Lagos Won’t Allow Other States’ Number Plates – Government

Date: 04-10-2012 4:27 am (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 4-10-2012 04:27 AM (11 years ago)
«§» 4 October 2012

Lagos State Government on Wednesday said it would no longer allow the use of vehicles with number plates from other states of the federation for commercial transportation in the state.

It also advised residents with private vehicles to change to the state’s number plates to reflect the fact that they are living in Lagos.

The Director, Vehicle Inspection Office, Mr, Gbolahan Toriola, said the measure was meant to achieve “sanity, standard, safety and security” as stipulated by the road traffic law.

Toriola spoke at the vehicle inspection safety campaign organised by the Ministry of Transportation in conjunction with the Political and Legislative Bureau for commercial drivers in Ikeja.

He said, “There is nothing wrong in bringing commercial buses from other states. But if you must use it in Lagos, you have to change the colour and re-register it with us so that we have your information in our database.

“This is a standard procedure. As a matter of fact, it you have lived in a state for about three months, you are no longer a visitor and therefore you must change your number plate to reflect the state. It is done in America and other developed nations.

“Of course, this provision did not affect inter-state vehicles carrying passenger from other state. But we don’t expect them to pick or drop passengers at every bus stop. There are dedicated bus stops and parks for inter-state vehicles. If they violate this and we get them, they will face our law.

“You must put waste basket in your buses; there must be first aid box; you must carry extra tyres. These are what our law stipulates.”

The VIO boss who highlighted the provisions of the traffic law, advised them to cooperate with the government to ensure security in the state.

A director in the ministry, Mr. Bola Matanmi, also advised the drivers not to turn themselves to traffic officials, but instead apply to the ministry so that they would be given a Special Marshall status.

He added that the union would be given the privilege to choose the colour of the uniform for drivers and conductors.

Special Adviser to the Governor on Political and Legislative Affairs, Mr. Muslim Folami, said the traffic law, which has 43 sections and four schedules was for the interest of Lagosians. He urged the drivers to submit to the law for sanity and safety.

Posted: at 4-10-2012 04:27 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 4-10-2012 05:07 AM (11 years ago)
Abeg make una go sit down jare.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 05:07 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Aquarium at 4-10-2012 07:07 AM (11 years ago)
Na wa o! Just keep bringing them rules.

Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:07 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- adexemmanuel at 4-10-2012 07:13 AM (11 years ago)
Lagos-America, Lagos, other cities of the world. abeggggggg
Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:13 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- micc at 4-10-2012 07:20 AM (11 years ago)
This is power intoxication. Why will they be registry vehicle twice in the same country. That means anybody that stole someone's vehicle can come to Lagos and re-register it again and be using. Please they should think twice o.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:20 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 4-10-2012 07:21 AM (11 years ago)
This is power intoxication. Why will they be registry vehicle twice in the same country. That means anybody that stole someone's vehicle can come to Lagos and re-register it again and be using. Please they should think twice o.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:21 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Amaight at 4-10-2012 07:33 AM (11 years ago)
Mumulicious tontolicious being
Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:33 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- overdrive at 4-10-2012 07:52 AM (11 years ago)
Will never and can never work.is lagos the only state in this country the other day it was deportation today re-registering of vehicles do they operate their own constitution?
Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:52 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- eomo at 4-10-2012 07:53 AM (11 years ago)
There should be a centralised database to hold information of every registered vehicle in Nigeria. Why should someone be forced to re-register his car because he is moving to Lagos? Please, think before you implement laws.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 07:53 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 4-10-2012 08:17 AM (11 years ago)
Is Lagos state segregating itself frm d contry?  Re we nt one country? Very soon he wil ask for ticket frm other states b4 entering Lagos... What rubbish. Angry Angry
Posted: at 4-10-2012 08:17 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Biafranwar at 4-10-2012 08:29 AM (11 years ago)
Fashola u been dey try b4 but this one tire me o
Posted: at 4-10-2012 08:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bettygirls at 4-10-2012 08:53 AM (11 years ago)
i waka pass
Posted: at 4-10-2012 08:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sammy4shot at 4-10-2012 09:22 AM (11 years ago)
We must learn to accept changes that provide a standard or else we will Neva be developed, there is absolutely nothing wrong with these measures taken to uphold a law which has already been made.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 09:22 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ela214 at 4-10-2012 09:38 AM (11 years ago)
instead of una to provide jobs,security  etc.una dey do nonsense.ike ozi gwu nwata ike oku aka ya nma.ndi ara.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 09:38 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Amoskiss at 4-10-2012 10:01 AM (11 years ago)
Na which kind wili wili level bi dis.... Every day na won law or d oda, dem go soon put law say if u enta lag u go change ur shirt cos d one way u where frm anoda state dem nor register am... E dor  too much ooo na to much
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:01 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- buoyantic at 4-10-2012 10:15 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ok checkd!
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:15 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Princestevo at 4-10-2012 10:51 AM (11 years ago)
what if they go back to there state.. will there state allow lagos plate number also??? yeye Govt.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:51 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- funniggaz at 4-10-2012 10:58 AM (11 years ago)
Thumb up Fashola!! more grease to ur elbow!!,,,i swear i,ll do even worse if u put me in any position!!,,,dis is what we need!!! ppl living overseas are human beings too, and its working out fine for them!! WE NEED DISCIPLINE FROM THE SCRATCH!!
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:58 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- funniggaz at 4-10-2012 11:03 AM (11 years ago)
For me,,,m only concerned bout LAGOS!! if other Governors think and do thesame like "Fashola",,, Nigeria will a great example to the world!!,,,,if u cant beat dem,,join them!!
Posted: at 4-10-2012 11:03 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- funniggaz at 4-10-2012 11:17 AM (11 years ago)
1 more advice from me my Governor",,, try to impose a compulsory VEHICLE CHECK UP,, dat last every 2 years!! it will definately reduce the Fatal Accident on the road!!
Posted: at 4-10-2012 11:17 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6