Man sleeping with mother as wife - custom

Date: 22-04-2009 1:56 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Shedrack Alache
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 22-04-2009 01:56 PM (14 years ago)
I don't understand the meaning of customs and tradition any more and i think if there is need Nigeria should be redesigned. You see, somethings sounds like taboo, abomination and incense or better still sacrilege. But, i dont even know these things existed, where it is normal for a man to bed his mother in the name of custom, until my relocation to my new station.
do you know in a part of Nigeria, a woman or widow is permitted to marry her son and raise (i mean live together, sleep together and conceive and bear children for him)children for him? Now how do you feel having to choose between your girl friend and mother?
Let me be candid a little. A woman's husband dies and she was being asked if who would she want to be re-married to? She simply said her first son against the brothers in-law eying her. the son accepted and they performed the necessary traditional marriage right and was allowed to take the so called wife (mother) to his bosom. The man keeps the new wife in their home town and comes from Abuja to visit as often. Bobbo just newly got married to fine girl but never explained the other side to the wife.
The height of the whole thing happened when both mother and new wife were pregnant for man.
The lady felt like committing suicide but was told that that was the custom and that actions was uncalled for.
I tried asking a friend why would such a custom be allowed but he simply asked me, what difference has this from men who marry their late brothers wives, in some part of the country.
For me, even if that was the only thing to reject that will make me being an outcast, i think it's worth doing. Some of these evil customs and traditions should be checked and be abolished.

Posted: at 22-04-2009 01:56 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- richhood at 22-04-2009 02:50 PM (14 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Meeeeen i think theres a need to check that guy properly, he should be responsible for his dads death and that means they have been doing it even b4 the death pls forget about tradition and take him for questioning bcos tradition has so blinded their eyes that they dont even want to know what killed him.pls he needs to be ask some good que. for his wife she is to blame how could she marry a person without knowing his customs?? she is just messed up and she will live with that pain for the rest of her life Tongue
Posted: at 22-04-2009 02:50 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- onchedu at 22-04-2009 05:24 PM (14 years ago)
Looooonnnnnggggg thing!
Posted: at 22-04-2009 05:24 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- idyyoung at 22-04-2009 05:37 PM (14 years ago)
boering
Posted: at 22-04-2009 05:37 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- herdeysohjy at 22-04-2009 07:21 PM (14 years ago)
9ice one but Wrong room, this will be appreciated at the Dis Life Section of naijapals
Posted: at 22-04-2009 07:21 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ibobobelvis at 22-04-2009 07:32 PM (14 years ago)
this is one major reason why naija cnt be compared to other countries,we still have some diabolic n devilish ways we call custom,why in God's name will a normal human being get married to the mother n even impregnate her,all in the name of custom n tradition,shit custom!!

Posted: at 22-04-2009 07:32 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vosa at 22-04-2009 07:45 PM (14 years ago)
That is straight out sick.... but remember there was a time in humanity when people had to marry their sisters... i heard that Sarah is Abrahams step sister.... can u beat that?
Posted: at 22-04-2009 07:45 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ibobobelvis at 22-04-2009 07:53 PM (14 years ago)
abeg make i coomot for this room boh

Posted: at 22-04-2009 07:53 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 22-04-2009 08:10 PM (14 years ago)
am really baffled indeed
Posted: at 22-04-2009 08:10 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ironlady at 22-04-2009 08:12 PM (14 years ago)
hey bb
Posted: at 22-04-2009 08:12 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ironlady at 22-04-2009 08:23 PM (14 years ago)
nothing dey sele ooo..just here oo n u?
Posted: at 22-04-2009 08:23 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- diplomatik at 23-04-2009 12:34 AM (14 years ago)
yak.............

Posted: at 23-04-2009 12:34 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulinuz at 23-04-2009 12:58 AM (14 years ago)
tufiakwa!!!!! see why naija go always remain for bottom........becos of taboo like dis one.
Posted: at 23-04-2009 12:58 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ladykool at 23-04-2009 01:03 AM (14 years ago)
na wa o!! Embarrassed

Posted: at 23-04-2009 01:03 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- myragonza at 23-04-2009 06:45 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: shedluv on 22-04-2009 01:56 PM
I don't understand the meaning of customs and tradition any more and i think if there is need Nigeria should be redesigned. You see, somethings sounds like taboo, abomination and incense or better still sacrilege. But, i dont even know these things existed, where it is normal for a man to bed his mother in the name of custom, until my relocation to my new station.
do you know in a part of Nigeria, a woman or widow is permitted to marry her son and raise (i mean live together, sleep together and conceive and bear children for him)children for him? Now how do you feel having to choose between your girl friend and mother?
Let me be candid a little. A woman's husband dies and she was being asked if who would she want to be re-married to? She simply said her first son against the brothers in-law eying her. the son accepted and they performed the necessary traditional marriage right and was allowed to take the so called wife (mother) to his bosom. The man keeps the new wife in their home town and comes from Abuja to visit as often. Bobbo just newly got married to fine girl but never explained the other side to the wife.
The height of the whole thing happened when both mother and new wife were pregnant for man.
The lady felt like committing suicide but was told that that was the custom and that actions was uncalled for.
I tried asking a friend why would such a custom be allowed but he simply asked me, what difference has this from men who marry their late brothers wives, in some part of the country.
For me, even if that was the only thing to reject that will make me being an outcast, i think it's worth doing. Some of these evil customs and traditions should be checked and be abolished.

which tribe be that...?

Posted: at 23-04-2009 06:45 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lonelysnow at 23-04-2009 09:03 AM (14 years ago)
still readin thru...
Posted: at 23-04-2009 09:03 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Resi at 23-04-2009 09:30 AM (14 years ago)
I refuse to believe this...

Posted: at 23-04-2009 09:30 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 23-04-2009 09:46 AM (14 years ago)
Ripley's Believe it or Not  Grin

Posted: at 23-04-2009 09:46 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- websense at 23-04-2009 03:10 PM (14 years ago)
PFFTTTT....NEXT!!!
Posted: at 23-04-2009 03:10 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Beauti4 at 23-04-2009 05:33 PM (14 years ago)
wat wat wat....
Posted: at 23-04-2009 05:33 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8