knocking on a door

Date: 07-04-2008 12:10 pm (17 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 7-04-2008 12:10 PM (17 years ago)
is there a polite way to knock on a door?

Posted: at 7-04-2008 12:10 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- at 7-04-2008 03:12 PM (17 years ago)
a quick knock 3 times is good..and then followed by a big bang if no one shows.
Posted: at 7-04-2008 03:12 PM (17 years ago) |
- myragonza at 7-04-2008 03:32 PM (17 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  7-04-2008 12:10 PM
is there a polite way to knock on a door?

use the doorbell.....

Posted: at 7-04-2008 03:32 PM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 8-04-2008 02:08 AM (17 years ago)
This one is easy..I think i remember this one at d etiquette school..You knock once. Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-04-2008 02:08 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 2HT2TCH at 8-04-2008 02:16 AM (17 years ago)
u knock three times withe one minute intervals. and if they dont answer, it shud tell u that they want u to GO AWAY!!!  Tongue
Posted: at 8-04-2008 02:16 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 8-04-2008 02:21 AM (17 years ago)
And you know some ppl actually put up signs that reads..do not knock on doors..ring the bell.. Cheesy
Posted: at 8-04-2008 02:21 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 8-04-2008 04:04 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on  8-04-2008 02:21 AM
And you know some ppl actually put up signs that reads..do not knock on doors..ring the bell.. Cheesy

thats what i am talking about....whats the use of the doorbell if dguy insist on knocking.... Grin

Posted: at 8-04-2008 04:04 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dguy at 8-04-2008 06:39 AM (17 years ago)
door bell could be switched off at anytime, and besides less than 10% of houses in Nigeria dont have a door bell. so consider this from a point of view of a Nigerian in Nigeria, we've all been to Nigeria anyway.

Posted: at 8-04-2008 06:39 AM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 8-04-2008 06:43 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  8-04-2008 06:39 AM
door bell could be switched off at anytime, and besides less than 10% of houses in Nigeria dont have a door bell. so consider this from a point of view of a Nigerian in Nigeria, we've all been to Nigeria anyway.

o i see.......then u should have informed me earlier that this is from a Nigerian point of view.... Grin

in that case,there is no need to knock becoz the guard will be outside of the house... Cool

Posted: at 8-04-2008 06:43 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 8-04-2008 11:48 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  8-04-2008 06:39 AM

I don't remember.. Undecided..

But lets just generalize this and not just in naija alone. When it comes  to knocking on someone's door. I think it depends on your reason for knocking..say for example, if its a friends house, you might keep knocking until she opens..even if she says she's coming..lol..for someone who doesn't like using public toilets, i usually stop by a nearby friends and will keep banging on d door til she runs out and asks whats the emergency?..lmao. but when it comes to strangers..the more appropriate way of doing is by knocking once. Atleast thats what they taught us at that school..sorry to say they can't do the same for me, cuz i never answer the phone when the security guys calls when someone is trying to come through the gate..roflmao.. Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 8-04-2008 11:48 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 9-04-2008 07:45 AM (17 years ago)
but if its Naija u want dguy...there is no need to knock....people just know someone is outside the door....it either ur voice is too loud...or u drop from ur vehicle/transport right infront of the house... Grin

Posted: at 9-04-2008 07:45 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 9-04-2008 08:48 AM (17 years ago)
hmmmm...wat a question...me just passing wit ma swagger swings Tongue

Posted: at 9-04-2008 08:48 AM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 9-04-2008 09:32 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: ugodaniels on  9-04-2008 08:48 AM
hmmmm...wat a question...me just passing wit ma swagger swings Tongue

on second thought......u can actually knock on a door using ur swagga....u know like swing it onto the door... Cool

Posted: at 9-04-2008 09:32 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dguy at 9-04-2008 03:21 PM (17 years ago)
Well, strangly some people knock not only with hand, they sing along.

Kpaun Kpaun Kpaun....  Wink

Whos in?

Posted: at 9-04-2008 03:21 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ugodaniels at 9-04-2008 06:49 PM (17 years ago)
Ok...i knock three times...interval of 20 secs...lol Grin

Posted: at 9-04-2008 06:49 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lucabracci at 9-04-2008 09:53 PM (17 years ago)
knock like the jehovas witnesses do..they gat to be doing something right with their level of sucess
Posted: at 9-04-2008 09:53 PM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dguy at 9-04-2008 10:26 PM (17 years ago)
lol...

what if you knock and the person inside start asking questions, whos it?, what do you want? --- will you keep knocking ot just give up.

Posted: at 9-04-2008 10:26 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abby at 10-04-2008 02:25 AM (17 years ago)
knock 3 times, not continouly banging as some ppl r fond of...
Posted: at 10-04-2008 02:25 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 10-04-2008 03:55 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  9-04-2008 10:26 PM
lol...

what if you knock and the person inside start asking questions, whos it?, what do you want? --- will you keep knocking ot just give up.

i will break the door open.... Cool

Posted: at 10-04-2008 03:55 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 11-04-2008 02:28 PM (17 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 10-04-2008 03:55 AM
Quote from: dguy on  9-04-2008 10:26 PM
lol...

i will break the door open.... Cool

Now thats  the attitude baby...lawl!!  Grin

Posted: at 11-04-2008 02:28 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Lawyers Hail Akpabio For Stepping Down From Sexual Harassment Probe Panel

2. Police Arrest Suspected Ritualist With Human Organs In Lagos

3. Radiogad Raises Alarm Over Activist VeryDarkman’s Health After Efcc Detention

4. Overcrowding or Low Turnout? - Wizkid’s Show In Berlin Cancelled Days After Toronto Failed

5. VIDEO; Reactions As Peller And Jarvis Arrive In Dubai For Streamer’s 20th Birthday

6. “I Love You”: Omah Lay Declares As His Featured Track off Davido’s New Album Goes Platinum

7. One Killed As Security Operatives Battle Gunmen Who Allegedly Killed Travellers In Imo

8. Teenager, Lawal Hameedat Drags JAMB To Court Over Hijab Ban During UTME

9. "You Won’t Find Better Partner Than Nigeria" – Tinubu Welcomes Qatari Investment

10. Southampton v Manchester City: UEFA Champions League Semi-Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers &

1. JUST IN! EFCC Labels VeryDarkMan A ‘BANDIT’

2. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

3. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

4. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

5. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

6. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

7. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

8. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

9. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

10. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)