Rubin Kazan striker Obafemi Martins has insisted that he has never encountered any racism in Russia since his transfer in the summer of 2010.
Players such as Christopher Samba, Lacina Traore and Roberto Carlos all had negative experiences after moving to the country, but the striker has stressed there’s no more racism than anywhere else.
“I haven’t experienced racism. I think racism is everywhere but when you talk about Russia I don’t think it is everywhere. Nobody has come to attack me. Unlike in England, we go everywhere we want, there’s no racism but it’s still quite difficult there for us black men,” Martins said to Goal.com.
“The only thing that happened is that my friend went to a shopping mall with my brother and some people tried to fight them. They didn’t really understand what those people said to them.
“So when they got home they told me about it, and I told them they should stay home. I know it is difficult but we need to be free wherever we go.” The attacker then went on to discuss the current situation at Inter, where he played from 2001 until 2006.
The Nerazzurri are slowly getting back on their feet under caretaker boss Andrea Stramaccioni after a difficult season, and Martins believes the young coach is the right man for the job.
“He’s a young man. I think Inter need exactly a type of manager like that, someone with a different style of play. At Inter there are big names, so they need a young coach who is going to help the young ones as well. I think he can do it very well.”
Posted: at 10-05-2012 10:51 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
Emmagency9 at 10-05-2012 01:50 PM (12 years ago) (m)
Good to hear ObaGoal
If you don't like me, 1. Take a map, 2. Get a car (even if na borrow), 3. Drive to HELL!. Have a nice trip. ✔
Posted: at 10-05-2012 01:50 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
fuckinjoe2 at 10-05-2012 11:39 PM (12 years ago) (m)
Russia is the most racist country in Europe........you said you've not experienced one, i bet before your contract expires, you will experience dozens of racial remarks and attacks...
phyuk all haters.........i still remain who i am.
Posted: at 10-05-2012 11:39 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
aso4life1 at 10-05-2012 11:56 PM (12 years ago) (m)
he be like say dem don give u woman,no worry ,u go soon hear am, make you ask OSAZE wey look like them small say wetin the Russians called him before he go England or CHRIS SAMBA wey just come Russia
if u attack my papa house, I'll retaliate but if you are peace loving,I will embrace you
Posted: at 10-05-2012 11:56 PM (12 years ago) | Hero