FEAR OF DIVISION? Nigerians move for creation of more states. (Page 3)

Date: 21-02-2012 8:47 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7
- MEND at 22-02-2012 11:46 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Bachelorette on 21-02-2012 08:47 PM
    The National Assembly has received 45 memoranda requesting the creation of new states from the existing 36 states of the federation.

Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, who stated this at a public lecture organised by a group of lawyers of the South East extraction in Lagos on Friday, said the requests were presented to the National Assembly by various groups from different parts of the country.

Speaking on 'Constitution Amendment and State Creation,' Ekweremadu, who is the Chairman of the Senate's Constitution Review Committee, said about 34 of such memoranda were intra-state demands, seven interstate, while four cut across geopolitical zones.

According to him, minority fears, search for equity, speedy development and quest for political empires and influence by the elite are some of the key factors responsible for the proliferation of states and the agitations for more since independence.

He noted that Nigeria would therefore become a federation of 81 states should all the requests be granted.

Raising fundamental questions on the state creation debate, Ekweremadu stated, “Has the creation of more states allayed the fears of minorities and the feelings of marginalisation and domination?

“Has it resulted in good governance and speedier development at state levels than we had before?

“If it is meant to bring governance closer to the people, what then is the essence of the local government areas? Importantly too, is the proliferation of states and even the extant ones viable and self-sustainable?

“Again, at a time the global trend is aggressively moving towards the contraction of the size of government and cost of governance and at a time the nation is already sweating profusely under the yoke of unwieldy size of government at the federal, state, and local levels, can we really sustain the status-quo let alone create new burdens?”

http://odili.net/news/source/2012/feb/19/833.html

Abeg, mek dem split the country mek everybody rest. Boko-Haram republic, Niger-Delta Republic, Biafra republic, Arewa Republic, OPC republic... but wait oohhh. what of Middle belt (Kwara, Kogi, Benue, etc)? On your own...
Posted: at 22-02-2012 11:46 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- DeLord-Sheriff at 22-02-2012 11:48 AM (12 years ago)
d deputy senate president doesn't knw wat he is talkng about...d need 2 create more states is 2 create balance in d system...u cnt hv a region wit 7 states nd hv d rest wit 6 or 5 states...we all depend on oil revenue shared among states hence its necessary 2 create balance in d system by creatng more states...either we hv all d regions wit 6 states a piece or we hv all d regions wit 7 states a piece...dia is gross injustice in d current systsme nd it must be corrected..-..-
Posted: at 22-02-2012 11:48 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- escapedprince at 22-02-2012 12:00 PM (12 years ago)
Either way,only GOD can tell where Nigeria is headed,but personally I would like this country to be divided,
amicably, if possible.!!!
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:00 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MEND at 22-02-2012 12:01 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: escapedprince on 22-02-2012 12:00 PM
Either way,only GOD can tell where Nigeria is headed,but personally I would like this country to be divided,
amicably, if possible.!!!

As if u dey read my mind. Light and darkness nor dey meet 2geda now..... Why Abokis go dey wif human beings 4 one place?
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:01 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- chimexplus at 22-02-2012 12:17 PM (12 years ago)
Creating more states in not Nigerian Problem. All of them knows what the problem is and let them solve the problem.
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:17 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- AngelFumi at 22-02-2012 12:21 PM (12 years ago)
they should do whatever pleases them. God will ask them on d last day how used te mantle of power that was placed on them or that they placed on themselves.
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:21 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 22-02-2012 12:37 PM (12 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:37 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- obawusifemi at 22-02-2012 12:39 PM (12 years ago)
 Hello! Welcome. To Republic of Haram. A pure Islamic State where all Southerners are not Welcome Or wanted. Bombing and killing of Innocent is in line with our Islamic Teaching and faith
We are incharge. In all NORTHERN. States And all. Governors Supports us financially. And provided. Us all help we need for our bombing of SOUTHERN era
Long live the Republic of Haram
May Allah provide us more bombs......
AMEENAAANNNNN
POVERTY/ BACKWARDNESS WILL NEVA DEPART 4RM DEM IJN!!!

Niger Delta leaders empowered der youths bt d foolish Northern Leaders sponsors der youths(SENSELESS ALMAJIRI ANIMALZ) as terrorists like Boko Haram, develops poverty, disease, hates, deceit.....
AGENTS OF DESTRUCTION!!!!
Dis is just d begining IJN
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:39 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- buchiike at 22-02-2012 12:49 PM (12 years ago)
I wish nigeri could brake up i beleive that would put an end to all these problems--
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:49 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Gospelite at 22-02-2012 12:56 PM (12 years ago)
Is long my town is over due to come a state ( OBIARUKU ) in Delta State. Pls go ahead to create State and my wife bco first lady
Posted: at 22-02-2012 12:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 22-02-2012 01:15 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: edobaking on 22-02-2012 12:39 AM
1000 state is not too much, more governor more  chairman and cancelore buisness more politicians to shear the oil money has usual b4 the oil dry up...

bambo boy, don,t you cross-checked the jargons you put down well before you get it clicked?
Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:15 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Gorah at 22-02-2012 01:20 PM (12 years ago)
The idea of creating more states in Nigeria is a welcome idea, and it is what Nigerians are been longing for because the so-called Local Government Areas are not fulfilling their function. Those in the Rural Areas are still suffering from basic social amenities, such as Road, Light, Water etc. But with this creation of New states there will be more development most especially economically, politically you can name it. I personally, am 100 percent in support of the creation of new states in Nigeria. However, if we take a look of what is happening in the northern states of Nigeria, we will notice that the minority Christians are suffering from the Muslim brothers, most especially place like Kaduna State, the only thing that would bring everlasting peace in Kaduna state  is to share that state into two.

SUPPORT THE CREATION OF GURARA STATE in kaduna state.
Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:20 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Commonsense at 22-02-2012 01:24 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: donfred34 on 22-02-2012 02:30 AM
I personally surpport the motion of new state creation in Nigeria. By creating more state, it will improve the rate of development in the country at large. Moreover, the previous states that was created, of which their capital were not properly placed or located, will be corrected.e.g Delta state with their capital at Asaba,the capital of that state its not well placed geographically because a headquarter of a state can´t be placed at an extreem end of the state.

Are u from Sapele or Bomadi?
Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:24 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- covenantu at 22-02-2012 01:24 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: donfred34 on 22-02-2012 02:30 AM
I personally surpport the motion of new state creation in Nigeria. By creating more state, it will improve the rate of development in the country at large. Moreover, the previous states that was created, of which their capital were not properly placed or located, will be corrected.e.g Delta state with their capital at Asaba,the capital of that state its not well placed geographically because a headquarter of a state can´t be placed at an extreem end of the state.

I EVEN NID DEM 2 DIVIDE NAIJA IN2 THREE ie SOUTH SOUTH SHLD B 1, BIAFRA SHLD B 2, NIGERIA SHLD NO 3. B4 WE CAN SEE PEACE WITOUT DT NO WAY
Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:24 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- chicanorose at 22-02-2012 01:30 PM (12 years ago)
Make i hear word jare. Dey shld think of important tinz to do. If dey dnt knw what to do, let dem divide d country

Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sexyBishop at 22-02-2012 01:40 PM (12 years ago)
shear the fuking country i heat that name Nigeria
Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:40 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackman_unite at 22-02-2012 01:52 PM (12 years ago)
creating more states mean looting more from selfish extra governors,so more state or not is not the solution but to bring down this 60yrs puppet regime and create a safe country for our generation.
Posted: at 22-02-2012 01:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 22-02-2012 02:08 PM (12 years ago)
let them divde the country and stop this there political nonsense.
Posted: at 22-02-2012 02:08 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- naturalqueen at 22-02-2012 02:27 PM (12 years ago)
Nigeria Divides ------ To your tents o Israel!!!
Every zone go answer their ancestors name
Posted: at 22-02-2012 02:27 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 22-02-2012 02:31 PM (12 years ago)
it aint about creatin states it bout letting peace reign............................................. we want peace nt states  :'( :'( :'(

Posted: at 22-02-2012 02:31 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7