Pregnant Nigerian-British woman faces Laos death penalty

Date: 04-05-2009 7:26 pm (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 4-05-2009 07:26 PM (14 years ago)
BANGKOK, Thailand (CNN)  -- A pregnant British woman facing possible execution in Laos will go on trial this week, the country's foreign affairs ministry said Monday.
Samantha Orobator became pregnant in prison, according to a spokeswoman for rights group Reprieve.

Samantha Orobator "is facing death by firing squad for drug trafficking," said Clare Algar, executive director of Reprieve, a London-based human rights group.

Orobator, 20, was arrested on August 5, said Khenthong Nuanthasing, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs spokesman.

She was alleged to have been carrying just over half a kilogram (1.1 pounds) of heroin, Reprieve lawyer Anna Morris told CNN by phone from Vientiane, the Laotian capital. "For that amount of heroin the sentence is normally the death penalty," she said.

Orobator's mother Jane found out in January her daughter was pregnant -- more than four months after she was arrested, her mother said.

Jane Orobator heard the news from the British Foreign Office, which has been monitoring the case, the mother told CNN by phone from Dublin, where she lives.

She cannot believe her daughter was involved in drug trafficking, and was surprised to learn she was in Laos, she said.

"I don't know" what she was doing there, she said. "The last time she spoke with me, she said she was on holiday in London and she would come to see us in Dublin before returning to the U.K. in July.

"She is not the type of person who would be involved in drugs," she added.

Reprieve is worried about her health, especially given her pregnancy, Anna Morris said.

"She became pregnant in prison. We are concerned that it may not have been consensual and we are concerned that someone who finds herself in prison at 20 is subject to exploitation," she said.

She is due to give birth in September, the lawyer added.

Reprieve sent Morris from London to Laos to try to help Orobator, Algar said.

The lawyer arrived there on Sunday and is hoping to visit Orobator on Tuesday, her boss at Reprieve said. A British consul has also arrived in the country.

"Reprieve heard about her case two weeks ago. We had thought yesterday the trial was going to start today," Algar said Monday. "We have now heard from Anna that it is not going to."

"I am the first British lawyer who has asked for access to her," Morris said. "She needs to have a local lawyer appointed to her. We are pressing very hard for the local authorities to appoint one."

She said it was normal in the Laotian justice system for a defendant to get a lawyer only days before a trial.

The last execution in Laos was in 1990, the foreign affairs spokesman said.

British Foreign Office Minister Bill Rammell issued a statement about Orobator on Saturday.

"The British Government is opposed to the use of the death penalty in all circumstances. We have made the Laos authorities aware of this at the highest levels in Samantha's case," he said.

"We are paying close attention to her welfare and are in regular contact with the Laotian authorities about her case. British Embassy officials, including the Ambassador, have visited her six times since her arrest," he said.

"In addition, Britain's consular representatives in Laos, the Australian Embassy, including the Australian Embassy doctor, have visited Samantha 10 times on our behalf," he said.

There is no British Embassy in Laos. A British vice-consul arrived in the country this weekend, the Foreign Office said Monday.

Rammell plans to raise the Orobator case with the Laotian deputy prime minister this week, he said.

Samantha Orobator was born in Nigeria and moved to London with her family when she was 8, her mother said.

Source:
http://edition.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/asiapcf/05/04/laos.british.woman.drugs.trial/index.html?iref=mpstoryview

Posted: at 4-05-2009 07:26 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nollylove at 5-05-2009 04:24 AM (14 years ago)
Wow
Posted: at 5-05-2009 04:24 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- solazed at 5-05-2009 07:19 AM (14 years ago)
really pathetic... whether in Lagos or Laos, capital punishment has never been the best way to go,  this surely is going to be one hell of a case....and it's Nigeria's battle as much as Britain's......i pray she isn't killed

Posted: at 5-05-2009 07:19 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Frankogbee at 5-05-2009 10:41 AM (14 years ago)
God that girl phyuked up.... She even fall naija hand for that matter...{imagine 9ja- british}you hav all the opportunity in your hands..Go to school or work.....lie lie...she either  phyuking around or partying.....without even thinking of ur lovely life ahead of you....Ok what is she doing in laos.. Pls all blacks in the UK should try and Think before they Act b-cos they are making things difficult for the innocent blacks..... to get somethin done now in the UK as a black man is very difficult.... Go back home and see what is happening there!!!!!!! people are even going to indian to find a better life.... Naija people make we try they think.....I pray God should hav his way in her life...
Posted: at 5-05-2009 10:41 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 5-05-2009 12:13 PM (14 years ago)
wooww
Posted: at 5-05-2009 12:13 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- black_samurai at 5-05-2009 10:16 PM (14 years ago)
She's lucky, the British Govt. is trying to help her. Left for our Nig Govt, her own don finish! They won't even ask.

Posted: at 5-05-2009 10:16 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- zarma at 5-05-2009 11:12 PM (14 years ago)
 EmbarrassedHow i wish she will be freed, so that she can repent sincerly !

Posted: at 5-05-2009 11:12 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Aarelomo at 6-05-2009 01:15 PM (14 years ago)
This is why i hate United State, United Kingdom, Italy and France..they should legalise this idiot called heroin or what ever...if there is no money on it again people will not carried it as a business..for am example...Cigaratte is legalise and people don't dealt with it as business so the should legalise cocain as well joooooo simple arithmetic
Posted: at 6-05-2009 01:15 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Agatex at 6-05-2009 01:38 PM (14 years ago)
may God help her. See how naija name take de spoil, how Dora go use rebrand this one now?
Posted: at 6-05-2009 01:38 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chariontime at 6-05-2009 03:38 PM (14 years ago)
thats touching.......... she's just too young to go through all that. just hope something will be done so she can go take care of herself and baby.
Posted: at 6-05-2009 03:38 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- cutie-girl at 6-05-2009 03:58 PM (14 years ago)
oh! i pray 4 that almighty God will give her a chance to get her life back.
Posted: at 6-05-2009 03:58 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dawarriors at 7-05-2009 07:40 AM (14 years ago)
God what is happening to the blacks? why do we allow dis thing called devil to manipulate & jeopardise our dreams? hen?, well... i pray God will deliver her. lol!
Posted: at 7-05-2009 07:40 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- waco at 7-05-2009 08:17 AM (14 years ago)
My own be say who give am belle for prison. well may God deliver her

Posted: at 7-05-2009 08:17 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- prettybaroness at 7-05-2009 09:11 AM (14 years ago)
We should all be concious of our activities to avoid this type of problems. Change and repentance is the key word.
Posted: at 7-05-2009 09:11 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- erinle70 at 7-05-2009 01:20 PM (14 years ago)
May God deliver her from dis problem.Thank God she has britiko citizen,if she was to be a nigerian 100%,she for rotten for there,but i trust the UK,they will do all to set her free or have some years in jail.Nigeria is no country.We have many innocent nigerians in jail here in abroad,bt nigerian government never help any of them.God bless the UK.
Posted: at 7-05-2009 01:20 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 7-05-2009 02:16 PM (14 years ago)
I agree wit u in some, but I disagree with u where u said Nigeria is not a country. Nigeria is blessed country for that matter
Posted: at 7-05-2009 02:16 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- erinle70 at 7-05-2009 04:28 PM (14 years ago)
Laos arrest Briton could serve term in UK
2 hours 41 mins ago

Print Story A pregnant Briton may serve her sentence in the UK is she is found guilty of drug smuggling in Laos. Skip related content
Related photos / videos Laos arrest Briton could serve term in UK Samantha Orobator, of south London, has been held in jail in the country since last August after she was allegedly caught with 1.5lb (680g) of heroin at Wattay airport.

Foreign Secretary David Miliband has signed a prisoner transfer agreement with the Laos government and discussed the case with Laos' deputy prime minister Thongloun Sisoulith at a meeting in London.

Foreign Office minister Bill Rammell said: "I pressed our concerns on behalf of Samantha with the deputy prime minister. He said the Lao authorities understood the need for Samantha to receive good medical and nutritional care.

"I was encouraged that Samantha has now been provided with a local lawyer, who is working with the UK barrister from Reprieve.

"Dr Sisoulith also assured me that a pregnant woman would not receive a death sentence. I would like to thank the Lao authorities for this commitment and reiterate that we oppose the death penalty in all cases."

He added: "The deputy prime minister told me that the Lao government would consider Samantha eligible for transfer to the UK to serve out any sentence once the prisoner transfer agreement comes into effect.

"We will continue to pay close attention to this case as it comes to trial."

On Wednesday, the Lao government denied that Orobator was raped in prison even though she is five months pregnant and has been held at the notorious Phonthong jail in Laos since last August.

Lao official Khenthong Nuanthasing said: "It's impossible because the prison in Phonthong is specially created for women prisoners. Even the guards are all ladies."

Asked how Miss Orobator had become pregnant, he added: "We should know at a later stage. I want to know too."
Posted: at 7-05-2009 04:28 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 7-05-2009 04:57 PM (14 years ago)
i hear u
Posted: at 7-05-2009 04:57 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackvibes at 7-05-2009 11:12 PM (14 years ago)
[/size]it is a pity dat naija is going dis way, God our father come n deliver us, send naija personnal Jesus to come help us, no bi say europe even better pass bi4 not to talk of lao, na bad government dey carry us dey go, but dat small girl wetin concern am concern drugs, make them let am born di pikin n carry her cross but death sentence no be d best. come to talk of it, who come give am d belle, abi dem don manifacture medicine way dey give belle or na angel go vist her
Posted: at 7-05-2009 11:12 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 8-05-2009 09:18 AM (14 years ago)
amenoooo
Posted: at 8-05-2009 09:18 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac