Nigeria Justice? Mechanic To Die By Hanging For Stealing Mere Car Stereo

Date: 26-01-2012 5:06 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 26-01-2012 05:06 PM (12 years ago)
When our politicians and so called leaders are stealing millions and chopping our subsidy money, a motor mechanic has been sentenced to death by hanging for armed robbery.  He was sentenced to death for robbing a University Lecturer of his car stereo at gun point in company of another accomplice, now deceased.

Prosecution led by the State Director of Public Prosecutions, Mr. Marcel Okoh called four witnesses to prove its case.

The mechanic along with another person were accused of robbing one Johnson Unuerho of his car stereo on the 29th of June, 2002 armed with a gun at Okpara Inland within Isiokolo judicial division.

However the 2nd accused persons one Gabriel Iyerowho, a driver was discharged and acquitted.

The  victim of the robbery incident, who was PW2 (prosecution witness), a Principal Lecturer attached to the College of Education Warri, narrated how he tip-toed to the window,  opened the blind gently and saw the  1st accused person, Patrick Ekeh and another member of the gang now deceased before shouting for help.

Justice Fred of Oleh High Court in Delta, in his judgment stated that “in the final analysis, I uphold defence of alibi of the 2nd accused persons. It ought to have been investigated by the police but was not. And besides, he was not one of those sighted by the PW2 when he took a peep through the window of his house and so no evidence fixing him at the scene and sufficient to dislodge the alibi raised by him.

While sentencing the accused, he said, “this is an offence of armed robbery for which I have no discretion. The penalty is death and I am not in a position not to impose it. To this end, the accused person is sentenced to death by handing in the neck until he is dead”, the judge stated.

Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:06 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rayOFsunshine at 26-01-2012 05:16 PM (12 years ago)
that is it
China did say 'poor man go steal magi and dem go show am for crime fighters, but those thieving elites are let off the hook for stealing billions'

becos of car stereo dem wan hang the man, too bad
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:16 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyimau20 at 26-01-2012 05:34 PM (12 years ago)
Death by hanging?? for just stealing? i dont believe this..I know that death penalty normally goes with any offence that has to do with termination of life or am i nt getting it right..
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:34 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rayOFsunshine at 26-01-2012 05:39 PM (12 years ago)
me self dey surprised oo
how can?
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:39 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ify0 at 26-01-2012 05:44 PM (12 years ago)
just bcos of an ordnary stealing thats why they want to hang him,nigerians some times makes me sick,they should go and catch those in government stealing  nigeria money.nonsence
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- queenrukky at 26-01-2012 05:47 PM (12 years ago)
i pity the man
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:47 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onlyGodknows at 26-01-2012 05:47 PM (12 years ago)
Why should he harass an unarmed citizen with arm in the first place? This one fit sell naija if im get the opportunity sef
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- imoc at 26-01-2012 05:56 PM (12 years ago)
mr is very bad  eye  dey  see una Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:56 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- AKAEJ at 26-01-2012 05:56 PM (12 years ago)
a thief deserve his punishment no matter how little it was. but you  cant  compere a maggi stealer and dat of billion naira thief so pliz let d punishment be little, As he must receive it 
Posted: at 26-01-2012 05:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- starlove1 at 26-01-2012 06:03 PM (12 years ago)
the justice did not see dose government and hang them is only a Mere Car Stereo, if you cash boko haram to day you will set them free tomorrow. sorry for the guy man R.I.P think well justice
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:03 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Unikly at 26-01-2012 06:07 PM (12 years ago)
I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS!!!!!!!....
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:07 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- loyanki at 26-01-2012 06:09 PM (12 years ago)
An arm robber who carried a gun has always been guilty of a death penalty in Nigeria. It will only be fair if same death penalty is applied to corrupted politicians.....But who's encouraging the corruption? is it not all you Nigerians who adores the politicians as if they are gods,knowing full well that their wealth is stolen and bloody?
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:09 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Courageousman1 at 26-01-2012 06:10 PM (12 years ago)
HOW ON EARTH CAN THIS BE TRUE? I DON'T BELIEVED THIS NEWS,
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:10 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- basati at 26-01-2012 06:12 PM (12 years ago)
We go Talk am 4 dis World and Heaven  Amen.
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:12 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- basati at 26-01-2012 06:14 PM (12 years ago)
We go Talk am 4 dis World and in Heaven. Amen
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:14 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Prinzce at 26-01-2012 06:22 PM (12 years ago)
oh meeehn!
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:22 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- starlove1 at 26-01-2012 06:23 PM (12 years ago)
this Justice have collet money and kill the money. justice, tell us how much the pay you to kill this man
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:23 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- alelove at 26-01-2012 06:34 PM (12 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Shocked
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Hardlongthing at 26-01-2012 06:41 PM (12 years ago)
CHIEF JUDGE WHY IS BANKOLE'S HEAD STILL ON HIS NECK ?
Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:41 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- maryclaret at 26-01-2012 06:43 PM (12 years ago)
Wow..really sad. smh

Posted: at 26-01-2012 06:43 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5