The United States ambassador to Libya, J. Christopher Stevens, Killed!

Date: 12-09-2012 1:22 pm (11 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 12-09-2012 01:22 PM (11 years ago)
Obama condemns killing of U.S. ambassador to Libya

(CNN) -- The United States ambassador to Libya, J. Christopher Stevens, was killed in a rocket attack on the U.S. Consulate in the city of Benghazi on Tuesday, President Obama said Wednesday.

"I strongly condemn the outrageous attack on our diplomatic facility in Benghazi, which took the lives of four Americans, including Ambassador Chris Stevens," Obama said in a statement.

"Chris was a courageous and exemplary representative of the United States," Obama said.

The other three victims were American security staff, said a contractor working at the mission, who asked not to be named for security reasons.
U.S. ambassador to Libya killed
Protesters storm U.S. Embassy walls Protesters storm U.S. Embassy walls
Fringe group behind Libya attacks?

He said he saw all four bodies on the street Wednesday morning.

An "angry crowd" marched on the consulate on Tuesday, angry about an online film considered offensive to Islam, Libya's Deputy Interior Minister Wanis al-Sharif said Wednesday. The U.S. mission in Egypt was also attacked Tuesday in response to the film.

Al-Sharif said that consulate security staff opened fire when they heard gunfire outside the mission.

"This led to more anger and this is when the consulate was stormed," he said, suggesting that there were elements loyal to the regime of deposed dictator Moammar Gadhafi aiming to create chaos among the protesters.

"Criminals managed to get in and they burned and ransacked the consulate," he said.

The U.S. mission is very badly damaged, the contractor said.

Libyan Deputy Prime Minister Mustafa Abushagur said Stevens was "a friend of Libya, and we are shocked at the the attacks on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi."

"I condemn these barbaric acts in the strongest possible terms. This is an attack on America, Libya and free people everywhere," Abushagur said on Twitter.

The contractor in Benghazi said he could hear rocket-propelled grenade attacks Tuesday night.

Libyans were also killed, the contractor said, saying the victims were shot on the spot.

The bodies of the four Americans are now at Benghazi airport, the contractor said, citing the Libyan minister of foreign affairs and a top immigration official in Benghazi.

Libya's governing party condemned the attack as a "criminal and cowardly act" and vowed to "track down the perpetrators and to maintain the country's security and the safety and security of its guests," Libya's official LANA news agency reported.

Stevens was the American envoy to the Libyan rebel movement that overthrew Gadhafi last year, based in the rebel capital of Benghazi.

A speaker of Arabic and French, he was among the first American diplomats sent to Libya in 2007 when the United States resumed ties with the Gadhafi regime.

The last time an American ambassador was killed by terrorists was in 1979, when the envoy to Afghanistan, Adolph Dubs, was kidnapped and killed during an attempt to rescue him, according to State Department records.

Protestors attack U.S. diplomatic compounds in Egypt, Libya

Posted: at 12-09-2012 01:22 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Uchey90 at 12-09-2012 02:11 PM (11 years ago)
wahala dey ooo
Posted: at 12-09-2012 02:11 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 12-09-2012 02:35 PM (11 years ago)
so sad

Posted: at 12-09-2012 02:35 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 12-09-2012 02:54 PM (11 years ago)
Mennnn, Arab no dey laugh oooo...

Posted: at 12-09-2012 02:54 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- richi192 at 12-09-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad

Posted: at 12-09-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 12-09-2012 03:05 PM (11 years ago)
Killed by friends or enemies?

Posted: at 12-09-2012 03:05 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Bettygirls at 12-09-2012 03:15 PM (11 years ago)
too bad
Posted: at 12-09-2012 03:15 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 12-09-2012 03:36 PM (11 years ago)
So sad!
Posted: at 12-09-2012 03:36 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Neglito at 12-09-2012 03:57 PM (11 years ago)
Arabs cannot be trusted, when you rescue them from oppression, they must surely turn against you as long as you don't shout Allah hua kbar!!
Posted: at 12-09-2012 03:57 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 12-09-2012 04:07 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Cry

Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:07 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mickky21 at 12-09-2012 04:14 PM (11 years ago)
USELESS MUSLIMS WITH THEIR USELESS allah
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:14 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- frank_f at 12-09-2012 04:17 PM (11 years ago)
Too Bad, but why?
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:17 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 12-09-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago)
sad
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 12-09-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago)
So sad. So Muslims are still killing on the sad historic day 9/11. May all 4 of them Rest in peace.
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 12-09-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: frank_f on 12-09-2012 04:17 PM
Too Bad, but why?
In another article it said:
TRIPOLI, Libya - The U.S. ambassador to Libya and three other Americans were killed in an attack on the U.S. Consulate in Benghazi by protesters angry over a film that ridiculed Islam's Prophet Muhammad.

Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 12-09-2012 04:27 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:27 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 12-09-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 12-09-2012 04:27 PM
Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Ambassador Chris Stevens, 52, died as he and a group of embassy employees went to the consulate to try to evacuate staff as the building came under attack by a mob firing machine-guns and rocket-propelled grenades. He was the first U.S. ambassador to be killed in the line of duty since 1979.
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:35 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 12-09-2012 04:44 PM (11 years ago)
hmmm..e don happen ...i said it..
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:44 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mankaa at 12-09-2012 04:53 PM (11 years ago)
Breaking news,
Posted: at 12-09-2012 04:53 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- rayOFsunshine at 12-09-2012 05:06 PM (11 years ago)
I just hope some hopeless aliens wont start their own trouble in Nigeria becos of the film o
RIP worthy ambassador
Posted: at 12-09-2012 05:06 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9

1. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

2. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State