Girl, 17, married to 50yr-old, celebrates fifth wedding anniversary

Date: 07-01-2012 1:55 am (12 years ago) | Author: sunmonu
- at 7-01-2012 01:55 AM (12 years ago)
It is not the kind of relationship one expects to go the distance. But today, a girl who married her 50-year-old biker lover in a secret civil ceremony has celebrated five years of marriage.

Kayley Simock, now 23, was just 17 years old when she wed twice-divorced ex-roadie Philip Nash in 2007, a year after meeting him at a religious service where she was playing the guitar.

The pair, who have a staggering 32 year age gap between them, infuriated their families when they wed in secret after Kayley’s family tried to put a stop to the relationship.

Best friends: Philip and Kayley share a passion for motorbikes, and say their friendship has helped them stick at their marriage

Best friends:

Philip and Kayley share a passion for motorbikes, and say their friendship has helped them stick at their marriage

The receptionist nearly destroyed her relationship permanently after refusing to stop seeing ex-roadie Nash.

Yet six years since they first met, they say they are still very much in love.

Their path has never run smooth. Kayley, from Stourbridge in the West Midlands is the primary breadwinner after Phil was injured in a motorbike accident four years ago.

And while Kayley is ready to start a family of her own, Phil is less keen as his only child, a 27-year-old daughter, will soon give birth to his first grandchild.

Infatuated: The couple married in 2007 in a secret civil ceremony

Kayley said, ‘In a way, we’ve proven the whole world wrong. It seemed like everyone was against us, purely because of the difference in our ages.

‘I knew when we got together Phil was the man I wanted to be with. People said I was too young to know that, but I did.

‘And the proof is in the pudding. We’re still very much in love. Not everything is easy, but that’s life.

‘I can’t wait to have kids – I would have them tomorrow. But with Phil not working, money is tight, so he says we should wait a while.

‘And Phil is about to become a grandfather – he’s already had his children and is conscious about our money situation.

‘But Phil is not getting any younger. It’s crazy to think I am going to be a grandmother soon. I’m excited, but there’s no way anyone is going to call me Nana.’

Five years after their marriage Kayley’s mum, Jayne, 46, has finally come to terms with having a son-in-law who is nine years her senior.

However, Kayley says she lost most of her friends at the start of the romance who couldn’t understand why she was spending time with ‘an old man.’

She said: ‘My mum was furious when she first found out about Phil. It destroyed our relationship for a long time. ‘I still can’t talk to my dad about it and don’t see him very often. ‘I’ve got virtually no friends left who are my own age because I felt I could never talk to them about me and Phil.

‘My relationship is good with Phil’s daughter now but obviously it was strained at first.

‘I don’t treat her as a step daughter and she doesn’t treat me like a step mum.

Starting a family: Kayley says she would like babies, but Phil, who is about to become a grandfather, is more reluctant

‘Despite the massive age gap Phil and I are soulmates. Occasionally it will be an issue like when we are mistaken for father and daughter, which can be a bit embarrassing.

‘Or sometimes Phil will want me to come home early when I want to stay out later. But we are best friends who always know what the other one is thinking.’

Youthful Kayley was playing guitar in the church orchestra when she was approached by Phil. Despite being warned by her parents and church leaders that the friendship was ‘inappropriate’, the pair continued to meet.

A year later they moved in together while Kayley’s mum was away for the weekend. Kayley said: ‘We got a van and moved all my stuff into Phil’s flat. My parents weren’t listening when I told them how I felt.

No regrets: Phil Nash, 54, and Kayley, now 23, devastated Kayley’s family when they married five years ago but today say they are blissfully happy

No regrets: Phil Nash, 54, and Kayley, now 23, devastated Kayley’s family when they married five years ago, but today say they are blissfully happy

‘I couldn’t believe they were being so narrow-minded. I knew Phil was the man for me.’

A year later, in 2006, the slim brunette – who still gets asked to prove her age when buying a lottery ticket – married Phil in a secret ceremony attended by only Phil’s family.

She said: ‘We got married at the registry office. I felt sad that my family couldn’t be there but I knew what I was doing.

‘I don’t know how she found out but I got a text from my mum after the ceremony asking if I had just got married.

‘I texted back ‘yes’, then I didn’t hear from her for months. Even if it meant losing my family I knew I had to be with Phil. After my parents stopped talking to me I still had no regrets.

‘We’ve already made it five years. These days, there are plenty of marriages that don’t last that long, even when both people are the same age.’

Phil receives £300 per month in incapacity benefit after being forced from his job as a car salesman following a bad motorbike accident. However, the couple are still able to pursue their love of biking and go out most weekends.

Kayley said: ‘When I’m at work Phil stays at home and does all the cooking and cleaning. ‘It took Phil a bit of getting used to. We would like to have more money, but we’re happy for now.

‘We both know Phil is likely to die before me but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. ‘There’s no point in worrying about it. I want to enjoy the here and now.’

source http://bekkyblog.com

Posted: at 7-01-2012 01:55 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- giftmurphy at 9-01-2012 03:39 PM (12 years ago)
congrats 17 yrs girl
Posted: at 9-01-2012 03:39 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- apprehended at 3-02-2012 05:51 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 3-02-2012 05:51 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ijidai at 31-03-2012 09:30 PM (12 years ago)
i no like this kind love ooooo, babu bana so.
Posted: at 31-03-2012 09:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Empress_Ameera at 1-04-2012 02:45 AM (12 years ago)
Well,well who cares... This is now becoming a trend older with younger , I do not care I know even at my age I do not want a man that is 50 and I am much older than 17 and 23... I am so not interested.....

Posted: at 1-04-2012 02:45 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 1-04-2012 07:19 AM (12 years ago)
na dia choices............its a free world

Posted: at 1-04-2012 07:19 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 2-04-2012 09:41 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ijidai on 31-03-2012 09:30 PM
i no like this kind love ooooo, babu bana so.

Hisss if na naija guy u go pop champagne
Posted: at 2-04-2012 09:41 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-04-2012 12:02 PM (12 years ago)
Na the newest fashion in voke ooooo
Posted: at 2-04-2012 12:02 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Beauti4 at 3-04-2012 12:53 AM (12 years ago)
They look alike
Posted: at 3-04-2012 12:53 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 26-08-2012 03:05 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 26-08-2012 03:05 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 27-08-2012 01:59 PM (11 years ago)
ok..
Posted: at 27-08-2012 01:59 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- portikoko at 31-01-2014 05:47 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Beauti4 on  3-04-2012 12:53 AM
They look alike
w
Posted: at 31-01-2014 05:47 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie