A TURE LIFE STORY

Date: 16-01-2008 9:03 pm (16 years ago) | Author: Emmauel
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 16-01-2008 09:03 PM (16 years ago)
An Innocent Life Wasted By Negligence Of Eko Hospital  « on: October 03, 2007, 07:29 AM »   

Hello, Everyone.
First I will like to know if there are any medical lawyers in this forum and based on their experiences after reading my story, I want them to tell me if I have a legal stand or not.

It all started about 3 months ago. An innocent girl was diagnosed of (curable) kidney cancer at Eko Hospital. All was well from the beginning, she was admitted and went through the operation of removing one kidney (primary source of the cancer). After all the fear for the worse, prayers and the pains she went through, the operations was successful and all was well again. She started gaining back her weight, cracking jokes and doing every continued living normally.

She was discharged from the hospital, and was told to come back in the next couple of weeks to start (radiotherapy treatment) (Doomed)
We all know what radiotherapy involves and there is nothing wrong in the treatment, but the manner the patient was been treated using the new radiotherapy device, with little or know knowledge of how it operates.

She has to go through a one month of the radiotherapy treatment, 6 mins per day. Monday to Friday every week. Now she's lost plenty of weight, loss of appetite, always in pain, vomiting and diarrhea and every radiotherapy symptoms you can think of. By now, the fear in the family is intensely growing.

I believe a patient in that kind of situation should be in an intensive care of the hospital in question, but eko hospital sent her home with some drugs that don't work. They said, in the next couple of weeks she would be fully okay and they insisted in her continuation of the treatment.

By now, everything you can think of is happening to this little girl, she's as skinny as you can describe it. From time to time she asks if she's going to survive this, and everyone around her said yes based on what they were told at Eko Hospital, one person accidentally said, "madam I'll tell you the truth, your day is doomed and she will not make it, just take her home and pray for the rest of her life." patient mother confronted the doctors with this matter and they said that "the head nurse that shared that information does not work in their department and knows nothing about what she's talking about".

To cut the very long story short, on the 2nd of October, yesterday, she has to be rushed into the hospital, she said " I don't want to stay at home, I want to be in the hospital, I believe I will be okay when we get to the hospital" When they got to the nearest hospital to their home, they refused her why, because they do not have loads of cash at hand at that moment in time, they progressed further to the next hospital where they required instant deposit as well. Then finally progressed to a further hospital where instant cash is also required.

She herself begged the last doctor, because she doesn't want to go home. Now the time is 1.am all at home trying to make this poor girl comfortable as she was in pain all over, this is a very bright 19 year old girl for God's Sake. 2 am, now she's now twitching all over, and mumbling some word we do not understand.
They had to rush her to EKO Hospital, at the early hours of the morning, like about 4.30 am, right outside the hospital she was confirmed dead!

She'll be buried today Wednesday, October 2007. Another potential Nigerian youth gone.

Although, she's gone, I want you guys to know that this is something that can happen to anybody. Though cancer is not actually the course of her death, but the treatment given to her and the manner the treatment was used.

Key Points
Misleading Information by eko hospital to patient family
throughout this ordeal, only 1 blood transfusion was done.
On her death certificate primary course of death "Malabsorbtion" secondary course of death "renal failure" Note not cancer.
This is poor negligence, this girl would have been alive if not for the negligence.

I want the medical lawyers in this forum to shed some light, at the moment, take me as a very angry man, because the 19 year old angel is my baby sister.

Update1
At the burial ground a doctor had to be called out on emergency, because when her friends asked to open the casket to see her face for the last time, she was sweating. All hope high again, like there's going to be another miracle of the century, we were all confused and wondering why someone confirmed dead will be sweating.

Though we'd thought that it's possible because' she'd just been brought out of ice,  But when a doctor arrived he reconfirmed her dead, and he said that the sweating is possible due to some reasons he mentioned,

Anyway we've buried her now, but another question arises, was she actually dead or unconcious when they confirmed she was dead?, Cos the staff that checked her pulse at the point of arrival was just woken up by other staff,  actually, most of the staff were asleep,  including the gateman that didnt's know when we came in,  we saw him asleep as well, 

Like mama say,  we should leave it to God, but if we keep leaving averything to God, how many young and innocent lives will be taken just because of supidity,  God himself does not welcome stupidity, all we ask for is that extra little care in our hospitals.

Update2
I do not know how to show my appreciation to you guys, your responses and contributions so far had been healing and helpful. Yesterday my sister was buried and we have arranged for mum to stay away from home.

she enjoys hearing all your reponses but still shut of comment, though some peoples responses actually brought smile to her face and she can read all these over an over again, Once again thak you everyone.

Fact Remains
It feels really strange to sleep at night and waking in the morning is like waking in another planet, it feels like you are chewing a dry stick everytime you try to eat something.

Sigh upon sigh and regrets, wish we could turn the clock back, some people said we should have gone to UTH (Ibadan) and others said otherwise, but non of these came when she was alive. The memory of my little sister is everywhere, remembering her last words, her resistance to go back home, her cry for help of the last doctor, her questions, if she's "going to survive or not". In a minute she was alive and another minute she was gone???.

How can we prevent this kind of situation in the future. We have indirectly contributed to the death of my little sister as we have paid eko hospital for the treatment, with the belief that we are doing the right thing, it's unbelievable. The Greed, laziness and the incomptency of eko hospital actually killed that poor girl.

All these quack hospitals should be dealt with one way or the other, brights student and future of Nigeria dying young, due to meant to be "professionals doctors" stupidity. Yet Nigeria is calling back home all professional Nigerians in foreign countries. Heaven helps those who help themselves I believe.

Update3
Day 3 my baby sister passed away. We're all trying to return to our normal life, though it's hard, but we are getting there. The last person to hear about her death was her elder sister and this is beacuse she was preparing for exams in school.

We told her eventually and she broke down, it hurts her more when she realised that our baby sister was buried the day after she died.  We all believe she's now at peace. ,

Posted: at 16-01-2008 09:03 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 17-01-2008 12:05 AM (16 years ago)
BRB..gotta get my contact lenses  Cool
Posted: at 17-01-2008 12:05 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 17-01-2008 03:14 AM (16 years ago)
well...i do have a legal stand...but i am sorry to say that justice does not exist in Naija....rightness is seen as which individual gives more money to the judge...... Undecided

Posted: at 17-01-2008 03:14 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- odehg at 17-01-2008 07:48 AM (16 years ago)
Life is a BITCH!!!
Posted: at 17-01-2008 07:48 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 17-01-2008 05:11 PM (16 years ago)
And then we phyuk  Grin
Posted: at 17-01-2008 05:11 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uselessshadelov at 18-01-2008 11:56 PM (16 years ago)
the tory too long
Posted: at 18-01-2008 11:56 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- myragonza at 19-01-2008 04:03 AM (16 years ago)
story story - 2face

Posted: at 19-01-2008 04:03 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 20-01-2008 03:41 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: uselessshadelov on 18-01-2008 11:56 PM
the tory too long

tory--story Grin
Posted: at 20-01-2008 03:41 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 21-01-2008 02:59 AM (16 years ago)
tori spelling - Beverly Hills 90210

Posted: at 21-01-2008 02:59 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 21-01-2008 06:40 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 21-01-2008 02:59 AM
tori spelling - Beverly Hills 90210

Tori's spelling needs spell checking  Smiley
Posted: at 21-01-2008 06:40 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 21-01-2008 08:50 AM (16 years ago)
tORI Does not know how to spell her family name

Posted: at 21-01-2008 08:50 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 21-01-2008 09:27 AM (16 years ago)
Tori needs hooked on phonics
Posted: at 21-01-2008 09:27 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 21-01-2008 09:32 AM (16 years ago)
tori is a hooker

Posted: at 21-01-2008 09:32 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tbaby at 21-01-2008 08:38 PM (16 years ago)
oh dear
am so sorry for your loss ooo
Nothing one says can bring her back and pls just leave it all to God forget the legal battle. The earlier your mum forgets the better. I have also once lost my senior sister (immediate senior) and it was terrible.
Tendency is to keep finding someone to blame. My mum didnt take it well at all but we all survived. Life goes on and only God can comfort you all.
Stay blessed

Posted: at 21-01-2008 08:38 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 22-01-2008 12:41 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: TBABY on 21-01-2008 08:38 PM
oh dear
am so sorry for your loss ooo
Nothing one says can bring her back and pls just leave it all to God forget the legal battle. The earlier your mum forgets the better. I have also once lost my senior sister (immediate senior) and it was terrible.
Tendency is to keep finding someone to blame. My mum didnt take it well at all but we all survived. Life goes on and only God can comfort you all.
Stay blessed

Put the blame on me-Akon Cool
Posted: at 22-01-2008 12:41 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 22-01-2008 02:59 AM (16 years ago)
south park - blame canada

Posted: at 22-01-2008 02:59 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 23-01-2008 12:27 AM (16 years ago)
pollutions---blame okada Cheesy
Posted: at 23-01-2008 12:27 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Didara86 at 23-01-2008 02:21 AM (16 years ago)
Someone is asking for advise in a very sad situation and you're making jokes? That's even more sad...
Posted: at 23-01-2008 02:21 AM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 23-01-2008 03:05 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: Didara86 on 23-01-2008 02:21 AM
Someone is asking for advise in a very sad situation and you're making jokes? That's even more sad...

well this is not the place to seek for such advice...contact a lawyer or something and start from there..even if there's a lawyer in the house..how possible is it that he/she'll be able to do anything for this situation if this took place in Naija and the lawyer happens to be in another country...Sad story for sure, but i think if its that serious..a local lawyer will be more suitable. Cool
Posted: at 23-01-2008 03:05 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 23-01-2008 03:23 AM (16 years ago)
we already gave him the advice.....and while waiting,we play a game.....

have u given urs,Didara86

Posted: at 23-01-2008 03:23 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Heartbroken Father Mourns His 14yr Old Daughter Who Was Reportedly Poisoned in School

2. Tinubu’s Son On Chagoury’s Board Is A Conflict Of Interest Says Atiku

3. Crystal Palace v Manchester Utd: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

4. VIDEO: Church Service Comes To A Halt As Man Pulls Gun And Attempts To Shoot Pastor

5. Former Kano State Governor, Shekarau’s Residence Razed By Inferno

6. Bayern Munich Considers Replacing Tuchel With Man Utd Rejected Coach, Ten Hag

7. VIDEO: Nollywood Actress & Ex-Beauty Queen, Ronke Tiamiyu Welcomes First Child

8. "We Are Not Involved In Prince Harry, Meghan Visit To Nigeria" - British High Commissioner

9. VIDEO: Singer, Yemi Alade Berates House Demolition By Lagos Govt. Across The State

10. Actor, Murphy Afolabi’s Daughter Celebrates His Posthumous Birthday With Touching Note

11. Lagos Govt Shut Down 367 Churches, Mosques, Hotels, Others

12. NDLEA Intercepts 4,752kg Of Cannabis In Gas Tanker In Abuja

13. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

14. 'If You Have Erection, Size & Fertility Issues, Discuss It With Her Before Engaging Her' -Man

15. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

16. 'My Father Justice Oputa Was Socrates Of Nigerian Supreme Court'– Charly Boy Says, Pays Tribute

17. Benue Man, Prince Matthew Regains Freedom From Kidnappers On His Birthday

18. Two Police Officers, Three Vigilante Members Killed By Unknown Gunmen In Enugu

19. Ibadan Court Remands Tenant, Dickson Peter In Prison For Setting Landlord’s House On Fire

20. VIDEO; "Grammy Don Cast, Make We Manage Headies" – BBnaija’s Whitemoney

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

6. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

7. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

8. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

9. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)