Female banker crushes LASTMA official

Date: 11-08-2012 4:51 am (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 11-08-2012 04:51 AM (11 years ago)

A female banker, Yinka Johnson, on Friday crushed an official of the Lagos State Traffic Management Authority, Mr. Hameed Balogun, while driving against the traffic in the Ajah area of the state.

This came three weeks after another official of the agency, Mustapher Adeleke, was crushed by a bus driver, who was driving against traffic.

The incident was recorded a week after the Governor Babatunde Fashola signed the new traffic law.

According to LASTMA authorities, Johnson, who is an employee of Stanbic IBTC, ran over the traffic official when he accosted her for contravening the law.

The General Manager, LASTMA, Mr. Babatunde Edu, said after hitting the 33-year-old LASTMA official, Johnson ran into Ikota Estate, Ajah, where security guards prevented LASTMA officials from arresting her.

He said, “Balogun was this morning (yesterday) killed by a banker on the Lekki-Ajah Expressway while carrying out his official assignment at his duty post at Mega City, Ajah.

“The driver, whose identity was revealed by the Auto Inspector device as Yinka Johnson, an employee of IBTC, drove in a green LandRover Jeep with registration number CY 276 LSD against traffic from Mega Chicken inward toll plaza two.

“She was intercepted by three officials of LASTMA led by the Head of Operations, Mr. Quayum Asafa, for traffic violation. Johnson started driving recklessly in order to escape and in the process ran over the officer.

“The deceased was rushed to Germaine Hospital where he later died as a result of injury sustained from the accident. The corpse was deposited at the Lagos State Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, for autopsy.

“Realising what she had done, she ran and escaped from the scene of the incident into Ikota Estate, Ajah with the security men shutting the gate.

“The situation became riotous as the security attached to the gate refused all entries to open the gate until the intervention of the Area Commander in charge of Area J, Mr. Felix Uwamli, who called for backup before access could be gained into the Estate.”

The acuused friends however claimed otherwise, they said:

You might have heard the story going round about the Banker who allegedly killed a LASTMA official by knocking him down with her car.
    Eye witnesses on the scene insist that the LASTMA official was in fact knocked down by a Danfo bus he was trying to accost AFTER he arrested the Banker for a traffic offence.
    In fact, her car was about being towed as can be seen from the picture on the lastma website. You can also see from the picture posted there that the car was empty. How did she get back in, ram the towing vehicle and killed the LASTMA man?
    LASTMA is trying to skew the story as murder and she is currently in detention. Please note that I have seen her car and it doesn’t have a single dent on it.
    Kindly spread the word and encourage eye witnesses to come forward and give statements at Panti where she is being held.
    She is a mother of 3 (including a 2mth old baby who is with her in detention). I know her personally.
    Please note that the incident happened yesterday morning 10/08/2012 at Ikota, Lekki Express Way. She was on her way to work.
    Please call 08037076890 if you have information or witnessed what actually happened. We need eye witnesses to counter their lies.

Statement 2
    You may have seen the sensational headlines about a banker crushing a Lastma official to death. This is not true.

Yinka was sitting with a Lastma Official in her stationery car which was about to be towed when another Lastma official on the road was run over by a danfo (comercial bus) quite some distance from her car.

Her car bears no signs of impact as evidence and eye witnesses in the nearby taxi park confirmed this.

The stories accusing her of murder were instigated by unscrupulous Lastma officials who are peddling the false charges and trigger-happy journalists who published uncorroborated stories of the incident without visiting the scene, checking with eye witnesses nor checking with the accused.

A traffic offence and murder are certainly 2 different things. Yinka Johnson certainly did not commit murder. She’s a mother of three who instead of spending a peaceful weekend with her family is sleeping in a police station with her 2 month old baby, falsely accused.

Posted: at 11-08-2012 04:51 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 11-08-2012 08:43 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Posted: at 11-08-2012 08:43 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- pamela224 at 11-08-2012 05:14 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 11-08-2012 05:14 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 11-08-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago)
There are two sides to this story, the question is which one is true?
Posted: at 11-08-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 11-08-2012 08:45 PM (11 years ago)
dis story eget as ebi ooooooooh
Posted: at 11-08-2012 08:45 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jamesbondchick at 11-08-2012 10:06 PM (11 years ago)
These LASTMA guys are already too corrupt,I can never believe any of them! How can you detain a woman with her 2 month old baby?

Posted: at 11-08-2012 10:06 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 11-08-2012 10:22 PM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmmm Roll Eyes

Posted: at 11-08-2012 10:22 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Senegal at 11-08-2012 10:25 PM (11 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 11-08-2012 10:25 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ujunwa99 at 11-08-2012 11:09 PM (11 years ago)
Nawah o
Posted: at 11-08-2012 11:09 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- papadip at 11-08-2012 11:27 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: jamesbondchick on 11-08-2012 10:06 PM
These LASTMA guys are already too corrupt,I can never believe any of them! How can you detain a woman with her 2 month old baby?

Yes if it is a serious offence.
Posted: at 11-08-2012 11:27 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Switboi at 12-08-2012 12:13 AM (11 years ago)
Why then did she run if she was sitting innocently in the car?? We are all humans, and knowing how lawless lagosians can be especially those who feel they are connected i wouldnt be hasty in believing anybody especially the family members who must be trying everything to win the case. Anything involving court is based on lies upon lies. Let God judge all parties.

Posted: at 12-08-2012 12:13 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 12-08-2012 12:29 AM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 12-08-2012 12:29 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- moonwink at 12-08-2012 01:25 AM (11 years ago)
Dont be silly and try to be like like Facebook your current format is excellent LEAVE IT ALONE
DO NOT CHANGE TO Gistmania....it is silly, stupid and quite shitti...also the web pages do not
reproduce well in browsers such as firefox and opera which are better than old fashion, slow
Internet explorer..... damn always nessing up a good thing...

Dont be silly and try to be like like Facebook your current format is excellent LEAVE IT ALONE
DO NOT CHANGE TO Gistmania....it is silly, stupid and quite shitti...also the web pages do not
reproduce well in browsers such as firefox and opera which are better than old fashion, slow
Internet explorer..... damn always nessing up a good thing...
Posted: at 12-08-2012 01:25 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- okoy at 12-08-2012 02:53 AM (11 years ago)
Horrible Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 12-08-2012 02:53 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Tayelolu1 at 12-08-2012 05:49 AM (11 years ago)
Nobody above law even the pregnant woman justice must be done
Posted: at 12-08-2012 05:49 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- moriztuos at 12-08-2012 07:17 AM (11 years ago)
Na wa ooo
Posted: at 12-08-2012 07:17 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonsovin at 12-08-2012 07:35 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 11-08-2012 08:43 AM
COME! ASO!   WISH ONE NO BE YOUR OWN NAA??  OPEN THAT YOUR MOUTH AND SAY SOMETHING NOW! OR....      OR PURE WATER!   Grin        CHAI, I DON FORGET SAY PERSON DIE HERE.  NA WA OO!  WHAT MORE CAN I SAY IF NOT "R I P"
Posted: at 12-08-2012 07:35 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 12-08-2012 08:04 AM (11 years ago)
 Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 12-08-2012 08:04 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 12-08-2012 08:37 AM (11 years ago)
i get a dream everybody hia come dey follow me fight for my cup of coffee.,  Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 12-08-2012 08:37 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yvonneobas at 12-08-2012 10:03 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: jamesbondchick on 11-08-2012 10:06 PM
No one s above d law..If d story s 2ru nd d dead man happens 2 b ur brother,will u v said a lady wit 2mots old baby? If dere re streets carmeras in 9ja i dnt tink any1 will b ask 2 com nd tstfr...
Posted: at 12-08-2012 10:03 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac