3 Nigerians arrested in Malaysia may face death penalty for drug offenses

Date: 29-03-2012 9:09 am (12 years ago) | Author: Rasta Bien
- at 29-03-2012 09:09 AM (12 years ago)
3 Nigerians arrested in Malaysia may face death penalty for drug offenses
 By Wasiu Sodeinde
Not less than three Nigerians men have been arrested this month alone at Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Sepang in Malaysia for allegedly attempting to smuggle about 9.6 kilogram of a drug known as Syabu into the country.

Photo 1: Osonwa Okey (R) Roberts was sentenced to death last year in China

According to a report monitored from the Malaysian National News Agency, the arrested Nigerians whose ages range between 25 and 37 arrived Malaysia via Doha, Qatar were alleged to have transported the 9.6 Kilograms of syabu, estimated to worth RM2.4 million, (about $798,828.385.) in street value.
 http://africanoutlookonline.com/images/Osonwa_Okey%20Noberts.jpg
http://africanoutlookonline.com/images/David%20_Ete.jpg

The first suspect was allegedly detained on June 3 after authorities found 18 food packets containing 3.7 kg of syabu in a bag he was carrying while the second suspect, who was carrying a bag with 19 food packets containing 3.9 of syabu was detained on June 5. Selangor police chief, Datuk Tun Hamzah told journalist on Tuesday.

The police chief revealed that the third Nigerian suspect was detained at 3.45 PM local time on Monday after police found he was carrying two kilograms of syabu which was packed in soap boxes.

Having possession and trafficking of syabu is illegal in Malaysia under the Dangerous Drugs Act of 1952.

Possession of just about 61.8g (3 tablespoons) of syabu can result to being sentenced to 15 years jail and 10 strokes of the rotan while a trafficker could be sentenced to death by hanging.

Syabu (also called "ice", "speed", "crystal", "glass", "meth" or "blue diamond" on the streets) is the colloquial name for the psycho-stimulant drug called Amphetamine.

Experts say Amphetamine is known to increase energy and attention while decreasing appetite and fatigue.

Amphetamines became popular during World War II and the Vietnam War. It was widely used as stimulants to keep the soldiers fighting, increasing their alertness and energy while going on without sleep and much food.

Experts say the drug is known to give soldiers false confidence, make them bold, daring and feel invincible.

Amphetamine is related to drugs such as methamphetamine and dextroamphetamine.

Long term use of of syabu experts say can cause brain damage, depression and other psychosomatic illnesses.

African Outlook investigation however shows that about 18 Nigerians have been sentenced to death for drug related offenses while several others are awaiting trials in some Asian countries notorious for imposing death penalty for drug related offenses.

In April, a Vietnamese City People's Court sentenced a Nigerian to death and four others from 15 to 20 years in jail for operating a trans-border drug trafficking ring.

The court found Nnaji David Ete, 33, a Nigerian guilty for allegedly  leading a drug trafficking ring, which included his wife, a local man and four other Nigerians.

His wife, Phan Thi Thanh Le, 31, from southern Binh Duong Province and Doan Nguyen Minh Chau, 32, were sentenced to life imprisonment on the same charge.
Nnaji David Ete, a Nigerian was sentenced to death in Vietnam last April

The other four Nigerians: Chukwuma Obi Remy, 41, Okapor Peter Chuma, 36, Nnamdi Aghaji, 33, Regina Whing Wiri, 32 got 15 to 20 years in prison.

In 2010, a Ngerian, Osonwa Okey Roberts was sentenced to death in China. The Nigerian received the death penalty in Dongguan, Guangdong province, after being convicted of drug trafficking.

Osonwa 37, was found trading nearly 6 kg drugs to Chinese drug dealers at his rented apartment in Baiyun district of Guangzhou from February to April 2008, according to the investigation.

His sentence was handed down from the Guangdong Higher People's Court. The execution still needs the review and final approval of the Supreme People's Court.

Zhang Dongxiang, the 27-year-old Chinese girlfriend of Osonwa, received a death sentence with a two-year reprieve for assisting the illegal trade.

There are several other Nigerians who have also been sentenced to death in some of the Asian countries. The Nigerians include Kingsley Okonkwo, Michael Titus Igwe (Real name-Izuchukwu F. Ezimoha), Uchenna Cajethan Onyenworo, Ekperedike S. Olekama, Adam Wilson (real name-Emmanuel Okari) and Hillary K. Chimezie.

Others are: Eugene Ape, Humphery Ejike, Okwudili Ayotaeze, Obinna Nwajiagu, Daniel Enemuo and Fredrick Lutter (Real name-Benjamin Obiora)
Also on the list are: Sylvester Nwaolisa, Gabriel Nnadi, Dennis Anumona, Ikenna Ezenwune, Stephen Rashid, Joseph Ndaba, Ken Michael and Obinna George among others whose identity could not be established owing to multiple passports they are holding.

African Outlook have obtained graphic videos of caning and execution of drug suspects in Malaysia and Vietnam respectively.

Caution: These videos contain graphic materials and contents that are for adults only!!

Posted: at 29-03-2012 09:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 30-05-2012 09:34 AM (11 years ago)
Seriously this drug news don tire me...........ppl will never learn , this is not the way to make money
rather it will cost you your happiness , bless you with pain and sorrow and eventually cost you your life,
so why not make money in a genuine way and let God bless you with it...............................................
beware and dont be greedy for money

Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:34 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 30-05-2012 09:36 AM (11 years ago)
Seriously this drug news don tire me...........ppl will never learn , this is not the way to make money
rather it will cost you your happiness , bless you with pain and sorrow and eventually cost you your life,
so why not make money in a genuine way and let God bless you with it...............................................

Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:36 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 2-06-2012 12:19 AM (11 years ago)
 Sad
Posted: at 2-06-2012 12:19 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 03:50 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 30-07-2012 03:50 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 30-07-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Solidstonez on 30-05-2012 09:36 AM
TRUD TALK
Posted: at 30-07-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 30-07-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on 30-07-2012 04:15 PM
TRUE TALK
Posted: at 30-07-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 30-07-2012 04:19 PM (11 years ago)
Death penalty is too harsh for a drug offense. Or is it becuz they're black
Posted: at 30-07-2012 04:19 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 30-07-2012 04:20 PM (11 years ago)
I dunno
Posted: at 30-07-2012 04:20 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jessymic at 30-07-2012 04:43 PM (11 years ago)
its obvious that most Nigerians dont learn from what happened to others. they signed the death sentence on themselves
Posted: at 30-07-2012 04:43 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 30-07-2012 11:06 PM (11 years ago)
Such is life

Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:06 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- spekay at 31-07-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago)
Just when we thought this problem is dying down . .  now look !

Posted: at 31-07-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 31-07-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago)
NAWAHO

Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fuck_Muslims at 31-07-2012 04:44 PM (11 years ago)
every now and den, na arrest.......naija una too much ooo, coffee way i dey drink just comot from my nyash as i read this gist so
Posted: at 31-07-2012 04:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- C_Johnson at 17-08-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on 30-07-2012 04:19 PM
Death penalty is too harsh for a drug offense. Or is it becuz they're black

Bcoz they are black. In every country when blacks trafficer get caught they will put them in jail and hang them. But when local or any white trafficer get caught they will put them in 5 star hotel, with a nice good food and a few ashawo dnt u knw that?
Posted: at 17-08-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 18-08-2012 06:42 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: C_Johnson on 17-08-2012 11:47 PM
Bcoz they are black. In every country when blacks trafficer get caught they will put them in jail and hang them. But when local or any white trafficer get caught they will put them in 5 star hotel, with a nice good food and a few ashawo dnt u knw that?
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy I know blacks are treated more harsher than other races, but they don't give death penalty for anyone here in US. or some other countries You just get sentenced a couple years in prison. It's not like you killed a a whole village.
Posted: at 18-08-2012 06:42 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 18-08-2012 06:52 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: C_Johnson on 17-08-2012 11:47 PM
That's why I wondered why Nigerians go to Malaysia of all places even if it's easy to "transit drugs and scam" knowing that they'll be risking their lives of the DEATH PENALTY if they get caught. And dealing with the annoying authorities who always ask for passport. Unlike other countries if you get caught you'll only get couple years in jail like between 5-20
Posted: at 18-08-2012 06:52 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- C_Johnson at 18-08-2012 06:59 AM (11 years ago)
Depends on the case. If u get caught with a drug as big or as heavy as ur nose shit prison it is. But if they caught u with drug tripple ur balls size hang. Even in US it is like dat. This is world wide.

Plz find fach honey b4 u comment.
Posted: at 18-08-2012 06:59 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oyinminijoor at 18-08-2012 07:06 AM (11 years ago)
Okay nah.good for them
Posted: at 18-08-2012 07:06 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- C_Johnson at 18-08-2012 07:15 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on 18-08-2012 06:52 AM
That's why I wondered why Nigerians go to Malaysia of all places even if it's easy to "transit drugs and scam" knowing that they'll be risking their lives of the DEATH PENALTY if they get caught. And dealing with the annoying authorities who always ask for passport. Unlike other countries if you get caught you'll only get couple years in jail like between 5-20

And I believe u in other country, legal, not dealing with drugs or scaming.
Posted: at 18-08-2012 07:15 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu