyer, under pressure and bribery, failed to act in their best interests.

In her plea, Mrs. Johnson called on security agencies to intervene urgently, investigate the allegations, and ensure justice is served. “This is a case of disputed family land being used to destroy my family,” she said.

When contacted, Chibuke refused to comment on the allegations, abruptly ending a call from SaharaReporters and switching off his phone.

State Police Public Relations Officer ASP Henry Okoye, when informed of the case, expressed shock and promised a thorough investigation. “This is a criminal case that must not be swept under the carpet. I will personally monitor this to ensure justice is served,” Okoye said.

The community remains tense as calls for accountability mount. Residents and advocacy groups are urging authorities to address the situation promptly to prevent further escalation.

Posted: at 29-12-2024 08:31 PM (4 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 29-12-2024 09:15 PM (4 months ago)
This is how local fools play god when given any little opportunity. The DSS should arrest that Chibuike if the allegations are true, and make sure that he doesnt see the sun rise or set anymore.

Posted: at 29-12-2024 09:15 PM (4 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 29-12-2024 10:18 PM (4 months ago)
Na wa oooh
Posted: at 29-12-2024 10:18 PM (4 months ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 29-12-2024 11:30 PM (4 months ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 29-12-2024 09:15 PM
This is how local fools play god when given any little opportunity. The DSS should arrest that Chibuike if the allegations are true, and make sure that he doesnt see the sun rise or set anymore.

so now u want DSS to arrest him but when he was doing crime using IPOB to cover up u think say he dey fight for you
Posted: at 29-12-2024 11:30 PM (4 months ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 30-12-2024 07:08 AM (4 months ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 29-12-2024 11:30 PM

so now u want DSS to arrest him but when he was doing crime using IPOB to cover up u think say he dey fight for you
You just like to chase clout talking off point

Posted: at 30-12-2024 07:08 AM (4 months ago) | Addicted Hero