Fake Doctor Caught After Patient She Operated Upon Died.

Date: 22-08-2011 10:48 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 22-08-2011 10:48 PM (12 years ago)
Like any typical African woman, Alhaja Basirat Animasaun loved children but was unable to have the number she desired because of a gynaecological problem she had. She had been told she had fibroid which had hindered conception after she had a set of twins. That her first marriage collapsed did not hinder her hope as she believed that once the fibroid was out of the way, getting a man to marry to make a baby would not be a problem.

The suspect, 'Dr' Mrs Adetola Adesina-Oluiwo.
Photo: Oluwatoyin Malik

According to information gathered, she had been to different hospitals to operate the fibroid but it always grew back without her achieving the pregnancy she so much desired. Determined not to give up, Alhaja Animasaun was happy when a muslim cleric, Alfa Mansur, who she had known for almost two decades recently introduced a woman she met in his house as a 'doctor'. Hope arose in her as she thought the female 'doctor'could be of help where other doctors had failed. She contacted the 'doctor' she was introduced to and she was billed N60,000 for the surgery. Glad that a solution was in sight, she quickly got the money together and paid everything ahead of the surgery, unknown to her that she had set herself on the path of death.

On the day slated for the surgery, she went into the 'clinic', located in a local setting at Olomi area of Ibadan, Oyo State. Another 'doctor' was invited for the surgery and she was taken to the 'theatre' for operation. Unfortunately, less than four hours after the surgery, the woman gave up the ghost.

Her family members however refused to accept Alhaja Animasaun's death as an happenstance as they believed that the 'doctors' who handled her were not competent. Pronto, they wrote a petition to the Commissioner of Police, Mr Moses Onireti, to assist the family in bringing the so-called doctors to justice.

Based on this, the State Criminal Investigation Department (SCID), Iyaganku in Oyo State Police Command is currently interrogating the fake doctor who operated the 45-year-old woman. The 'doctor', Mrs Adetola Adesina-Oluiwo, in connivance with another 'doctor', 'Dr' Agboola Adeyemi performed the surgery on Tuesday August 9.

While interrogating the suspect, Adesina-Oluiwo, she had told the police officers that she read medicine at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and did her housemanship at General Hospital, Kebbi State. She added that she was a consultant who specialised in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology. However, when an unknown caller got in touch with the suspect's Investigative Police Officer, he pleaded that 'Nurse Joke' should be released. When confronted with this, the suspect recanted and said she was just an auxiliary nurse. No one is sure of her real name.

In an interview with Sunday Tribune, the suspect said: "I am Mrs Adetola Adesina-Oluiwo, I am 35 years old and an indigene of Ijebu-Ode in Ogun State though married to an Ibadan man. I have my family house on Folagbade street, Ijebu Ode. I am an auxiliary nurse who trained in Lagos and I worked for 13 years before I decided to be on my own. I started my own clinic in 2009 and established the clinic in Ikare Akoko in Ondo State. I decided on Ikare because I had a friend there who helped me to establish and get clients.

I had to leave Ikare when I got married to my husband this year and he did not agree to my staying so far away. The name of my clinic is 'The Land of Canaan Clinic' situated at 7up area of Ibadan. I started the clinic in Ibadan on August 5, 2011. In my clinic, I used to treat those who had malaria and attend to pregnant women who wanted to deliver babies. I rented a flat for the hospital.

When asked whether she obtained a licence for the clinic, Adesina-Oluiwo said she was yet to do that in Oyo State.

According to her, "I had already called someone I knew in Oyo town to put me through how to obtain the licence and he promised to help me at the end of this month of August". So why didn't she wait until then before she started operation, she was asked again. Mrs Adesina-Oluiwo replied that since she already had it in plan to take necessary steps, she didn't see anything wrong in continuing with her work.

She was also the sole staff of her clinic - she was the doctor, nurse, ward maid, cleaner etc. She also revealed that the deceased, Alhaja Basirat Animasaun was her first patient in Ibadan. Explaining how she came about the 'patient', Adesina-Oluiwo said she was sitting in front of her clinic on the fateful day when the deceased came to tell her that she had fibroid and wanted the 'doctor' to operate it for her.

"She told me that she was informed by some people that I was a doctor. I asked her why she didn't go to the hospital where she first had the operation and she replied that she had done it about three times and it was done each time at different hospitals. I then told her that I would call my boss in the profession, Dr Agboola Adeyemi, to know if he would be available for the opera-tion. I called him and he said he would come on Sunday August 7.

"On that day, I didn't see my boss, the doctor, neither the woman. On Monday, my boss called me and promised to come on Tuesday. On that Tuesday, he came around 8a.m. and the woman did not come until after 2p.m. I was even a little bit annoyed with her. She apologised and the surgery was carried out by Dr Agboola. He was the one who brought the instruments that were used and I was there with him fixing the drip on the woman and greeting her intermittently because she was not put to sleep totally.

"She brought N60,000 as fee for the surgery and I immediately handed it over to the doctor so that he would know that I did not keep anything back from him. I was yet to collect my share before the incident that happened.

"After the operation at about 5.30p.m., we took the patient to the ward and we were even talking. Her mother came and I showed her the fibroid which filled a small paint bucket. The woman thanked me profusely and even told me that our patient's child was in the car outside and had wanted to come in to see his mum but she stopped him because he would not want to leave his mum.

She asked to take her leave and she went away.

"I went to clean the theatre afterwards and about 8.30p.m., I was sitting by the nurses' table when I just heard Alhaja saying 'they are tightening hands round my neck'. I rushed to her side, thinking that she was in pain. I tried to calm her down, asking her jokingly about who was trying to suffocate her. She replied me that it was her mum's younger sibling. After that, she just packed up. She did not gas (gasp), she did not bleed.

"I quickly put a call through one of her sibling whose number she gave me in case we needed to call him to get any drug for her. When he came, I explained everything to him. We took her corpse to the hospital to deposit in the morgue and the next day, the family went to pick the remains and buried it. I was surprised to see the police from the State Criminal Investigation Department on Monday August 15 who came to arrest me," she narrated.

When asked why she told lies that she was a medical doctor and a consultant, the suspect initially denied saying so but when she was confronted by the officers before whom she made the claims, Adesina-Oluiwo said she was not in the right frame of mind when she was saying all that as she was shaken by her arrest.

Since her arrest, the woman claimed she had not seen the 'Doctor' Adeyemi while efforts to call him proved abortive as he had switched off his line. She also claimed she did not know his house though the man, according to her, said he was working at Ayinke House (an arm of Lagos State University Teaching Hospital), Ikeja. "He even told me he was about opening his own clinic within Mountain of Fire and Miracle Church. I only met in company of his other doctor friends where they used to sit to drink beer", she added.

When asked about the identity of her husband, Adesina-Oluiwo initially told the police that he was studying law in Egypt but told Sunday Tribune that though her husband was schooling in Egypt, she didn't know his course of study. She also disclosed that she and her husband had no accommodation in Ibadan and had been squatting with Alfa Mansur who introduced her to Alhaja Animasaun. She however said her husband is currently in Nigeria while the Alfa had travelled to Cairo in Egypt.

Police sources however said the woman and others were being suspected to be a gang of fraudsters who had been swindling people on different pretexts.

When contacted, the Commissioner of Police in Oyo State, Mr. Moses Onireti said it was unfortunate that the family of the deceased had buried the corpse before reporting to the police while they also did not agree to exhuming the corpse, which he said would have further helped investigation and prosecution.

Mr. Onireti, however, said the police had taken over the case and if the suspect is found to be culpable to the crime she was alleged of, she would be charged to court after all investigations.

Posted: at 22-08-2011 10:48 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 23-08-2011 01:28 AM (12 years ago)
wow this story is long sha..i read like close to half of the story tho..meanwhile,i hate this word fibroid
Damn...mayher soul rest in peace tho.

Posted: at 23-08-2011 01:28 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 23-08-2011 04:10 PM (12 years ago)
RIP

Posted: at 23-08-2011 04:10 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- annkezs at 24-08-2011 02:16 PM (12 years ago)
CAN WE EVER HAVE A PERMANENT CURE FOR FIBROID? RIP ALHAJA
Posted: at 24-08-2011 02:16 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 7-08-2012 09:18 PM (11 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 7-08-2012 09:18 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 7-08-2012 09:55 PM (11 years ago)
HMMMMM....... NAIJA. IF PPL CAN WIN THEIR WAY INTO POSING AS A FAKE DOCTOR AND THEN PUT PATIENTS AT RISK, THAT SHOWS HOW BACKWARD NIGERIA IS
Posted: at 7-08-2012 09:55 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 7-08-2012 09:56 PM (11 years ago)
Chipolopolo una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 7-08-2012 09:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 7-08-2012 09:59 PM (11 years ago)
May her soul rest in peace
Posted: at 7-08-2012 09:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 7-08-2012 10:01 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  7-08-2012 09:56 PM
Chipolopolo una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
How much coffee do you drink daily  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 7-08-2012 10:01 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 14-01-2013 08:49 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  7-08-2012 09:56 PM
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 14-01-2013 08:49 AM (11 years ago) | Hero

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

8. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

12. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

13. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

14. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims