Spain arrests Nigerian scam artists

Date: 07-07-2012 6:49 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Aishatu Ahmed
[1] 2 3 4 ... 14
- at 7-07-2012 06:49 PM (11 years ago)
Spain arrests Nigerian scam artists

Spanish police said Friday they had smashed a Nigerian fraud ring which tricked some 500 people out of more than a million euros in a year by convincing them they had won a lottery jackpot. In a case mirroring many others from recent years, police detained six people in Torrejon de Ardoz, near Madrid, and Malaga in southern Spain, on suspicion of working the fraud. Police said the network fished for victims by mailing out letters, mainly to Italians, claiming the person had won a million euros but needed to advance 4,000 euros in administrative fees to claim the jackpot.

“In 2012 alone nearly 500 victims, mainly Italian citizens, handed over various sums of money,” the police said about the network, which they had been investigating since late 2011. In total, more than 600 people took the bait and called the number on the letter. At the other end a man in Malaga would explain how to proceed with the bank or postal money transfers. The alleged fraudsters collected the money at the post office with the help of forged passports bearing Internet photos of famous stars, including American songstress Alicia Keys.

The network then broke off all contact with the victim. Police seized “800 Nigerian letters ready for posting, 700 envelopes, lists of possible victims” in their search, along with 100 photos destined for passport forgery. At the time of the arrests in a building in Torrejon de Ardoz, some “tried to flee through the window after flushing a large quantity of drugs down the toilet,” the police said, adding the network also trafficked narcotics. The fraud is only the latest of its kind to hit Spain and other countries in recent years.

In January 2012, Indian police arrested six Nigerian nationals on suspicion of defrauding hundreds through text message and spam email scams with similar lottery claims. In March 2009, Spanish police arrested 23 people, most of them Nigerians, on suspicion of running an email and letter scam that duped residents in the United States and Europe into believing they were left an inheritance. One year earlier Spanish police arrested 51 people suspected of running a lottery scam that netted around 40 million euros. PMnews

igbos i bet you........ Roll Eyes

Posted: at 7-07-2012 06:49 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- globala at 7-07-2012 06:52 PM (11 years ago)
furck ur asssssssssssssssssssssss!!!

Posted: at 7-07-2012 06:52 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ZubairuAbana at 7-07-2012 07:07 PM (11 years ago)
phyuking fraudsters, pls teach them a good lesson. Bad citizens of Nigeria kaway.
Posted: at 7-07-2012 07:07 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- biancaflexy at 7-07-2012 07:20 PM (11 years ago)
Idiat m sure na ur own tribe. Mtsheeew rubish post nd a useless poster. I sure say dem snd yhu to come cause tribalistic wahalla again.... Remove dis post joor coz e no jxt commot road.
Posted: at 7-07-2012 07:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aishatua1 at 7-07-2012 07:40 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: biancaflexy on  7-07-2012 07:20 PM
Idiat m sure na ur own tribe. Mtsheeew rubish post nd a useless poster. I sure say dem snd yhu to come cause tribalistic wahalla again.... Remove dis post joor coz e no jxt commot road.

Posted: at 7-07-2012 07:40 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- emenaik007 at 7-07-2012 08:47 PM (11 years ago)
Stupid poster. phyuking retard.
Posted: at 7-07-2012 08:47 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- sugaDaddy1forU at 7-07-2012 09:09 PM (11 years ago)
POSTER U MUST BE A BASTARD DAUGHTER OF A BITCH..MUST U ALWAYS COMMENT SOMETHING TRIBAL AFTER UR POST JUST TO START WAR HERE... UR LAST POST WHICH WAS A CHART THAT SHOWS THE STATES THAT HAVE THE HIGHEST AIDS VIRUS IN NIGERIA. THEN U COMMENTED THAT EDO SHOULD BE THE NUMBER ONE ON THAT CHART BCOZ THEY WEREN'T IN TOP 10. AND THE PEOPLE FROM EDO CURSED U OUT BCOZ OF THAT AND U'VE STARTED AGAIN BY MENTIONING A TRIBE AS IF U WERE THERE. EVEN THOUGH UR POST DIDN'T MENTIONED ANY NAME TO SHOW WHERE THE PEOPLE ARE FROM....SO HOW ARE WE SURE THIS IS A TRUE STORY SINCE U DIDN'T POST UR SOURCE OF THIS STORY....

Posted: at 7-07-2012 09:09 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Quality90 at 7-07-2012 11:05 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ZubairuAbana on  7-07-2012 07:07 PM
fcuking fraudsters, pls teach them a good lesson. Bad citizens of Nigeria kaway.
mumu mallam, our oil oyibo pple dey carry day by day u no see am, abi?
Posted: at 7-07-2012 11:05 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Quality90 at 7-07-2012 11:08 PM (11 years ago)
weda gud or bad, man must shop, soldier go soldier come.
Posted: at 7-07-2012 11:08 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Senegal at 8-07-2012 08:43 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aishatua1 on  7-07-2012 07:40 PM

Aboki woman Dumd Ass
Posted: at 8-07-2012 08:43 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 8-07-2012 08:44 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aishatua1 on  7-07-2012 07:40 PM

Aboki woman you dumb Ass
Posted: at 8-07-2012 08:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 8-07-2012 08:44 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ZubairuAbana on  7-07-2012 07:07 PM
fcuking fraudsters, pls teach them a good lesson. Bad citizens of Nigeria kaway.

Retard
Posted: at 8-07-2012 08:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Unikpearl at 8-07-2012 08:47 AM (11 years ago)
Scam-Scammer...he must pay for it
Posted: at 8-07-2012 08:47 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 8-07-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago)
.NAIJA una too much!!!coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this  Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 8-07-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 8-07-2012 01:01 PM (11 years ago)
AISHA wetin IGBOS do for you?  I no be Igbo but a Nigerian and I need a good answer for this direct attack on all IGBOS

Posted: at 8-07-2012 01:01 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dedonmicky at 8-07-2012 01:04 PM (11 years ago)
Thank God he did not kill people to correct their money Shocked the guys is very wise is better than Boko Haram Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-07-2012 01:04 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mekuzio at 8-07-2012 01:06 PM (11 years ago)
u should be very stupid. did it say igbo men/boys?
Posted: at 8-07-2012 01:06 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- colenzo at 8-07-2012 01:11 PM (11 years ago)
they are trying to get back what your stupid hausa leaders dumped in Swiss bank

Posted: at 8-07-2012 01:11 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chiamanda360 at 8-07-2012 01:17 PM (11 years ago)
stupid girl, just formulating stories to spoil igbo name but u are making us proud so go and die in ur desert
Posted: at 8-07-2012 01:17 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- chiamanda360 at 8-07-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago)
stupid girl, just formulating stories to spoil igbo name but u are making us popular so go and die in ur desert
Posted: at 8-07-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 14