Ten Ways On How To Impress Your In-laws

Date: 12-05-2012 4:57 am (12 years ago) | Author: psalmmy
- at 12-05-2012 04:57 AM (12 years ago)
1. Dress to impress (and wash up, too)

Guys, this means no torn jeans, concert T-shirts, or leather jackets. Ladies, no revealing snakeskin miniskirts, sloppy sweat pants, or killer spike heels. This is not the time to wow them with your cutting-edge fashion sense. Clean your hair, your ears, and under your fingernails; clip those cuticles; and brush your teeth. In short, go conservative this time: Looks count.

2. Do your homework

Don’t even think about tackling this meeting before you get the 411 on your in-laws. Does Dad hate smoking and wimpy handshakes? (Leave the cigs in the car and start strengthening your grip on a squooshy stress ball.) Is Mom a Broadway musical fan? (Brush up on your Andrew Lloyd Weber.) Ask questions about their pet peeves, passions, and complaints about exes.

3. Kowtow to culture

Engaged to someone from a different culture? At this first meeting, it’s imperative that you do everything you can to show respect for your honey’s heritage. Learn as much as you can about that culture, especially greetings (should you shake their hands, bow, or kiss them on the cheek?), and ask your partner to teach you how to say niceties — “pleasure to meet you” and “how are you” — in your future in-laws’ native language. Commit the pronunciation of key words and dishes to memory.

4. Be polite

This means using “yes” (not “yeah” or “yup”), “please,” and “thank you.” Lots of them. Suppress burps (and other bodily releases) and don’t block the driveway with your car. Men, put the seat down. See if there’s anything you can do to assist in the kitchen; help clear and clean the dishes and you’re golden. Remember that little acts of consideration will loom large in their memories.

5. Address the name issue

Don’t make the mistake of addressing in-laws too informally or by a name that they haven’t OK’d. This is especially true in other cultures, where calling parents by their first name can be a sign of disrespect. The best solution is to simply ask how they would like to be addressedMom, Dad, Bob, Carol, Mr. or Mrs. Blank. Address this issue right away — there are few things that can cause a tighter grimace than a mispronounced or unwelcome name.

6. Come bearing gifts

Bringing a hostess gift is common courtesy in most circles; when you’re going to dinner at your future in-laws’ house, it’s a non-negotiable. This is where your research comes in handy: A bottle of good wine is a great gift — unless the father is a recovering alcoholic. Be creative or crafty and remember that anything homemade scores points.

7. Project interest

People instinctively like people more if they like them back. Your mission: Be — or at least act — alert, attentive, and interested. How? Body language. Look your future in-law in the eye, lean forward, and nod at the appropriate times. Don’t look around the room when someone is speaking to you, tap your foot, look at your watch, or sit with your legs hanging open.

8. Avoid sticky subjects

This is a no-brainer, but we are morally obliged to say it: Don’t start or be goaded into conversations about controversial topics such as politics, religion, or sports (if you root for opposing teams). They may be testing you — don’t commit if you don’t know where they stand on issues close to the heart. Dirty jokes, your own family laundry, and personal 10-step programs are also off-limits.

9. Be nice

To the yippy family dog, bratty little brothers, neighbors, maids, waiters, valets, and whomever else you encounter during your time together. It’s important to remember that how you act towards other people even pets, who are often like family members to their owners — is one of the clues to what you’re really like “off camera.”

10. Don’t fake it
In addition to — and despite — the previously mentioned pleasantries, be yourself; don’t try to be who you think they want you to be (parents can smell a brownnoser a mile away). Assert your personality in small doses — at safe junctures — and sit up straight; some parents will want to test that you actually have a backbone.

Last but not least? Breathe. Try to relax, and remember that everyone there is going through a transition — each of you is gaining new family members; they’re also “losing” a child — and proceed with care.

Posted: at 12-05-2012 04:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ngeboju at 12-05-2012 05:53 AM (12 years ago)
great job. infometo
Posted: at 12-05-2012 05:53 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Naijaneedfood at 12-05-2012 06:57 AM (12 years ago)
OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH GOOD HAPPY FAMILY Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 12-05-2012 06:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 12-05-2012 07:17 AM (12 years ago)
next page pls
Posted: at 12-05-2012 07:17 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- frank_f at 12-05-2012 07:39 AM (12 years ago)
If they can not be impressed that i marry there daughter let them go to hell...
Posted: at 12-05-2012 07:39 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- 1daful at 12-05-2012 08:05 AM (12 years ago)
Person don hate you b4?

Posted: at 12-05-2012 08:05 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olaspet at 12-05-2012 08:07 AM (12 years ago)
This is cool!

Posted: at 12-05-2012 08:07 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Benea at 12-05-2012 08:08 AM (12 years ago)
Good work, you say it all....
Posted: at 12-05-2012 08:08 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ussydamsy at 12-05-2012 08:50 AM (12 years ago)
u try Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 12-05-2012 08:50 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 12-05-2012 10:14 AM (12 years ago)
Nice one

Posted: at 12-05-2012 10:14 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- babydesire at 12-05-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 12-05-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sportyzander at 12-05-2012 01:13 PM (12 years ago)
am still single
Posted: at 12-05-2012 01:13 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 12-05-2012 01:57 PM (12 years ago)
its cool
Posted: at 12-05-2012 01:57 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- joasnoble at 12-05-2012 03:29 PM (12 years ago)
dats 9c,keep it up...
Posted: at 12-05-2012 03:29 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 12-05-2012 03:52 PM (12 years ago)
Marriage ke!!
Posted: at 12-05-2012 03:52 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 12-05-2012 06:30 PM (12 years ago)
chei inlaw wahala

Posted: at 12-05-2012 06:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 12-05-2012 08:52 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 12-05-2012 08:52 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- paul4daddykalu at 13-05-2012 05:32 AM (12 years ago)
Yes! Ten Ways On How To Impress GOOD In-laws
Posted: at 13-05-2012 05:32 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 14-05-2012 11:32 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: frank_f on 12-05-2012 07:39 AM
If they can not be impressed that i marry there daughter let them go to hell...

No be wife u dey find then, u sef go sidon
Posted: at 14-05-2012 11:32 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Bettygirls at 14-05-2012 05:10 PM (12 years ago)
 Dejiroony this is cool, i c it worked well for u dats why u want others to learn, well its cool
Posted: at 14-05-2012 05:10 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Police Arrest Suspected Ritualist With Human Organs In Lagos

2. Lawyers Hail Akpabio For Stepping Down From Sexual Harassment Probe Panel

3. Radiogad Raises Alarm Over Activist VeryDarkman’s Health After Efcc Detention

4. Overcrowding or Low Turnout? - Wizkid’s Show In Berlin Cancelled Days After Toronto Failed

5. VIDEO; Reactions As Peller And Jarvis Arrive In Dubai For Streamer’s 20th Birthday

6. “I Love You”: Omah Lay Declares As His Featured Track off Davido’s New Album Goes Platinum

7. One Killed As Security Operatives Battle Gunmen Who Allegedly Killed Travellers In Imo

8. Teenager, Lawal Hameedat Drags JAMB To Court Over Hijab Ban During UTME

9. "You Won’t Find Better Partner Than Nigeria" – Tinubu Welcomes Qatari Investment

10. Southampton v Manchester City: UEFA Champions League Semi-Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers &

1. JUST IN! EFCC Labels VeryDarkMan A ‘BANDIT’

2. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

3. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

4. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

5. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

6. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

7. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

8. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

9. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

10. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)