Nigerian Students Spend N160BN On Education In Ghana Every Year

Date: 09-09-2012 5:24 pm (11 years ago) | Author: psalmmy
- at 9-09-2012 05:24 PM (11 years ago)
The Chairman, Committee of Pro-chancellors of Nigeria, Dr. Wale Babalakin, has said that there is high cash flight of about N160bn from Nigeria to Ghana annually as the cost of university education of about 75,000 Nigerian students schooling in Ghana.

Babalakin stated that Nigerians also spend huge amounts for the education of their children or wards in other countries including the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Malaysia.

He stated that Nigeria’s budget for education in 2011 was not up to N160bn indicating that Nigerians spent more in Ghanaian universities in 2011 than the Federal Government spent on education the same year.

Speaking during the first Leading Light award presentation of the University of Ilorin Alumni Association in Ilorin on Friday, Babalakin said 75,000 students is the size of about three Nigerian universities.

He also recalled that in 1975, four Nigerian universities were rated among the top 20 in Africa but today the leading university of the country is not within the best 10 in Africa.

Babalakin, who was the chaired the occasion, said university education in Nigeria was at a crossroad and called on intellectuals to fashion out strategies to overcome the challenges facing the sector.

He added that there was the need to grant universities more autonomy to enhance their operational efficiency. He also called on other stakeholders to complement government’s investments in education.

“Let us show that we love Nigeria. Let us reform education substantially. If we have educated society, most of the ills of the society will reduce dramatically. It has been shown that there is a direct relationship between the quality of education and the welfare of the society. If you create a well educated society, you end up creating a lovely society and you end up creating a society of great value” he said.

The guest lecture, Prof. Olufemi Durosaro said universities are under great pressure to ensure they operate on world-class standard. Durosaro said it implies greater needs in the areas of funds, personnel and other facilities and urged stakeholders in education, particularly the alumni of institutions to find a way of intervening to help in the development of their alma mater.

He also said universities in Nigeria should strive to become centres of excellence in order to produce employable graduates who can think critically, reflectively, discern between doubts and dogma, facts and fallacies.

Posted: at 9-09-2012 05:24 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- victormorgan at 9-09-2012 05:57 PM (11 years ago)
ok.
Posted: at 9-09-2012 05:57 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ela214 at 9-09-2012 06:53 PM (11 years ago)
NA UND
Posted: at 9-09-2012 06:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo777 at 9-09-2012 06:54 PM (11 years ago)
and what is it that the chairman of nigeria pro-chancellor wants us to do now? a collective  nigerian needs education which is not fort coming in our nation nigeria due to LACK of interest of the government, very shamefull.........there is nothing  a common nigeria could be proud of nigeria...too painfull
Posted: at 9-09-2012 06:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 9-09-2012 07:29 PM (11 years ago)
If these students are getting quality education, that's OK with me.
Posted: at 9-09-2012 07:29 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- majesty2001 at 9-09-2012 07:35 PM (11 years ago)
Tchewww hw can u enjoy ur education in nigeria with foolish government in power with no plans for the future. Ie: no frquent light, lack of stable education influence.
I'm even hapi I'm not in nigeria schooling. Nonsense gorv!
Posted: at 9-09-2012 07:35 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- DMG17 at 9-09-2012 07:41 PM (11 years ago)
IMAGINE GHANA? NIGERIA IT'S A BIG SHAME.
Posted: at 9-09-2012 07:41 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- denmal at 9-09-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago)
shame naija
Posted: at 9-09-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dienedal at 9-09-2012 08:12 PM (11 years ago)
When schools are on strike and cultism on the increase coupled with devaluation of nigerian higher institution certificates...What do you expect.
Posted: at 9-09-2012 08:12 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 9-09-2012 08:29 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 9-09-2012 08:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mike-Nd-Uc at 9-09-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago)
This is just the beginning.
Posted: at 9-09-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 9-09-2012 08:57 PM (11 years ago)
If education in nigeria is gud, will anybody go out and study else whr.
Posted: at 9-09-2012 08:57 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 9-09-2012 09:01 PM (11 years ago)
9ja education system has lost it value is really a shame
Posted: at 9-09-2012 09:01 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jony4good at 9-09-2012 09:47 PM (11 years ago)
So what are the so called goverment doing about it?Huh??
Posted: at 9-09-2012 09:47 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 9-09-2012 10:05 PM (11 years ago)
k
Posted: at 9-09-2012 10:05 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- VANIT at 9-09-2012 11:22 PM (11 years ago)
He stated that Nigeria’s budget for education in 2011 was not up to N160bn indicating that Nigerians spent more in Ghanaian universities in 2011 than the Federal Government spent on education the same year.... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Few people shared N160bn,including you Pro-chancellors of Nigeria, Dr. Wale Babalakin,....Bull shit.....Where is the legacy?...Education died in NIGERIA early 90's..... Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry...To hell withe mediocre government...!!!!..In the abundance of water,the fools are tasty..!!!!
Posted: at 9-09-2012 11:22 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- maryclaret at 9-09-2012 11:43 PM (11 years ago)
Though there is a global economic meltdown currently going on, you really have to ask yourself if the so called education in Nigeria is even worth it. You spend money in getting this much talked about education only for you to come out and see yourself standing in the same postion you were before. If anyone is going to college now, it's better that it is seen as a personal achievement only than as a way of making money.

Posted: at 9-09-2012 11:43 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 10-09-2012 12:06 AM (11 years ago)
I SEE..
Posted: at 10-09-2012 12:06 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deboalabi262 at 10-09-2012 12:35 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed :

Posted: at 10-09-2012 12:35 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sheffy1981 at 10-09-2012 12:55 AM (11 years ago)
The government has failed the people for too long and Nigerians as a people we are,not dull at all even though the deceitful elements that constitute our leadership wants to make fool of us,imagine Obasanjo who just went to school recently and he even ruled the country before going to school,what developed country could Obasanjo would even be a local government representative not to talk of president?So what do you expect from a country led by dullards and uneducated element like Obasanjo who almost sold the Nigerian citizenry before his departure from office.Nigeria is lost and it not someone like Goodluck Jonathan who can find that ship called Nigeria.Next time the Nigerian people should learn to vote a scholar who can do something for the educated minds,I rest my case.
Posted: at 10-09-2012 12:55 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming