North sponsoring MEND – Ex-militants

Date: 18-03-2011 9:13 am (13 years ago) | Author: Master John Adikpe
- at 18-03-2011 09:13 AM (13 years ago)
From LAMBERT TYEM, Abuja
Friday, March 18, 2011

Some former militants yesterday in Abuja accused members of northern political elite
and the Northern Political Leaders Forum (NPLF) of playing politics with the name of the
Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) to intimidate President Goodluck Jonathan.

Sobomabo Jackrick, also known as General Egberipapa who spoke on behalf of others after
their meeting in Abuja, alleged that their investigations since the threat revealed that some
northern elite bent on acquiring power at all cost were engaging in activities aimed at destabilising
the present administration.
It, however, alleged that some northern politicians were behind the bombing campaigns rocking
the country allegedly being carried out by MEND.
The group comprising Government Okpehu, aka Tompolo, Boyloaf, General Egberipapa, among
others, said MEND had ceased to exist the moment they embraced the amnesty programme of
the Federal Government under the late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, stating that any other
MEND was a decoy by alleged northern politicians designed to divert attention from the real culprits.
In view of the above, the group warned that any attempt to destabilise the government of President
Jonathan would be strongly resisted as northern politicians who still think that sabotaging Jonathan’s
government would give them access to Niger Delta oil would be in for a surprise as that would not
be allowed to happen.
“Northern leaders like Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, Ibrahim Babangida are using this so-called MEND to
destabilise President Jonathan’s administration and we are watching them. If they think they can
destabilise Jonathan’s government, they should be in for a shocker as we are prepared to ensure
that oil from the Niger Delta will not be accessible to them anymore.
“The reason we went to the creeks is to fight a cause, the criminal marginalistion of the Niger Delta
region and these issues are being addressed especially with the appointment of Mr. Kingsley Kuku
as the special adviser to the president on Niger Delta affairs. We are satisfied with that and he has
started on a good note. Everybody is getting his allowance and some have been taken for training
in Ghana and South Africa while development projects are ongoing.

“President Goodluck Jonathan, though from the Niger Delta region, should be seen as president of
the entire country and should be given the support that our region gave past northern leaders for
more than 30 years. Why should his administration be threatened everyday by a non-existent
organisation. We are the MEND and it is no longer in existence. This leadership is for Nigerians
not Niger Deltans,” the group said.
The ex-militants, however, added a twist to its position by asking Federal Government to also
investigate former MEND commanders to ensure that they are not colluding in any way with
the “sponsored MEND.”
The group said most of the ex-militants were doing well individually before identifying the
criminal marginalisation of the area and decided to go into the creeks to fight. With the
amnesty programme in place, advent of President Jonathan, creation of the Niger Delta
Ministry, it said, there was nothing else to fight for.

Source:  http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/features/newsonthehour/2011/mar/18/newsbreak-18-03-2011-001.htm

Posted: at 18-03-2011 09:13 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 18-03-2011 09:26 AM (13 years ago)
Every national problem in Nigeri boils down to politics....@ times I feel strongly we need the Jerry Rawlings treatment in Naija.....
Posted: at 18-03-2011 09:26 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- estilizo at 18-03-2011 11:46 PM (13 years ago)
hnnmmmm nigeria wahala will brb..............

Posted: at 18-03-2011 11:46 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 19-03-2011 12:12 AM (13 years ago)
no comment yet........ Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 19-03-2011 12:12 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chyke123 at 19-03-2011 01:37 AM (13 years ago)
poster, UR VERY VERY STUPID.
Posted: at 19-03-2011 01:37 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- shaoyang at 19-03-2011 08:54 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pholake on 18-03-2011 09:26 AM
Every national problem in Nigeri boils down to politics....@ times I feel strongly we need the Jerry Rawlings treatment in Naija.....
Pholake abeg kowachiate i never read reach that side......
Posted: at 19-03-2011 08:54 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bali4real at 19-03-2011 09:09 AM (13 years ago)
hhmm who  is fooln who.God dey sha
Posted: at 19-03-2011 09:09 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 19-03-2011 11:02 AM (13 years ago)
It, however, alleged that some northern politicians were behind the bombing campaigns rocking
the country allegedly being carried out by MEND.

I tot as much... All those behind the evil act, and those MEND in disguise will surly be reveal and punish publicly someday.
Posted: at 19-03-2011 11:02 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 19-03-2011 11:19 AM (13 years ago)
I have wondered and I am still wondering how a man can put fire to his own house and come out to shout 'fire, fire'...........The walls have ears and one day, we might get to know the truth........

Posted: at 19-03-2011 11:19 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- williams100 at 19-03-2011 05:34 PM (13 years ago)
WHAT AN INTERESTING NONSENSE
Posted: at 19-03-2011 05:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 19-03-2011 05:35 PM (13 years ago)
whatever.........................

Posted: at 19-03-2011 05:35 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- farsam400 at 19-03-2011 07:01 PM (13 years ago)
This is the whole truth and nothing but the truth regarding
all bombing in Nigeria. Nigerian people you must believe
this revelation. Over thousands of years, people have played
politics all over the world but they have never been politic as
shown in Nigeria. If truly we are human and one country, then
self fishness and self centerness must stop or Nigeria must
engaged a Rawlings in the game
Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:01 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- interpo77 at 19-03-2011 07:27 PM (13 years ago)
i know b4, and i have lamented on this that the northern hemisphe re not taken it easy seeing
GEJ  as president now and president coming next april,i really believe some cnn comments  during the bombing in abuja
 and now see the real confession from MEND, so lets see ur next  usage  tricks u huasa,s
i really like the new office ,MINISTRY OF NIGER DELTA, that is the real change the pple of n/d needs
gud one, bravo GEJ
Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 19-03-2011 07:32 PM (13 years ago)
 Tongue Tongue

Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:32 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 08:02 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pholake on 18-03-2011 09:26 AM

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh
phhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooooooooooooollllllllllllllllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Posted: at 19-03-2011 08:02 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- deboalabi262 at 19-03-2011 08:08 PM (13 years ago)
GEJ should investigate this allegation ASAP, Lol

Posted: at 19-03-2011 08:08 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 19-03-2011 10:29 PM (13 years ago)
passin

Posted: at 19-03-2011 10:29 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 10:35 PM (13 years ago)
going where now ?
Posted: at 19-03-2011 10:35 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- kebella at 19-03-2011 10:55 PM (13 years ago)
my room

Posted: at 19-03-2011 10:55 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 10:59 PM (13 years ago)
why not branch here ? i wanna see you so
Posted: at 19-03-2011 10:59 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master