The little I CAN DO by Eby Obiechina

Date: 09-06-2012 12:31 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Olufowose Temitope
- at 9-06-2012 12:31 PM (12 years ago)
Growing up, I said the prayer for Nigeria in distress every time I went for Mass. I didn’t know the magnitude of problem we had in Nigeria then, but I know it wasn’t as bad as the situation now. Even a 4year old kid can describe the horrible situation we are facing in Nigeria.

I remember listening to the radio 96.9 Cool FM one afternoon (yh I still listen to BennyArc via the internet*addict*) and this little child calls in on one of the programs, she was asked to make a wish, and she said ‘I wish for a Nigeria where there is no bombing every day, I pray mummy and daddy can smile when watching the news’ that statement killed me. The kid didn’t sound a day older than seven, she was asked to make a wish , didn’t wish for a pony for a Disneyland holiday like a normal child , but carried the burden of her country on her little shoulders and wished for a better Nigeria. That goes to say how much we are in need of IMPROVEMENT.

The question is where does the problem lie?Huh?Huh??

I have been praying for Nigeria since I was able to pray (yep mummy and the church made us do it).  Does it mean there is no God or like the joke goes He is tired of listening to nagging Nigerians. Maybe we are covered by so much sin that St. Peter pushed our request far back on the list, but then we Nigerians know how to cut lines, so we should be at the forefront hehehehhe. But maybe that’s where our problem lies.

We have over five thousand churches in Nigeria yet our problems haven’t been solved yet. I think we should stop and think: maybe, just maybe we are the problem, and don’t think I am talking about the corrupt politicians’ no, I am talking to you, yes you.

Okay let’s start with me, Ebeee typical  Nigerian, goes to church almost every day (goody –two –shoes LOL) prays for Nigeria*wink* then heads to the bank Oceanic Bank to be precise, you can imagine the Loooooong line there. I smile and charm my way to the front of the line (yayyyy).  Some call that using what you have, to get what you want.  THAT is corruption ‘go to the back of the line.

Okay so I get my money and head to Wuse car park going to Gwags, ahhhh another long line of people all waiting for AC bus. Just as I am about to go to the end I see Ama and Bummi in front…

Me: Hey guys
Them: Sweeties how u dey na?

We do this till I get into the bus, it’s that easy besides they are my friends na. I get to permanent site (University of Abuja) and pay 10K to get my transcript a process that is supposed to be free by the way. This goes on and on with almost every action in the day, tells you how corrupt we all are.

As humans, we are faced with these corrupt decisions every day and we take them because they are the easy way out. We then blame it on our leaders and “the country’s situation”. How do you think those politicians get corrupt? It starts from small processes like these, which becomes habits and grows into something bigger than just bypassing (or shunting) lines.

I had a lecture with a Welsh man Chief Davis Dai, who by the way has been to Nigeria like a ga zillion times, even has a chieftaincy title LOL. He said and I quote ’Nigeria is not a horrible place like the media makes it to be , she has a diverse culture with people who are friendly and kind to me and each other maybe it’s because I am an oyinbo (Laughs) however, I have only one problem with Nigerians, AFRICAN TIME’ .

I am going to end this piece with this. Try showing up for your next appointment on time. Follow due process; it may not pay off in the short run but it definitely counts in the long run.

Parents train your children to do the right thing, I know you do these things because you love us but we are the leaders of tomorrow. The past generation have a made a mess of our country but we have a duty to clean it up.

My name is Eby Obiechina and this is the beginning of the little I CAN DO.

Posted: at 9-06-2012 12:31 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jar84 at 9-06-2012 05:01 PM (12 years ago)
too long
Posted: at 9-06-2012 05:01 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac