...Jonathan: Why I didn’t attend, the debate...

Date: 19-03-2011 9:58 am (13 years ago) | Author: Bashir Emmanuel Terhile
- at 19-03-2011 09:58 AM (13 years ago)
President Goodluck Jonathan

The camp of President Goodluck Jonathan has explained why he was unable to attend the presidential debate organised in Abuja last night by a Lagos-based cable news station, NN24.

In a release signed by Ide Eguabor for the Director of Media , the campaign organisation said the President was unable to attend the debate because of his busy schedule. It added that such debate was best organised by the Nigerian Election Debate Organisation (NEDG), which has been doing that since 1999.

It said the President was willing to attend the debate if organised by NEDG.

It said further: "A presidential debate to be organised by the management of NN24, a subscriber to Multichoice’s DSTV cable, is deliberately being heated up by those who now see what the President will do or not do as an opportunity for political capital.

"The truth of the matter is that several applications from various groups, including that of NN24, has reached the Jonathan/Sambo Campaign Organisation seeking to organise the presidential debate preparatory to the April general election.

"The campaign organisation sent its officials to sit as observers at some of the meetings called to deliberate on modalities.

"However, after a thorough examination of the reports of its observers to these meetings, a collective decision was taken to retain the body that had organised presidential debates since 1999 and has performed creditably well and so, saw no need to discard the platform and template for another.

Posted: at 19-03-2011 09:58 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 19-03-2011 11:23 AM (13 years ago)
So when is the debate coming up na?.........I want to watch you guys tell me what you have got to offer this country............Jonathan, you arent afraid, right?.........Jonathan of old (Saul's son) was a warrior, I hope you are one too........

Posted: at 19-03-2011 11:23 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 05:00 PM (13 years ago)
medicine after the death
Posted: at 19-03-2011 05:00 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- kebella at 19-03-2011 05:03 PM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 19-03-2011 05:03 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 06:02 PM (13 years ago)
its never so ok
Posted: at 19-03-2011 06:02 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- deboalabi262 at 19-03-2011 06:44 PM (13 years ago)
It was a shame that GEJ was absent on the show. In my opinion, he is afraid to debate with the other contestants. May be he has other agenda for the election.... Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 19-03-2011 06:44 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 06:55 PM (13 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 19-03-2011 06:55 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Ajento at 19-03-2011 07:14 PM (13 years ago)
"It said the President was willing to attend the debate if organised by NEDG".

If I may ask, why then is NEDG delaying to organise a debate he will like to attend. I definitely like to see him go out and defend his intentions for Nigeria.

Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- farsam400 at 19-03-2011 07:16 PM (13 years ago)
Intelligent people don't join the bang wagon blindly
Is there any real sense in this debate, organisers must
know that it's a way to waste money. Why must Nigeria
copy what other countries are doing. They are schools,
hospitals, roads,aircraft etc to aquire and maintain.
These are the thing that matter to Nigerians now
Thank goodness the president did not attain
Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:16 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 07:27 PM (13 years ago)
you are very wrong , he cannot be so inteligents much more than any of those that attended the date , and if you think or he himself think its not so , let him come out and face the challenges , the real inteligent man think much on what he will offer to the peoples or the society and not what the society will offered to him, so if you are deseiving your self , you cannot deceived us
Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:27 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 07:28 PM (13 years ago)
you are very wrong , he cannot be so inteligents much more than any of those that attended the date , and if you think or he himself think its not so , let him come out and face the challenges , the real inteligent man think much on what he will offer to the peoples or the society and not what the society will offered to him, so if you are deseiving your self , you cannot deceived us
Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:28 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- kebella at 19-03-2011 07:31 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmm

Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:31 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 19-03-2011 07:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: farsam400 on 19-03-2011 07:16 PM

well spoken!! Cool

Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:32 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 19-03-2011 07:34 PM (13 years ago)
but not supported
Posted: at 19-03-2011 07:34 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- mary123 at 21-03-2011 11:32 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: farsam400 on 19-03-2011 07:16 PM
pls did yu read the contient very well..... he should be ashame of himself ,then if yu call  it a waste How much is the cost of this food a day , kitchen and the rest of it... Who are the bang wagons? I thing yu should be saying this  to those that are around mr president who for years cannot maintain nigeria airways cannot be proud of one good road in the country, Like father like son obasanjo ran away from it too. does it save anything for nigerians, leadership is all about telling poeple what yu have for them and the same time sand by it  Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 21-03-2011 11:32 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mary123 at 21-03-2011 11:42 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 19-03-2011 07:28 PM
well said... he is not more then them... if mr president thinks he is more then them he should have come out and show it to the world.... i dont think he should have taking this type of advice from PDP poeple Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 21-03-2011 11:42 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pholake at 21-03-2011 11:57 AM (13 years ago)
What has past debates translated into? I'll repeat, we need action not talks.....enough talks abeg
Posted: at 21-03-2011 11:57 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 21-03-2011 11:58 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pholake on 21-03-2011 11:57 AM
What has past debates translated into? I'll repeat, we need action not talks.....enough talks abeg

have
Posted: at 21-03-2011 11:58 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tunexman11 at 21-03-2011 02:09 PM (13 years ago)
I think NN24 should have thought of making Past Questions and Answers, maybe the president would have thought of attending...u no want make dem fall our president hand for the debate, abi?
Posted: at 21-03-2011 02:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- pholake at 21-03-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tunexman11 on 21-03-2011 02:09 PM
I think NN24 should have thought of making Past Questions and Answers, maybe the president would have thought of attending...u no want make dem fall our president hand for the debate, abi?

haba! our GEJ is not this dumb now......
Posted: at 21-03-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac