Does a woman have to take her husband's last name? (Page 4)

Date: 15-03-2011 11:38 pm (13 years ago) | Author: nurabela
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8
- ceejay58 at 16-03-2011 11:04 PM (13 years ago)
That's the reason the rate of divorce is becoming so alarming this days.  Pride and Unwillingness to take ur place in the home front.
Posted: at 16-03-2011 11:04 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Ohis4real at 17-03-2011 07:44 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: deboalabi262 on 16-03-2011 01:57 AM
Famous or not famous, our tradition is very important and has to be respected. An african married woman should take her husband's last name....

Simple, there is no two ways about it..........
Posted: at 17-03-2011 07:44 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- earlalright at 17-03-2011 09:49 AM (13 years ago)
by the tradition and custom of the world, a woman is supposed to take the name (surname) of her husband in marriage. this is to show that she is no longer single and she is for her husband. just as a man sacrifices his friends and family (which the woman also does), it is a world wide practice for a woman to take the name of her husband.

the law however does not make it mandatory. it is by choice. that is why i woman who was already a public figure with her name may not change her name after marriage because of public policy. imagine your icon or supper star having to change names, it may not be easily accepted by the public - it won't be easy for them to get use to it and it may pose some difficulty for your company to go through all the change of name processes

legally, it is not mandatory, conventionally, yes!

Earl Alright
Alright's Passion
Posted: at 17-03-2011 09:49 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 17-03-2011 09:54 AM (13 years ago)
bro yu tall oooooooooooooooo Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked guiness world record

Posted: at 17-03-2011 09:54 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 17-03-2011 09:56 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ceejay58 on 16-03-2011 10:56 PM
It's very unfortunate that the core marriage values re not been respected anymore...  in marriage, a woman is expected (must) to leave her mother and father and cleave unto her husband as the two of them now becomes one..   It's the man who takes the woman's hand in marriage. and it's the man who pays the dowries and not the other way round...  according to the holy books the maker of the whole universe had ordained it that way since the beginning of the world...

so it's only foolish and stupid arrogance that 'll make any woman who's about to be married not summit totally to the rules governing marriage.      if u cannot lay down ur pride and take ur rightful place as a woman and wife then why go into marriage? why not remain in ur father's house till death or better still get married to ur own father or brother so u can always show off ur family name... Angry

i feel yu Cool

Posted: at 17-03-2011 09:56 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uzjosh at 17-03-2011 11:49 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: xena15 on 16-03-2011 11:24 AM
Quote from: muyiwa123 on 16-03-2011 09:36 AM
it is a must to bear the husband name because he paid for your dairy before marrying you except if the man did not paid that money
which kind english be dis?
u no fit make any coment>>>>>>> na another person coment na him u go se>>>> talk ur own>>> ar u perfect???
Posted: at 17-03-2011 11:49 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eucharia at 17-03-2011 12:08 PM (13 years ago)
anyway i will take his last name join to my own becos of tradition
Posted: at 17-03-2011 12:08 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sheree at 17-03-2011 12:40 PM (13 years ago)
Well, from the bible's view "there a man shall leave his parent and be joined with his wife and they both shall be one.

The woman should take her husband's name wether she's famous or not.
Posted: at 17-03-2011 12:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 17-03-2011 01:04 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Sheree on 17-03-2011 12:40 PM
Well, from the bible's view "there a man shall leave his parent and be joined with his wife and they both shall be one.

Sheree Weds Kennee and Becomes Sheree Udi  Cool

Posted: at 17-03-2011 01:04 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- truenaija2 at 17-03-2011 01:38 PM (13 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 17-03-2011 01:38 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 17-03-2011 01:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Kennee on 17-03-2011 01:04 PM

Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked yu mean Udi or Ubi  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 17-03-2011 01:41 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sexweezy at 17-03-2011 01:48 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 17-03-2011 01:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ajento at 17-03-2011 01:50 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: xena15 on 16-03-2011 11:24 AM
Quote from: muyiwa123 on 16-03-2011 09:36 AM
it is a must to bear the husband name because he paid for your dairy before marrying you except if the man did not paid that money
which kind english be dis?

LMAO: My sis I wonder too ooh; this english be as e' get ooh!
Posted: at 17-03-2011 01:50 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 17-03-2011 01:53 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on 17-03-2011 01:41 PM
Quote from: Kennee on 17-03-2011 01:04 PM

Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked yu mean Udi or Ubi  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

As l no know Wetin be Ubi, make l just Waka Pass

Posted: at 17-03-2011 01:53 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ajento at 17-03-2011 02:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ceejay58 on 16-03-2011 11:04 PM
That's the reason the rate of divorce is becoming so alarming this days.  Pride and Unwillingness to take ur place in the home front.

I hear you bros, nothing more to add. chikina!!
Posted: at 17-03-2011 02:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ajento at 17-03-2011 02:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Eucharia on 17-03-2011 12:08 PM
anyway i will take his last name join to my own becos of tradition

Sounds like you are being forced, or somewhat unwilling to do it the traditional way. My guess is, before long that unwillingness wiill manifest in other areas of the union, and gradually pride sets in and downfall of the marriage follows. Then what??
Posted: at 17-03-2011 02:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 17-03-2011 02:49 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nurabela on 15-03-2011 11:38 PM
If you get married after you become famous do you keep your maiden name or take on the husband's last name?

Personal choice!

Posted: at 17-03-2011 02:49 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Ajento at 17-03-2011 02:51 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 17-03-2011 02:49 PM
If you get married after you become famous do you keep your maiden name or take on the husband's last name?

Personal choice!

Personal choice indeed!!
Posted: at 17-03-2011 02:51 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 17-03-2011 05:16 PM (13 years ago)

Do not bear your husband's name. Juts go on with your PAPA'S name while your children Answer different Sur name.

NA MY HOUSE YOU WAN LIVE WITH YOUR PAPA NAME? ABI YOU WAN MAKE I DRIVE YOU OUT WHEN THERE IS BLACKOUT BY 2AM?
Posted: at 17-03-2011 05:16 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- princedafe at 17-03-2011 06:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: deboalabi262 on 16-03-2011 01:57 AM
Famous or not famous, our tradition is very important and has to be respected. An african married woman should take her husband's last name....

WELLSAID AND SUPPORTED
Posted: at 17-03-2011 06:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8