Sanusi Lamido Named "Times 100" Most Influential People

Date: 21-04-2011 7:13 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-04-2011 07:13 PM (13 years ago)
   The story of Nigeria's first half-century of Independence is a tale of wasted potential: sub-Saharan Africa's most populous country, home to its biggest oil riches, impoverished by thieving autocrats. A key reason a new Nigeria no longer seems fanciful is Central Bank governor Lamido Sanusi.

A veteran of an often corrupt banking industry, Sanusi, 49, took up his position at the height of the financial crisis in June 2009 and immediately turned on his former peers. He took over nine banks, sacked the chief executives of eight of them, ordered a series of mergers and named their biggest debtors. He was, he said, cleaning up not just banking but all Nigeria. Sanusi's will be a long fight and a dangerous one: death threats have obliged him to employ armed guards. But it is also essential for Africa's sleeping giant to finally awaken.

Posted: at 21-04-2011 07:13 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yackson at 21-04-2011 11:42 PM (13 years ago)
aint easy
Posted: at 21-04-2011 11:42 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- anya72 at 22-04-2011 02:40 AM (13 years ago)
Sanusi Lamido i wish you will one day be the president of nigeria. because ur a nice man. God will bless you
Posted: at 22-04-2011 02:40 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- donuche at 22-04-2011 04:52 AM (13 years ago)
nametalkam where did you get that he was among the 100 influential people from because i didnt see it here as the headline of this topic says?. i only knew that he was named the world central bank governor of the year 2011 but was not among the 100 most influential people of the year. the only nigerian that made the list was oby ezekwesili the MD of world bank" so pls stop feeding us with trash here some times,i am beginning to suspect that some influential people of this country are paying you to sing their praises unnecessarily when you are supposed to use this forum to fight for the courses of ordinary nigerians. i read times magazines regularly and there is no name like sanusi lamido making the list of 100 most influential people of the year 2011.
Posted: at 22-04-2011 04:52 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teemay at 22-04-2011 10:05 AM (13 years ago)
yea right, u read the times regularly...in case u don't know, 'the times' is different from 'daily times'....check this link b4 u open ur gob.....http://www.time.com/time/specials/packages/completelist/0,29569,2066367,00.html
Posted: at 22-04-2011 10:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sobeit at 22-04-2011 11:15 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: donuche on 22-04-2011 04:52 AM
nametalkam where did you get that he was among the 100 influential people from because i didnt see it here as the headline of this topic says?. i only knew that he was named the world central bank governor of the year 2011 but was not among the 100 most influential people of the year. the only nigerian that made the list was oby ezekwesili the MD of world bank" so pls stop feeding us with trash here some times,i am beginning to suspect that some influential people of this country are paying you to sing their praises unnecessarily when you are supposed to use this forum to fight for the courses of ordinary nigerians. i read times magazines regularly and there is no name like sanusi lamido making the list of 100 most influential people of the year 2011.

Bro!! you were to fast to comment.you should have done some research b4.yeah! the poster is correct he is actually on top 11 most influential people in the [email protected] grease to your elbow,keep doing the good job in reviving our bank sector.God will bless you!
Posted: at 22-04-2011 11:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 22-04-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago)
That is the reward for uprightness and sincerity.
Keep it up S.L.S
Posted: at 22-04-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sammy999 at 22-04-2011 12:06 PM (13 years ago)
this is great news for nigeria. sanusi is the kind of person nigeria needs at this time, i actually watched a late night program on bbc where sanusi was being interviewed and drilled with questions and he gave fantastic and brilliant answers to every question. well done sanusi
Posted: at 22-04-2011 12:06 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 22-04-2011 12:27 PM (13 years ago)
Sanusi deserved to be one, has really been influential.
Posted: at 22-04-2011 12:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solid_solid at 22-04-2011 12:59 PM (13 years ago)
good news for nigeria
Posted: at 22-04-2011 12:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toffee2love at 22-04-2011 01:54 PM (13 years ago)
Kudus to this noble man he is 1 out of 1000 leaders of Nigeria Economy, But imagine been threat with death.....OMG....And i will advise him in this area to go far from Nigeria Security as his guard cos this ppl are the 1 guarding many notable gud Nigerian that are dead now, he should be wise in this security area. May God guard him
Posted: at 22-04-2011 01:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollar22 at 22-04-2011 02:07 PM (13 years ago)
looking good
Posted: at 22-04-2011 02:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oyikwu at 22-04-2011 02:21 PM (13 years ago)
beta pple no dey last. be very careful Mr. Sanusi.
Posted: at 22-04-2011 02:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- foukidrem at 22-04-2011 07:02 PM (13 years ago)
keep it up man you will never fail....
Posted: at 22-04-2011 07:02 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- funichi at 22-04-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago)
There is nothing more honorable and beautiful than a man who is honest and ethical in the midst of corrupt friends.  A true Nigerian, helping us create a better positive image of Nigeria. Insha allah. Na gode."Bi iso iya o ba run, o ye ki ti omo o le ta sansan" -meaning, if your parents or elderly ones could not make it in their time, you as a younger  one should struggle to excel.  Smiley Smiley :'(
Posted: at 22-04-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ameenmt at 22-04-2011 08:58 PM (13 years ago)
Well I think this time you did not read the Times Magazine at all or you are overshadowed by the zeal to see other peoples flaws and or damp others fame.javascript:void(0)
Posted: at 22-04-2011 08:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- donuche at 22-04-2011 10:47 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ameenmt on 22-04-2011 08:58 PM
Well I think this time you did not read the Times Magazine at all or you are overshadowed by the zeal to see other peoples flaws and or damp others fame.javascript:void(0)

yeaaaa i have confirmed . i here by retract my earlier statement but it was said out of what i perceived as an unnecessary taking of side with some influential people by the poster and running down those whom he did not like as he was usually doing against jonathan good luck before the election" if you are following all his post and comments before the election you will feel the same as i do but this time i think i was just too fast to judge and condemn him. i have nothing against sanusi lamido and i like him for all he has achieved in the banking sector and the nigerian economy in general.when he was given the best world central bank governor of the year 2011 award i was the first person that posted it on this forum but the admin had to post that of aliuniyi on the tread.i have no ill feelings against any achiever because i am an apostle of change,progress,excellence and unity.
one love nigeria
Posted: at 22-04-2011 10:47 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bodeniyi at 22-04-2011 11:03 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 22-04-2011 11:03 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 22-04-2011 11:10 PM (13 years ago)
A gallant corrupt fighter....xxx good man 
Posted: at 22-04-2011 11:10 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Larrykingomoj at 22-04-2011 11:58 PM (13 years ago)
Keep on fighting and exposing them
Posted: at 22-04-2011 11:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

9. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

10. Actress, Eniola Badmus Looks Beautiful In New Photos To Spice Up The Weekend

11. VIDEO: Woman Who Was Disgraced By Pastor Enenche, Seeks For A New Apartment

12. Ex-Wife Of Late Alaafin Of Oyo, Queen Dami Shares Cryptic Post About Death

13. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

14. Second Republic Lawmaker & Veteran Journalist, Sidi Ali Dies At Age 86 In Kano

15. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

16. Mohbad's Dad, Aloba Granted Another Method To Deliver Court Summons For DNA Test To Wumi

17. Edo Police Arrest Two Fake Inspectors, Others Over N20m Drugs

18. "My Confidence In Nigerians Makes Me Take Tough Decisions" – President Tinubu

19. “My Hatred For Mohbad Keeps Increasing” - Naira Marley’s Associate Causes Stirs

20. VIDEO: Zinoleesky Claps Back At Portable’s Diss Song

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

10. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape