What Do You Think About The Idea Of Loaning Money To Family Members? (Page 2)

Date: 23-05-2012 12:14 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 [2] 3 4 5
- toibeli at 23-05-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago)
Poster, I share your plight. I've learnt my lesson,When family members ask to borrow
money from me, I give them what I can afford to loose because I know the money is never
going to be repaid.Very informative post.
Posted: at 23-05-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 23-05-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 23-05-2012 12:14 PM
Life was a lot easier when I was a student and my only responsibilities were to pay for school and study. Once I finished school and got a job, my financial responsibilities exploded: I now have to consider a mortgage and all those other house-related expenses (water, gas, electricity, condo fees, insurance), car payments and car insurance, cable, internet…you get the point. It’s never a problem to find something to spend money on!

Over two years ago I shared how like many abroad, my parents were helping their family back home. I mentioned that in comparison to my parents I hadn’t really done much. Since then I’ve had the opportunity to help family members but in two cases it hasn’t quite worked out the way I thought it would.

I loaned a sum of money to a cousin who was preparing to go to the UK for school. The amount I loaned him was small in comparison to the total amount he needed, but for me it was a significant amount. My cousin insisted it was a loan and I had no reason to think otherwise. However, we never discussed exactly when the repayment would commence and it has been nearly two years. Last year he was selling a game console (Xbox or something similar) on Facebook and I told him I knew where he could send the profit (meaning he could send it to me). He asked me what I meant and I told him he knew. The conversation was playful and casual, but I said it to remind him of the outstanding debt. It didn’t work. To add some spice to the story, I can no longer see him or his wife on Facebook, but maybe that’s because they no longer use Facebook.

The second loan was to a female cousin, one that I am quite close to. Of all my cousins on that side of the family, she’s the only one I would would loan money to because I believed she would definitely pay me back. Her need was urgent and her reason for needing the money sounded legitimate to me. She said it was a loan and told me when she would pay me back (in a matter of weeks). When that time came and went, she apologized for the delay. But now it’s been a year and I haven’t heard from her concerning the loan.

I’ve heard that you should never loan money that you can’t live without, meaning you should set your expectations low and assume you will not be seeing the money again. I did think I would get the money back but I’m so thankful that my life has not been inconvenienced as a result of not having that money–I’m truly blessed! For me the sad part is not that I haven’t gotten the money back but that neither cousin thought to let me know that it wasn’t a loan or that they would not be able to pay me back after all as planned.

I don’t think I’ll ever loan money again. Instead, if I decide to help out a family member I will gift them with the money. That way, the expectation of repayment is removed, and everyone will be able to sleep well at night.

Do you have a money-loaning philosophy? (For many that policy is “Don’t”!)
Posted: at 23-05-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- simon4real at 23-05-2012 03:11 PM (11 years ago)
sorry
Posted: at 23-05-2012 03:11 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- godnows at 23-05-2012 03:16 PM (11 years ago)
better ive what u can afford instead of loan. they might not pay u back
Posted: at 23-05-2012 03:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bettygirls at 23-05-2012 03:24 PM (11 years ago)
u can always give freely to family members when u can.help others coz u dont know where ur help willl come from 2moro. Besides, money is the rout to all evil, dont put ur heart there coz it will give u high blood and u will die while others enjoy it on ur behalf.
Posted: at 23-05-2012 03:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 23-05-2012 03:31 PM (11 years ago)
Any money loan to family members is as good as money paid into an unknow account.... Give what you can forget.. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 23-05-2012 03:31 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- malvin2525 at 23-05-2012 04:04 PM (11 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:04 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 23-05-2012 04:18 PM (11 years ago)
not advisable...just give wht u can.
Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:18 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 23-05-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on 23-05-2012 02:07 PM
Loaning money to a family member is like loaning money to your girlfriend. Odikwa risky!!

Neglito or negligence, hw can u loan money to ur gf?  Wen u dey wire am, she dey loan u her tin ni?  C ur face sef.  Ntoorrr
Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 23-05-2012 04:25 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 23-05-2012 04:23 PM
Neglito or negligence, hw can u loan money to ur gf?  Wen u dey wire am, she dey loan u her tin ni?  C ur face sef.  Ntoorrr
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin....Nne, that face dey make me read the guy comment.... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:25 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 23-05-2012 04:39 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 23-05-2012 12:30 PM
sure sweetie..How u doing?
am great honey thank you i hope you are cool

Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:39 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 23-05-2012 04:40 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: meche34 on 23-05-2012 01:47 PM
hmmmmm i ve hard a similar experience where they will even gang up against u for the fact that u are asking for the repayment...
True

Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:40 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 23-05-2012 04:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 23-05-2012 04:23 PM

Posted: at 23-05-2012 04:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- redrozino at 23-05-2012 05:00 PM (11 years ago)
Big deal!!!
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:00 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- FlyMamacita at 23-05-2012 05:08 PM (11 years ago)
Its not just a gud idea
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- JossyKassy973 at 23-05-2012 05:12 PM (11 years ago)
If you are able to dash money to your family members, then you can loan them any amount. If they are not able to pay you will write it off. It's not a big deal.
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:12 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- mizcollins1 at 23-05-2012 05:13 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 23-05-2012 05:08 PM
Its not just a gud idea
seconded
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:13 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EMMYBOSS at 23-05-2012 05:42 PM (11 years ago)
NA DASH U DASH DEM O
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 23-05-2012 05:55 PM (11 years ago)
if u do not want to hate ur family member, just give out the little u ve to support when he or sheis in need, if they ask for ten naira, give five but never agree on deal with them, they must fail u and u will never have nothing to do than to  hate them, they will never pay back
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:55 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 23-05-2012 05:59 PM (11 years ago)
i can't even tink of it. not 2 talk of trying it
Posted: at 23-05-2012 05:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 [2] 3 4 5