Church Doctrines and Marriages

Date: 03-09-2010 5:17 pm (13 years ago) | Author: charles omans
- at 3-09-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago)
Pals, why is that some churches have strong doctrine.

A friend of mine wanted to marry a girl from the roman catholic church. Unfortunately, the Rev father of the parish say that before  that guy will marry  the girl, he must come to catholic meaning become a member of catholic church. if not he will not conduct the marriage. as for the she is a strong catholic member of that parish.

But this guy did not like catholic but he like the girl so much.

AS MY PALS
what did you want the guy to do? 
am waiting

Posted: at 3-09-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- oyindabty at 3-09-2010 05:21 PM (13 years ago)
okay
Posted: at 3-09-2010 05:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seunfunmionline at 3-09-2010 05:50 PM (13 years ago)
Tell your guy to ask his girl-friend to choose between your friend and her catholic doctrines & father. Jesus came to abolish the traditions but unfortunate event is that Churches are today in the name of discipling causing more confusion in the body of Christ
Posted: at 3-09-2010 05:50 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- irule at 3-09-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago)
reading

Posted: at 3-09-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- qunodinga at 3-09-2010 06:58 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: seunfunmionline on  3-09-2010 05:50 PM
Tell your guy to ask his girl-friend to choose between your friend and her catholic doctrines & father. Jesus came to abolish the traditions but unfortunate event is that Churches are today in the name of discipling causing more confusion in the body of Christ

SIMPLE AS A, B, C Roll Eyes
Posted: at 3-09-2010 06:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 3-09-2010 07:37 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: omans on  3-09-2010 05:17 PM

A friend of mine wanted to marry a girl from the roman catholic church. Unfortunately, the Rev father of the parish say that before  that guy will marry  the girl, he must come to catholic meaning become a member of catholic church. if not he will not conduct the marriage. as for the she is a strong catholic member of that parish.

AS MY PALS
am waiting

Well,if he really wants to marry her,there's no other choice, but he converting to Catholicism.

Posted: at 3-09-2010 07:37 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- oyindabty at 8-09-2010 04:40 PM (13 years ago)
BS that's wrong accordin to our culture here in naija, a woman does not hav her own church untill she is married and unless her husband is not a xtian that is when she can continue in her own church but if he is then after wedding she belongs to the man and everytin that has to do with him. and also it depend on his choice whether to convert or not you don't force somebody to do wht he/she does not want to do by force wht if it backfire in future? they will now start calling you name that you force them into it.
Posted: at 8-09-2010 04:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blessedme at 8-09-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago)
He is d man here, a man marries a girl from her church to his church
if it the other way round, then somfing is definitely wrong somewhere
Posted: at 8-09-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 8-09-2010 04:52 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyindabty on  8-09-2010 04:40 PM
BS that's wrong accordin to our culture here in naija, a woman does not hav her own church untill she is married and unless her husband is not a xtian that is when she can continue in her own church but if he is then after wedding she belongs to the man and everytin that has to do with him. and also it depend on his choice whether to convert or not you don't force somebody to do wht he/she does not want to do by force wht if it backfire in future? they will now start calling you name that you force them into it.

Not by force, only if he wants to!
It's a delicate topic here,because are many ppl who wouldn't change their religion, no matter what!
And if it happens to start feeling something for someone who is from another religion than u,I think that
the cards should be put on the table and ask directly some things about religion changing, and if both of them are
convinced in their beliefs, then I think that that relationship should be reconsidered seriously!

Posted: at 8-09-2010 04:52 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Agatex at 8-09-2010 04:55 PM (13 years ago)
i ve never heard of that b4 dat d man should convert to catholic first, men that is a lie i am a catholic and no Rev. Fr. will say that unless if the girl is trying to convert the guy to catholic by telling lies against the Rev fr., he can wed her in catholic and still go back to his church, that is never part of the church doctrine, so stop saying what you are not sure of there is a lie or a prank somewhere your friend should make inquiry for himself.
Posted: at 8-09-2010 04:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 8-09-2010 04:56 PM (13 years ago)
i dey come

Posted: at 8-09-2010 04:56 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- xter at 8-09-2010 04:59 PM (13 years ago)
Maybe d father wan make d gal become nun

Posted: at 8-09-2010 04:59 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- oyindabty at 8-09-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Agatex on  8-09-2010 04:55 PM
i ve never heard of that b4 dat d man should convert to catholic first, men that is a lie i am a catholic and no Rev. Fr. will say that unless if the girl is trying to convert the guy to catholic by telling lies against the Rev fr., he can wed her in catholic and still go back to his church, that is never part of the church doctrine, so stop saying what you are not sure of there is a lie or a prank somewhere your friend should make inquiry for himself.

yes i agree with you. the man can only give the girl and her family that respect by weddin her in her church and after then she belongs to where the man go for worship as a xtian unless the man does not hav his own church where he attends.becso  hav not heard abt any church doctrine that say becos ur are a pastor, rev, sista,evangelist or church mother that who ever that want to marry you must be converted to your church.
Posted: at 8-09-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 8-09-2010 05:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyindabty on  8-09-2010 05:03 PM

yes i agree with you. the man can only give the girl and her family that respect by weddin her in her church and after then she belongs to where the man go for worship as a xtian unless the man does not hav his own church where he attends.becso  hav not heard abt any church doctrine that say becos ur are a pastor, rev, sista,evangelist or church mother that who ever that want to marry you must be converted to your church.

No,dear!There exists!
For example in my religion, I'm an orthodox, and if a girl wants to marry a muslim,the priest will not marry them,
unless the guy becomes an orthodox first.

Posted: at 8-09-2010 05:07 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dirtykid at 8-09-2010 05:31 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: omans on  3-09-2010 05:17 PM

AS MY PALS
am waiting

Thats sounds so funny to hear .. but i know this is happening some places. Crazy world  Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 8-09-2010 05:31 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ceejay58 at 9-09-2010 12:12 AM (13 years ago)
stupidity of the highest order....  na she be the only girl left on this planet?

tell ur friend to give that girl an ultimatum... is either she follow him now or she should go and marry her her so-called Rev, father.

NONSENSE.
Posted: at 9-09-2010 12:12 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Michro at 9-09-2010 12:20 AM (13 years ago)
To hell with the rev. father

Posted: at 9-09-2010 12:20 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- peaceben at 10-09-2010 04:37 PM (13 years ago)
it all depend on your guy and the gal.
Posted: at 10-09-2010 04:37 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onchedu at 10-09-2010 05:04 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: seunfunmionline on  3-09-2010 05:50 PM

Well said.
Posted: at 10-09-2010 05:04 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mykie at 13-09-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago)

Agatex, these things happen depending on the religious inclination of the girl's parents. Catholic parents, especially the Knights, are so very guilty of such act. I have countless experiences from friends. Do u know how many times u have to attend a church & all the teachings b4 u get confirmed first?? Then the marriage classes. For some of the Knights, they will make it clear to you, to either leave that guy or convert him to catholic or they won't be part of it. Though, personally, I think this happens to vulnerable guys.

My position to the subject: It surprises me why we tend to confuse religion with culture & tradition (doctrine). A lot of the times, u see guys that hardly go to church (they probably play soccer on Sunday mornings or suffer from perpetual hang over from Saturday nights-out) make so much case about which church they wed at. Most of the times, they are simply family churches. After the marriage, u may hardly see them in those churches except on Xmas days, weddings or funeral services. For such people, I used to wonder their reasons in making so much fuss out of their church of marriage. Loved ones should be able to make some sacrifices. Ur wife is not a slave or maid but a help-MATE!!. Please guys accord our wives some respect & right to choice. I married my wife in my church but we attend her church up until now. We are serving the same God unless you think/feel otherwise.

Poster, tell ur friend to do what works for them. The love they share & the institution of marriage are way bigger than the choice of location for ceremonies (church). To live together requires a lot of GIVE-AND-TAKE
Posted: at 13-09-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie

1. These Throwback Photos Of Singer Tems 9-5 Era Has Got People Talking

2. Lady Who Boarded A Flight Sees Her Luggage Left Behind As Plane Was Set To Take Off

3. Cassie Breaks Silence After Video Of Ex Lover, Rapper Diddy Assaulting Her In A Hotel Emerged

4. Angela Okorie Throws Shade At Actresses Sleeping With Married Men

5. Death Toll Rises To 18 As Ganduje Moves To Rebuild Kano Burnt Mosque

6. ‘I Did Not Announce A Ban On Smoking And Ritual Scenes In Movies’ – NFVCB DG, Husseini Debunks

7. Gospel Singer, Victor Thompson Recounts Selling Weed, Alcohol To Sex Workers

8. Singer, Tems Reveals How Illness, Surgery Delayed Her Debut Album

9. Five Persons Dead, 3 Injured As Two Vehicles Collide In Kogi

10. BREAKING: Benue Community Currently Under Herdsmen Attack

11. Netizens Stunned With Exceptional Sports Commentary Skills Of Secondary School Students (Video)

12. Police Arrests Two Suspects For Drug Peddling In Borno

1. South African Forex Trader AkA Grootman Allegedly Leaks His Ex-fiancée's S3x Tape

2. Controversial YouTuber Emdee Tiamiyu Reportedly Deported to Nigeria By UK Government

3. Nigerians React to Wizkid’s New Look

4. VIDEO: Veteran Nollywood Actor, Zack Orji Reveals His Real Identity, Says He Is From Gabon

5. Emeka Ike's Children With Ex Wife Have Reportedly Dropped Out of School & Doing Menial Jobs

6. Hilda Baci Shows Off Her Boyfriend (Photos)

7. The Only Chance Peter Obi Has To Be President is In 2039, When He's 79 years Old – Daniel Bwala

8. IS THIS A PRANK? Kenyan Man Commits Suicide After Arsenal Lost EPL Title To Man City

9. Rest Well! Nigerian Singer, Flavour Loses Father To The Cold Hand Of Death

10. Nigerian Lawyer Advises Women To Taste Men's Organ Before Going Into Marriage With Any Man