Parents Defend Letting Daughter, 5, Swim With Sharks (PICTURES & VIDEO Included)

Date: 05-07-2012 2:04 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4
- at 5-07-2012 02:04 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 5 July 2012

David and Elana Barnes provoked outraged cries of ‘irresponsible parenting’ after they posted a video of their 5-year-old daughter swimming with sharks onto YouTube.

However, they still would have let Anaia, 5, swim with sharks during their vacation in the Bahamas because ‘life is too short to be boring’, they argued on ABC’s Good Morning America today.

The Youtube video became an internet sensation with some users slamming the Connecticut parents‘ decision as ‘dangerous’ and ‘reckless’ while others praised the couple’s adventurous nature.

The video, which has been viewed more than 21,000 times since it was put up on June 20, shows 5-year-old Anaia swimming with reef, lemon and nurse sharks.

The footage shows that Anaia is swimming with instructors and a group of adults.

In the Youtube post, Elana wrote: ‘We swam with Reef, Lemon, and Nurse sharks, all very low on the aggression index, yet still very thrilling! Put it on your bucket list!’

Nurse sharks and lemon sharks are generally gentle and not aggressive towards humans whereas reef sharks are considered to be more of a threat to humans.

Thrill-seekers: The Connecticut family watched as workers fed the sharks with fish carcasses attached to ropes

The 9-minute video has divided opinion with some commentators arguing that letting your five-year-old swim with sharks is stupid not ‘thrilling’.

‘Precariously endangering the life of your child is something which obviously shows a complete lack of common sense,’ wrote one user.

However, another user argued: ‘You have a better chance of being mauled by your family dog, struck by lightning, or getting into a car crash on your way to work then being attacked by one of these sharks.’

While comments have described the parents’ behaviour as ‘reckless’ and ‘dangerous’, Elana said on GMA ‘at no point did I feel like this was dangerous.’

Irresponsible? Anaia's parents, Alana and David argue that they weighed up the risk before they let their little girl swim with the sharks

The mother also wrote on the Youtube post that there had been no attacks in the 20 years the company had been running the shark-swimming experience.

Anaia’s father argued on GMA, ‘There’s just always risk assessments in life every day. I’m more concerned that they don’t put seatbelts in school buses.’

The video begins with footage of a worker feeding the sharks with chunks of fish. Alana tells her daughter: ‘The sharks are hungry. You have got to wait till they are full.’

At the end of the adventure, a fellow swimmer jokes to the girl: ‘Nothing had us for lunch.’

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4ThoO1Rq2c" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4ThoO1Rq2c</a>

Source: ABC News

Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:04 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 5-07-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago)
Oyibo and their mumu.  of all na shark.  Want to make a stupid name.
Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 5-07-2012 02:32 PM (11 years ago)
I wonder o!

Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:32 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Idbabe at 5-07-2012 02:43 PM (11 years ago)
Na dem sabi
Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:43 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Ecto at 5-07-2012 02:45 PM (11 years ago)
Maybe that the Jonah of our times
Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:45 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adaben at 5-07-2012 02:52 PM (11 years ago)
So,ur weighing up d risk now justifies d unthinkable u and ur husband did woman?
Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:52 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 5-07-2012 02:53 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:53 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lomec at 5-07-2012 02:53 PM (11 years ago)
Maybe they are harmless trained sharks
Posted: at 5-07-2012 02:53 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- aso4life1 at 5-07-2012 03:13 PM (11 years ago)
Why Oyinbo like to do crazy things? the one they did in the past by sleeping with animals and then introduce HIV/AIDS to us...then later claim Africa has the highest number of infected people... stupid parents.

Posted: at 5-07-2012 03:13 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jamesbondchick at 5-07-2012 03:24 PM (11 years ago)
tank God say fish nor swallow the pickin  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 5-07-2012 03:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 5-07-2012 03:49 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ecto on  5-07-2012 02:45 PM
Posted: at 5-07-2012 03:49 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 5-07-2012 03:53 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ecto on  5-07-2012 02:45 PM

Jonah Fire, you go see GE Jonathan...that one wey no sabi the right things to do at the right time

Posted: at 5-07-2012 03:53 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- malvin2525 at 5-07-2012 03:56 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 5-07-2012 03:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adego1 at 5-07-2012 03:58 PM (11 years ago)
their life not my business mtcheeew
Posted: at 5-07-2012 03:58 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 5-07-2012 04:20 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked

Posted: at 5-07-2012 04:20 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- funkeyalbert at 5-07-2012 05:19 PM (11 years ago)
na their pakin na, hw does it concern me lol
Posted: at 5-07-2012 05:19 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- interpo777 at 5-07-2012 05:42 PM (11 years ago)
MAY BE THEY WANT TO GIVE THE CHILD TO SHARK 4 AFTERNOON FOOOD
Posted: at 5-07-2012 05:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Y-ON at 5-07-2012 06:23 PM (11 years ago)
d shark will just swallow her like e dey drink water, don't play with wild animals please.
Posted: at 5-07-2012 06:23 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Emotions33 at 5-07-2012 06:42 PM (11 years ago)
Oh my God
Posted: at 5-07-2012 06:42 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Ifemylove at 5-07-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago)
this is very common among the white. even in their movies...
Posted: at 5-07-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4