U. S. pledges to join battle against Boko Haram

Date: 26-12-2011 7:54 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Dipdip
- at 26-12-2011 07:54 PM (12 years ago)
The United States has pledged to support the Nigerian government to battle the menace of the Boko Haram sect.
The White House yesterday stated this as it condemned the violent Christmas Day terrorist attacks on St. Theresa’s Catholic Church in Madalla, near Suleja which led to the death of 26 people and injury to many others.
"We condemn this senseless violence and tragic loss of life on Christmas Day," the White House said in a statement released from Hawaii, by White House Press Secretary Jay Carney, where President Barack Obama is vacationing.
"We have been in contact with Nigerian officials about what initially appeared to be terrorist acts and pledge to assist them in bringing those responsible to justice," it said.
The U.S. promised to help Nigeria find those responsible for the Christmas Day bombings. that killed dozens in the oil-rich African nation.
John Campbell, a former U.S. ambassador to Nigeria, says Boko Haram has given voice to what he calls "a cloud of inchoate rage shaped by Islam" that has brewed among northerners.
"(President) Jonathan needs to address this northern alienation, of which Boko Haram is only a symptom," Campbell wrote in a recent op-ed for Foreign Affairs magazine.
"Too heavy a hand would risk alienating Nigeria's 75 million Muslims, who already have legitimate grievances in the north. This, in turn, could undermine the very unity of Nigeria - something neither Washington nor Abuja can afford," said Campbell, who is the Ralph Bunche senior fellow for Africa policy studies at the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) in New York.

Posted: at 26-12-2011 07:54 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- danniejoe1 at 26-12-2011 07:57 PM (12 years ago)
That is it
Posted: at 26-12-2011 07:57 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mimibaby_5 at 26-12-2011 08:53 PM (12 years ago)
they better not come naija ooo. before they finish us like they finish irak them
Posted: at 26-12-2011 08:53 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngrashy at 26-12-2011 09:15 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 26-12-2011 09:15 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- igbonnanna at 26-12-2011 09:26 PM (12 years ago)
we don't need US
Posted: at 26-12-2011 09:26 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gimac at 26-12-2011 09:28 PM (12 years ago)
do we really need them   answer is no.....we need a man like gimac
Posted: at 26-12-2011 09:28 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- danniejoe1 at 26-12-2011 11:42 PM (12 years ago)
We really need them
Posted: at 26-12-2011 11:42 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- gimac at 27-12-2011 06:12 AM (12 years ago)
gimac  ...........we remove fro the face on earth
Posted: at 27-12-2011 06:12 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 17-06-2012 12:43 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 17-06-2012 12:43 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- adoinem at 14-08-2012 09:52 PM (11 years ago)
America has too much in the mouth to chew let alone adding Nigeria to it. What Nigeria needs is manpower training to take the fight to Boko Haram
Posted: at 14-08-2012 09:52 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- jabanz at 17-11-2012 12:47 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad

Posted: at 17-11-2012 12:47 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jabanz at 17-11-2012 12:47 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad

Posted: at 17-11-2012 12:47 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac