An air hostess for Arik Air, Ms Chinwendu Uwakaonyenma Ogbonnaya, was arrested at Heathrow Airport on Sunday over an allegation of smuggling four kilogram’s of cocaine into the United Kingdom. The airline promptly promised to support the British police and the magistrates in the matter even as it regrets that the incident is the first involving its crew.
A statement by the British High Commission in Abuja Tuesday said the drug was discovered in an item of luggage conveyed by 30-year-old Ogbonnaya. “She had arrived into Heathrow Terminal 4 having travelled on an Arik Air flight from Lagos in Nigeria,” the statement said, adding that she was charged with attempting to import a class A substance, and appeared before Uxbridge Magistrate court Tuesday. The British High Commission quoted the Director of UK Border Agency operations at Heathrow, Marc Owen, as saying: “UK Border Agency officers are on constant alert, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year to keep class A drugs and other banned substances out of the UK.” According to him, the agency is determined to prevent this terrible trade which can have “such a destructive impact on the lives of so many”.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 22-12-2011 12:25 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
lock the muthaphyuker in jail. dont know what is wrong with this fools. always ready to tarnish the image of us hardworking nigerians. may you rot in jail if found guilty.
Posted: at 22-12-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
Sir_Finest at 22-12-2011 01:34 PM (13 years ago) (m)
Shiiit, whats new!!!! if this greedy-bastard had gotten away with it now, she will be living a high life and would have become a dican at her church by now, but who go blame her for 9ja man as 2 survive what ever the cause.
Posted: at 22-12-2011 01:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
onlyGodknows at 22-12-2011 01:47 PM (13 years ago) (m)
Chinwendu! Chinwendu!! Chinwendu!!! How many times did I call you? U don't hear at all. You have helped those people disturbed by inferiority complex to score a very cheap point. Wetin u dey find go there sef?
Posted: at 22-12-2011 01:47 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
Bachelorette at 22-12-2011 01:48 PM (13 years ago) (m)
99 days 4 the thief, one day 4 the owner. only God knows how many she don succesfully smuggle in. She wan use one stone kill two birds, but she lost both sides.
I've always lived by 3 principles:
1. Honour ur God, 2. Love ur Family and 3. Defend your Country
Posted: at 22-12-2011 01:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
lock the muthafcuker in jail. dont know what is wrong with this fools. always ready to tarnish the image of us hardworking nigerians. may you rot in jail if found guilty.
so annoying
Posted: at 22-12-2011 02:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
Chinwendu! Chinwendu!! Chinwendu!!! How many times did I call you? U don't hear at all. You have helped those people disturbed by inferiority complex to score a very cheap point. Wetin u dey find go there sef?
Lol, I thought I was reading a script of an Ibo movie....on a more serious note though, Chinwendu you have disgraced yourself, family, community, and Nigeria as a whole. You should be duly punished.
Posted: at 22-12-2011 03:05 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming