My Reasearch -White meat: Good for your heart

Date: 16-04-2011 10:33 am (13 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 16-04-2011 10:33 AM (13 years ago)
A heart-healthy diet begins by paying close attention to what you eat. You can reduce your chance of developing atherosclerosis, the blocked arteries that cause heart disease, with a heart healthy food. If the artery-clogging process has already begun, you can slow the rate at which it progresses.
Due to the increasing risk of heart diseases like hypertension, stroke and heart failures, health experts have advised that people reduce the intake of any form of fat as this leads to some of these ailments. If you want to have a healthy heart, you have to learn how to eat a heart friendly diet as all of the food you eat affects the health.
Eating more poultry products like white meat, turkey, can help decrease your risk of cardiovascular disease. White meat is a healthy alternative to fatty meats like beef and goat.
Chicken and turkey are an excellent source of protein and contain less fat that most meats do. Especially the chicken Bosom , it contains half the fat of beef. It is also a good source of vitamin B6, which in conjunction with niacin, is good for energy production by helping the body’s conversion of proteins, fats and carbohydrates into useable energy, as well as good cardiovascular health.
Mrs Victoria Ahuoiza Ajako, Assistant Chief Dietician at the National Hospital, Abuja collaborated this. “Turkey and chicken contain Omega 3 oil which is good for the heart. It is safe for people that are controlling their weight and watching their cholesterol level. But also if you are on a diet that does not require taking oil, then you can remove the skin of the chicken or turkey.  Chicken skin is the part that contains the most fat.”
“Chicken and fish traditionally have been considered healthier than red meat because many cuts of red meat can have too much saturated fat,” says Peter O. Kwiterovich, M.D., director of The Johns Hopkins University Lipid Clinic.
Feeding your heart well is a powerful way to reduce or even eliminate some risk factors. Adopting a heart-healthy nutrition strategy can help reduce total LDL cholesterol (the “bad” cholesterol), lower blood pressure, lower blood sugars, and reduce body weight. While most dietary plans just tell you what you can’t eat, the most powerful nutrition strategy helps you focus on what you can eat. In fact, heart disease research has shown that adding heart-saving foods is just as important as cutting back on others.
The benefits of eating white meat such as chicken and turkey are many. It is a rich source of a variety of essential nutrients and vitamins, which assist in strengthening the immune system of the body. Chicken and turkey are also reputed to be the safest meats available as it is least associated with any side effect of consumption. Many scientific studies have been conducted on them to assert their healthy properties and most of the researchers have found very positive effects of the meat on human health.

Posted: at 16-04-2011 10:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Youngstoriez at 16-04-2011 08:26 PM (13 years ago)
...watever
Posted: at 16-04-2011 08:26 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Michro at 16-04-2011 08:51 PM (13 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Posted: at 16-04-2011 08:51 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yukicares4u at 16-04-2011 09:41 PM (13 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-04-2011 09:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- williams100 at 16-04-2011 10:37 PM (13 years ago)
alright man.thanks for the tip.will take it under advicement.
Posted: at 16-04-2011 10:37 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Michro at 16-04-2011 10:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: yukicares4u on 16-04-2011 09:41 PM
Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 16-04-2011 10:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Youngstoriez at 16-04-2011 11:25 PM (13 years ago)
 Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 16-04-2011 11:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FlyMamacita at 17-04-2011 09:27 AM (13 years ago)
White meat no b only gud for d heart oo  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-04-2011 09:27 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tando at 18-04-2011 02:00 PM (13 years ago)
what about red meat?
Posted: at 18-04-2011 02:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- laydeelaracraft at 18-04-2011 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
white meat, red wine.....
Posted: at 18-04-2011 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- laydeelaracraft at 18-04-2011 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tando on 18-04-2011 02:00 PM
what about red meat?

thats good tooo.... for giving yu heart attack
Posted: at 18-04-2011 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- laydeelaracraft at 18-04-2011 02:11 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: frayobkk on 16-04-2011 10:33 AM
A heart-healthy diet begins by paying close attention to what you eat. You can reduce your chance of developing atherosclerosis, the blocked arteries that cause heart disease, with a heart healthy food. If the artery-clogging process has already begun, you can slow the rate at which it progresses.
Due to the increasing risk of heart diseases like hypertension, stroke and heart failures, health experts have advised that people reduce the intake of any form of fat as this leads to some of these ailments. If you want to have a healthy heart, you have to learn how to eat a heart friendly diet as all of the food you eat affects the health.
Eating more poultry products like white meat, turkey, can help decrease your risk of cardiovascular disease. White meat is a healthy alternative to fatty meats like beef and goat.
Chicken and turkey are an excellent source of protein and contain less fat that most meats do. Especially the chicken Bosom , it contains half the fat of beef. It is also a good source of vitamin B6, which in conjunction with niacin, is good for energy production by helping the body’s conversion of proteins, fats and carbohydrates into useable energy, as well as good cardiovascular health.
Mrs Victoria Ahuoiza Ajako, Assistant Chief Dietician at the National Hospital, Abuja collaborated this. “Turkey and chicken contain Omega 3 oil which is good for the heart. It is safe for people that are controlling their weight and watching their cholesterol level. But also if you are on a diet that does not require taking oil, then you can remove the skin of the chicken or turkey.  Chicken skin is the part that contains the most fat.”
“Chicken and fish traditionally have been considered healthier than red meat because many cuts of red meat can have too much saturated fat,” says Peter O. Kwiterovich, M.D., director of The Johns Hopkins University Lipid Clinic.
Feeding your heart well is a powerful way to reduce or even eliminate some risk factors. Adopting a heart-healthy nutrition strategy can help reduce total LDL cholesterol (the “bad” cholesterol), lower blood pressure, lower blood sugars, and reduce body weight. While most dietary plans just tell you what you can’t eat, the most powerful nutrition strategy helps you focus on what you can eat. In fact, heart disease research has shown that adding heart-saving foods is just as important as cutting back on others.
The benefits of eating white meat such as chicken and turkey are many. It is a rich source of a variety of essential nutrients and vitamins, which assist in strengthening the immune system of the body. Chicken and turkey are also reputed to be the safest meats available as it is least associated with any side effect of consumption. Many scientific studies have been conducted on them to assert their healthy properties and most of the researchers have found very positive effects of the meat on human health.
care to narrow down to a few bullet list? will appreciate it as will sum other ppl
Posted: at 18-04-2011 02:11 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frayobkk at 12-05-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago)
I only in africa that we dont valure white meat
i most tell pals here that white meat will make u look even young than ur age thanks
@frayobkk

Posted: at 12-05-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
Okay,noted
Posted: at 14-03-2016 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-06-2016 09:20 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 09:20 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. See Mercy Johnson & Other Actors' Reactions As Veteran Actress Liz Benson Stormed Movie Set

2. Outrage From Netizens As Lady Feeds Her Little Baby With Beer

3. Why I Smokes Now Despite Singing Against It - Fireboy DML Opens Up

4. Rivers State Gov. Fubara Tackles Predecessor, Wike Over Rivers Heavy Debt

5. Two Brothers, Kingsley And Chinedu Arrested For Stealing Transformer Cables in Lagos

6. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

7. VID; Watch The Moment Portable Jumped Gate To Evade Arrest Over Car Debt

8. Manchester United v Newcastle: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. Brighton v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. London-Based Nigerian Pastor, Michael Oluronbi & Wife Jailed 34 Years For Sexual Assault

11. Portable Reports Himself To Police After Ordering His Gang To Beat Up DJ Chicken In Viral Video

12. Late Singer Mohbad's Wife Wunmi Disowned By Sister For Being A Liar And Backbiter

13. 'Burna Boy, OdumoduBlvck, Others Need To Respect Legends Like Eedris Abdulkareem' - ID Cabasa

14. Six Suspects Arrested For Raping 12Yr Old Girl In Kebbi

15. How Nigerian Troops Neutralise Four More Terrorists In Borno

16. Alleged N19bn Fraud: Ex Minister Of Aviation Sirika’s Absence Stalls Arraignment

17. Carter Efe’s Girlfriend, Nuella Disclose Her Feelings To People Calling Her Boyfriend Ugly

18. NDLEA Arrests 80 Suspects, Seizes 3,000kg Of Drugs In FCT

19. BBN Star, Angel Smith Reveals Her Desire To Get Pregnant Next Month

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

4. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

5. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

6. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

7. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

8. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

9. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

10. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case