Why go to church?

Date: 07-04-2011 6:25 pm (13 years ago) | Author: richy et
- at 7-04-2011 06:25 PM (13 years ago)
A Church goer wrote a letter to the editor of a newspaper and complained that it made no sense to go to church every Sunday. “I've gone for 30 years now,” he wrote, “and in that time I have heard something like 3,000 sermons. But for the life of me, I can't remember a single one of them. So, I think I'm wasting my time and the pastors are wasting theirs by giving sermons at all.”

This started a real controversy in the “Letters to the Editor” column, much to the delight of the editor. It went on for weeks until someone wrote this clincher:

“I've been married for 30 years now. In that time my wife has cooked some 32,000 meals. But, for the life of me, I cannot recall the entire menu for a single one of those meals. But I do know this ... They all nourished me and gave me the strength I needed to do my work. If my wife had not given me these meals, I would be physically dead today. Likewise, if I had not gone to church for nourishment, I would be spiritually dead today!”

When you are DOWN to nothing.... God is UP to something! Faith sees the invisible, believes the incredible and receives the impossible! Thank God for our physical AND our spiritual nourishmen

Posted: at 7-04-2011 06:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mchinwendu at 13-04-2011 10:24 PM (13 years ago)
As Christians, we are not suppose to forsake assembly together, God's word says it.  We each have spiritual gifts that we are to use to help build up one another and shine bright for others who are still in darkness.  As well through testimonies, Christians draw encouragement, strength and so much more from one another.  Praises to the Great I Am! 

I heard someone say that standing in an auto garage does not make a person an automobile.  Going to church does not make a person a Christian either. 

It's is only accepting the free gift of life that Father God gives through Jesus Christ that makes one a Christians.

Posted: at 13-04-2011 10:24 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- isdorelaz at 18-05-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago)
Hebrews 10:25
Posted: at 18-05-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- chik001 at 19-05-2011 02:46 PM (12 years ago)
...why go to church...
...after the the planes hit the twin towers...the churches were filled up the following Sunday...afterwards...
...billions were then spent to beef up security...afterwards...
...it took only a 23 years old Nigerian knucklehead...who is not a rocket scientist to breach security...hmm....

...I love this verse:
"...Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain" Psalm 127 v1
Posted: at 19-05-2011 02:46 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CammyWhite at 19-05-2011 03:26 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chik001 on 19-05-2011 02:46 PM
...why go to church...
...after the the planes hit the twin towers...the churches were filled up the following Sunday...afterwards...

Something my brother quoted to me once (he's in the Army):

God and the soldier, we all adore
In time of danger and not before
When the danger is passed and all things righted,
God is forgotten and the soldier slighted
Posted: at 19-05-2011 03:26 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chik001 at 19-05-2011 04:35 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: CammyWhite on 19-05-2011 03:26 PM
...why go to church...

Something my brother quoted to me once (he's in the Army):

God and the soldier, we all adore
In time of danger and not before
When the danger is passed and all things righted,
God is forgotten and the soldier slighted

...I will love to buy you beer...sometime...
...thats if you don't mind...
...Thus...if you don't live in UK...
...I will send it through cosmic space...say OK!
Posted: at 19-05-2011 04:35 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nkezeigwe at 19-05-2011 07:42 PM (12 years ago)
Simply to observe what he said to remember the gathering of the brethen
Posted: at 19-05-2011 07:42 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- KINGJHOE at 21-05-2011 12:57 AM (12 years ago)
...why go to church...
...it took only a 23 years old Nigerian knucklehead...who is not a rocket scientist to breach security...hmm....

...I love this verse:
"...Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain" Psalm 127 v1
are u also a member?na waoooooooooooo
Posted: at 21-05-2011 12:57 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chik001 at 21-05-2011 09:51 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: KINGJHOE on 21-05-2011 12:57 AM
...why go to church...

...I love this verse:
are u also a member?na waoooooooooooo

...dont be afraid to speak your mind...tell me what you mean by that sentence...?
Posted: at 21-05-2011 09:51 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frayobkk at 14-06-2011 12:19 PM (12 years ago)
Bc the Bibble its self comment us for that
Hebrews 10:24-27
And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. For if we go on sinning deliberately after receiving the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sins, but a fearful expectation of judgment, and a fury of fire that will consume the adversaries.

1 Timothy 3:14-15
I hope to come to you soon, but I am writing these things to you so that, if I delay, you may know how one ought to behave in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, a pillar and buttress of the truth.

Acts 2:1-47
When the day of Pentecost arrived, they were all together in one place. And suddenly there came from heaven a sound like a mighty rushing wind, and it filled the entire house where they were sitting. And divided tongues as of fire appeared to them and rested on each one of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit gave them utterance. Now there were dwelling in Jerusalem Jews, devout men from every nation under heaven. ...

Matthew 6:5
“And when you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward.

John 6:50-71
This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die. I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.” The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. ...

Posted: at 14-06-2011 12:19 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 14-06-2011 10:10 PM (12 years ago)
Who told you it is not important.

You go to church to:

Fill the pockets of your pastors

Drum, sing and dance for your God.

A great opportunity to display one's beauty to others (women to men)

and many more shakakas.............

Posted: at 14-06-2011 10:10 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- frayobkk at 14-06-2011 10:25 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 14-06-2011 10:10 PM

You go to church to:

First of all b4 i go futher to talk with u are u here to prove anything wroung about christianty
or are u trying to let christian knows where the are going wroung

Posted: at 14-06-2011 10:25 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- richy_ex at 17-06-2011 02:39 PM (12 years ago)

You go to church to:

i'm praying 4 you
Posted: at 17-06-2011 02:39 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 18-06-2011 10:58 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: richy_ex on 17-06-2011 02:39 PM

You go to church to:

i'm praying 4 you

I am still praying for you. Is that your wife kissing you? I hope she is.......... was it in the church or in your bedroom? Chai!

Posted: at 18-06-2011 10:58 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 18-06-2011 10:25 PM (12 years ago)

You go to church to:

...it's also very important to attend the mosque so that the imam will get to tell you more on how to hate...amputate...behead anyone who is not a Muslim...
...also...it's highly recommended for all Muslims to regularly summit their clothes waist size for proper strapping of bombs for Jihad purposes...
Posted: at 18-06-2011 10:25 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 19-06-2011 10:42 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chik001 on 18-06-2011 10:25 PM

You go to church to:

...it's also very important to attend the mosque so that the imam will get to tell you more on how to hate...amputate...behead anyone who is not a Muslim...
...also...it's highly recommended for all Muslims to regularly summit their clothes waist size for proper strapping of bombs for Jihad purposes...

I have seen, with my naked eyes, many times Christian women dressing half naked with all their (supposed to be hidden) parts of the body open while going to church. We have read and comment here on NP several times about the cases of pastors molesting women inside the churches in NIGERIA. Where is your case study chik0000000000000000001

Posted: at 19-06-2011 10:42 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 19-06-2011 01:20 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 19-06-2011 10:42 AM
Quote from: chik001 on 18-06-2011 10:25 PM

You go to church to:

I have seen, with my naked eyes, many times Christian women dressing half naked with all their (supposed to be hidden) parts of the body open while going to church. We have read and comment here on NP several times about the cases of pastors molesting women inside the churches in NIGERIA. Where is your case study chik0000000000000000001

...you are a joke...case study...
...does anyone need a case study to show that a so called Muslim is not complete or accepted by Allah till he becomes a martyr through suicide bombing...ok...browse youtube for amputation in sharia law  or such...and tell us what you saw...
...for the record...
...women dressing to expose themselves or pastors sleeping with others wife is not the principle of Christ or true Christianity. There is nowhere in The Holy Bible that endorses such action...if there is...let see it...
Posted: at 19-06-2011 01:20 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ullakwa at 22-06-2011 08:49 PM (12 years ago)
It is very important to fellowship with other believers, to pray  and worship with others, and hear the word. And if you love God You enjoy going to church For me , going to church is like, let me say, taking a car to a petrolstation and fill the tanc. I get filled in the service and that gives me the strenght to go through the week.
Posted: at 22-06-2011 08:49 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- frayobkk at 24-06-2011 05:02 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ullakwa on 22-06-2011 08:49 PM
It is very important to fellowship with other believers, to pray  and worship with others, and hear the word. And if you love God You enjoy going to church For me , going to church is like, let me say, taking a car to a petrolstation and fill the tanc. I get filled in the service and that gives me the strenght to go through the week.

God bless u for wonderfull comment
many ppl that are here in religions forum are only against christianty
no one is ready to speek the truth or even talk about other religion
i love it its even make me stroung bc Bibble say it

Posted: at 24-06-2011 05:02 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- richy_ex at 6-10-2011 12:38 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: frayobkk on 24-06-2011 05:02 AM
Quote from: ullakwa on 22-06-2011 08:49 PM

God bless u for wonderfull comment
many ppl that are here in religions forum are only against christianty
no one is ready to speek the truth or even talk about other religion
i love it its even make me stroung bc Bibble say it
CORRECT
Posted: at 6-10-2011 12:38 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac