´We knew something would happen´: Cristiano Ronaldo

Date: 04-05-2011 5:05 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Seni Owo
- at 4-05-2011 05:05 PM (13 years ago)
Real Madrid attacker Cristiano Ronaldo has slammed referee Frank De Bleeckere for giving Barcelona ‘preferential treatment’ in their clash.

De Bleeckere ruled out a Gonzalo Higuain goal early in the second-half of the Champions League semi-final second leg, which ended 1-1 for a 3-1 aggregate win to Barcelona.

Ronaldo was deemed to have fouled Javier Mascherano in the build up to Higuain’s strike, with video replays showing Barca defender Gerard Pique making contact with the Portuguese star moments before he crashed into Mascherano’s legs.

De Bleeckere penalised Ronaldo for bringing down Mascherano, and Higuain’s goal was disallowed.

“The team is sad, but we knew it was an uphill battle,” Ronaldo said on Real’s official website.

“The name of the match is ‘Mission Impossible IV’. Once again, it was the referee that didn’t allow us to dictate the outcome. We knew we could beat Barca, but the referee didn’t let us.”

“Higuain’s goal was good. Pique pushed me and I landed on Mascherano. He didn’t used to fall to the ground in England, but he’s picked up the bad habit of doing it here like everyone else.”

Ronaldo echoed team-mate Xabi Alonso’s criticism of the red card handed to Pepe in the first leg of their semi-final at the Bernabeu, using the decision as proof UEFA referees guided Barcelona into the Wembley final.

“The referee in the first match took away our chances of playing the final. Whoever knows anything about football knows that Barcelona get preferential treatment. We knew something would happen. We knew that if we scored a goal that everything would be done to keep us from going through,” Ronaldo said.

“This isn’t good for football. We should just stay home and allow Barcelona to play alone if things don’t change. Barcelona have a lot of power off the pitch. We would have drawn 0-0 without the Alves incident (Pepe’s red card) and tonight’s draw would have seen us through.”

“There are no differences between the teams as was seen throughout the four matches. We won the Copa del Rey (against Barca) by playing fairly. I don’t feel that Barcelona were better than us, but rather that they have a lot of help from the referees.”

Posted: at 4-05-2011 05:05 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- femilux at 4-05-2011 05:15 PM (13 years ago)
am chelsea fan and hate ronaldo for nothing but on this i bliv he is correct barca are been guided and its not good football..........
Posted: at 4-05-2011 05:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenolis at 4-05-2011 06:33 PM (13 years ago)
not again
Posted: at 4-05-2011 06:33 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- uchman80 at 5-05-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago)
Honestly I can swear with my life that what Ronaldo says is nothing but the truth..if anyone who knows football very well,will attest to this confession...I love Barca before,but due to the recent officiating I am witnessing whenever they play,I now confidently hate them with passion..
UEFA should look into this matter very well.if they continue to favour the high and mighty clubs,how then will the lesser clubs and their investors grow?
Posted: at 5-05-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- frayobkk at 6-05-2011 06:36 AM (13 years ago)
Football is barca and Barca is football
is better u guys stop criticizing barca and face reality

Posted: at 6-05-2011 06:36 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenolis at 6-05-2011 04:34 PM (13 years ago)
you can say that again
Posted: at 6-05-2011 04:34 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 16-09-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 16-09-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 17-09-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago)
d same story

Posted: at 17-09-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 17-09-2012 11:48 PM (11 years ago)
D same story

Posted: at 17-09-2012 11:48 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Photos and Videos From Burial Of Famous Nollywood Actor, Junior Pope

2. VID: E-money Reacts To Accusation Of Having Hand In Junior Pope's Death, & Dating His Wife

3. Actress Queen Wokoma Responds After She Was Criticized For Her Outfit To Jnr Pope’s Funeral

4. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

5. VIDEO: “My Ex-Wife Had 21 Miscarriages, She Sent Her Friends To Beat Me Up” – Oritsefemi

6. He Hurriedly Buried Him After Please From Everyone' -Mohbad's Wife Blames Father-In-Law After

7. Peter Obi Overwhelmed After Primary 6 Graduating Pupil Invited Him During His School Graduation

8. Police Arrest Soldier, 2 Others Over Kidnap Of 11-month-Old Child In Sokoto

9. 100 Orphan Girls Marriage: Minister Withdraws Suit Against Niger Speaker

10. How Olamide Left Me To Create His Own Record Label, YBNL - ID Cabasa Reveals

1. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Never Relocate to These Two Countries Even If Their Visa is Free - Lady Sternly Warns Nigerians

4. Afrobeat Singer, Burna Boy Opens Up Amid Rumours He Can’t Have Kids, Gives Reasons

5. Nigerian Journalist, Reuben Abati Pens Lovely Note To Wife On Their 4th Wedding Anniversary

6. Naked Daughter’s Picture: Simi Berates Police Over Counseling Comment

7. Portable Breaks Silence Hours After Being Arrested By The Police

8. "I Regret Opening Up On Weight Loss" - Real Warri Pikin Laments

9. Burna Boy Framed Davido And Wizkid’s Picture In His House, Sparks Outrage

10. See Mercy Johnson & Other Actors' Reactions As Veteran Actress Liz Benson Stormed Movie Set