Bishop Oyedepo Denies Slapping Church Member, Says He Cannot Be Sued

Date: 26-05-2012 12:15 am (11 years ago) | Author: Gwamna Gwamna
[1] 2 3 4 ... 12
- at 26-05-2012 12:15 AM (11 years ago)
"We submit that slapping being an act of assault an item outside the provisions of Chapter 4 of the 1999 constitution and the African Charter, this court therefore lacks jurisdiction over same."

The multi billionaire founder of the Living Faith Christian Church International, Bishop David Oyedepo, has denied slapping a young member of his congregation; stating that neither he nor his church could be sued.

In a notice of preliminary objection filed at the High Court of Ogun State and made available to PREMIUM TIMES; Bishop Oyedepo maintained that he and his church are "non juristic persons" and therefore asked the court to strike out the suit as it lacked jurisdiction to adjudicate on the matter.

Robert Igbinedion, a Lagos based lawyer, had in April, filed a suit on behalf of the young lady, who was slapped during a church service, for the enforcement of the lady's fundamental rights to freedom from inhuman and degrading treatment, human dignity, fair hearing, and freedom from discrimination.

Mr. Igbinedion prayed the court to award the sum of N2bn as 'general and exemplary damages' against the bishop as well as compel him to publish a public apology in two national dailies and one international satellite television.

In a counter affidavit deposed by Olugbenga Adegboye, the church's senior legal officer, Bishop Oyedepo stated that "his ministry is a ministry where the holy bible is preached and people are prayed for without coercion."

The church also said that there is no record of anyone called Miss Justice - a sobriquet given to the young lady for the purpose of the suit - in any of its services organized in the past.

A written address to support the preliminary objection signed by F. B Agbanwu, the church's Solicitor, insisted that the matter is not within the Nigeria constitution or the African Charter on Human and People's Rights.

Furthermore, the church urged the court to determine whether Mr. Igbinedion is capable of "bringing this kind of application" before it and whether "it is proper to bring this application against the 1st and 2nd respondents (Bishop Oyedepo and his church respectively).

Arguing that both Mr. Igbinedion and the respondents cannot sue and be sued, Bishop Oyedepo's lawyers noted that the cause of action must centre on clear infringement of a fundamental right.

"The cause of action or principal claim in this application centres merely on slapping one Miss Justice by the 1st respondent.

"The slapping of Miss Justice is an act that could be described as an assault which is a criminal offence punishable under the criminal code...

"We submit that slapping being an act of assault an item outside the provisions of Chapter 4 of the 1999 constitution and the African Charter, this court therefore lacks jurisdiction over same."

The court sits, June 1, for parties to adopt their motion before judgment is fixed.

In December last year, a YouTube video of Bishop Oyedepo viciously slapping a young lady who admitted that she was "a witch for Jesus" during an altar call went viral on the internet.

A second video that surfaced days later showed the bishop justifying his action adding that it is "his ministry to slap" and that "if he sees another witch, he'll slap."

Posted: at 26-05-2012 12:15 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 26-05-2012 01:24 AM (11 years ago)
What an arrogant, opinionated turd... no way should he be able to duck this one. Slapping is assault, and no way he should be able to smother that fact with legal crap!
Posted: at 26-05-2012 01:24 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- denmal at 26-05-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago)
touch not my anointed
Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 26-05-2012 09:32 PM (11 years ago)
Passing

Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:32 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 26-05-2012 09:33 PM (11 years ago)
Bishop don turn to lie lie
Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:33 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 26-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: osamabinladin on 26-05-2012 09:33 PM
Bishop don turn to lie lie
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 26-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago)
man of GOD indeed
Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- johnnycious2004 at 26-05-2012 09:40 PM (11 years ago)
psalm 30 vs 5 and mattew 7 vs 1. i pity pple jumpin into conclusion Sad
Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:40 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 26-05-2012 09:50 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ROYAlPRINCE77 on 26-05-2012 09:48 PM
Make una not comment wetin go affect una future here dis man na anointed man of God.....devil is at work
God bless you

Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:50 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bigdad95 at 26-05-2012 10:04 PM (11 years ago)
in the last days many will come on my name saying i am a man of God.many fake prophet will arise and misled many.a man of God indeed,by there frute you shall recorgnize those men,the is a rotten frute lol.
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:04 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 26-05-2012 10:07 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ROYAlPRINCE77 on 26-05-2012 09:48 PM
Make una not comment wetin go affect una future here dis man na anointed man of God.....devil is at work
Keep deceiving urself,the God i know of ,is not God of injustice,i guess devil was not at work when ur pastor raised his hand on a woman .Rubish,Rubish,Rubish
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:07 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- tinatutu at 26-05-2012 10:12 PM (11 years ago)
HOW many people did jesus christ slapped when he was on earth.he must go in for it YEYE MAN
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:12 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Tyahaya at 26-05-2012 10:18 PM (11 years ago)
Na Law cause am  Grin Grin
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:18 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 26-05-2012 10:21 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ROYAlPRINCE77 on 26-05-2012 10:15 PM
My dear i did not coment for you to quote me with ur rubbish statement....i don't even have time to exchange words with u just go with your believe.am not your mate
hahahahahaha
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:21 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-05-2012 10:27 PM (11 years ago)
make una continue, i waka pass
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:27 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- habiziz at 26-05-2012 10:42 PM (11 years ago)
gud. gold diggers Wink
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:42 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 26-05-2012 10:53 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-05-2012 10:53 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- mickky21 at 26-05-2012 11:00 PM (11 years ago)
make una do dey bring church matter 4 here................una fit bring Imam matter here? Touch not my anointed. 
Posted: at 26-05-2012 11:00 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- exever100 at 27-05-2012 02:05 AM (11 years ago)
man of GOD my foot.....i sure say if na poor man una go say na fake man of GOD,but as per say na millionaire he is a true man of GOD,nonsense
Posted: at 27-05-2012 02:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 27-05-2012 02:41 AM (11 years ago)
this one na nothing to discuss, I go pass am, wey the coffee man, abeg give me a cup....am not interested in religious arguments now

Posted: at 27-05-2012 02:41 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 12

1. "80% Of Gymgoers Are Career S3x Workers" –Actress Lolo1 Claims

2. JUST IN! House Of Representatives Suspends Move To Stop CBN’s Cybersecurity Levy

3. ‘Why Lots Of Artists Signed To My Label Are In Jail’ – American Rapper, Gucci Mane

4. Sorry Moment Elderly Women Were Queuing To Receive Satchets Of Spaghetti Trailed By Reactions

5. LOVELY; Couple Dancing On Their Wedding Day Alongside Throwback Video Of Them Dancing Together

6. Centre For Registration Of POS Operators Inaugurated By CAC Ahead Of July Deadline

7. Never Date Or Marry Someone Who Believes Witches Are Pursuing Them - Nigerian Man Advises

8. VIDEO: 'I'm Tired Over The 'Shege' Adulthood Is Showing Me' - Comedian, Maraji Laments

9. UPDATE: US Lawmakers Order Investigation Of Shell, Eni For Allegedly Bribing Goodluck Jonathan

10. Why I Ended Beef And Reconciled With My Best Friend Ogogo - Famous Actor Yinka Quadri Reveals

11. Femi Falana Demands Repatriation Of 317 Lagos Residents Deported To Osun

12. NSCDC Commandant, Christopher Oluchukwu Convicted Of Employment Scam

13. NAFDAC Discovers Illegal Alcohol Factory With Products Worth N50m In Badagry, Lagos State

14. Police Arrest Suspect, Sadiq Zubairu Who Allegedly Killed KEDCO Staff In Kano

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe