University of Benin Discovers CURE for HIV/AIDS (Page 13)

Date: 08-01-2013 5:50 pm (11 years ago) | Author: endy
1 ... 10 11 12 [13] 14
- Biafranwar at 10-01-2013 09:11 AM (11 years ago)
Who come put yardua pic for there na
Posted: at 10-01-2013 09:11 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 10-01-2013 02:01 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 10-01-2013 02:01 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- trapheal at 10-01-2013 02:17 PM (11 years ago)
Still sound like a lie (1000 infected a day?) Cheesy  that picture is not true O, at that rate all Nigerians would be Positive O Grin
Posted: at 10-01-2013 02:17 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olapadeO at 10-01-2013 02:35 PM (11 years ago)
 D same, same, how true is dis? hope dis is not another fallacy...........
Posted: at 10-01-2013 02:35 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- reelme at 10-01-2013 04:46 PM (11 years ago)
Its pitiful to read dis idiotic war among ethnic groups ere. U call urselves youth, u r exposed to information nt available to ur parents, yet to think exactly like dem. Shame on all of u claiming tribal superiority. The old people used such agendas for political motives...but u, youths, should really know better! Shame on all of u fighting this disgusting fight! We are Nigerians first, then any other thing follows. Jeeez!
Posted: at 10-01-2013 04:46 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Rihannaaa at 10-01-2013 05:05 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: reelme on 10-01-2013 04:46 PM
Its pitiful to read dis idiotic war among ethnic groups ere. U call urselves youth, u r exposed to information nt available to ur parents, yet to think exactly like dem. Shame on all of u claiming tribal superiority. The old people used such agendas for political motives...but u, youths, should really know better! Shame on all of u fighting this disgusting fight! We are Nigerians first, then any other thing follows. Jeeez!
tell them my brother. Their case tire me  Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided

Posted: at 10-01-2013 05:05 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daniel2oo at 10-01-2013 06:30 PM (11 years ago)
we  thank God that at least something good has come out of our laboratory and the fed goverment can not do anthing to support you now until the white man come and pick them up and then they will be shouting ,keep the good work and God will bles u all,make cool cash online thru this link,
http://unlimitedtrust.com/-108141.htm
Posted: at 10-01-2013 06:30 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- HOPEA23 at 10-01-2013 10:10 PM (11 years ago)
una still dey fight..smh

Posted: at 10-01-2013 10:10 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Hotblades at 10-01-2013 11:17 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: NZOGWU on 10-01-2013 07:52 AM

You get it all wrong because you don't know the difference between theater productions cinema .such as Ola Balogun and Hubert Ogunde in the 1960s, but they were frustrated by the high cost of film production. However, television broadcasting in Nigeria began in the 1960s and received much government support in its early years. By the mid-1980s every state had its own broadcasting station. Law limited foreign television content so producers in Lagos began televising local popular theater productions. Many of these were circulated on video as well, and a small scale informal video movie trade developed.

Ogunde.Ola balogun and Hubert Ogunde in Lagos began televising local popular theater productions and cinema in the 1960s not nollywood for your information.

The release of the box-office movie Living in Bondage in 1992 by NEK Video Links owned by Kenneth Nnebue in the eastern city of Onitsha set the stage for Nollywood as it is known today.The story goes that Kenneth Nnebue had an excess number of imported video cassettes which he then used to shoot the first film.The huge success of this film set the pace for others to produce other films or home videos. Through the business instincts and ethnic links of the Igbo and their dominance of distribution in major cities across Nigeria, home videos began to reach people across the country. Nollywood exploded into a booming industry that pushed foreign media off the shelves, an industry now marketed all over Africa and the rest of the world.The use of English rather than local languages served to expand the market and aggressive marketing using posters, trailers, and television advertising also played a role in Nollywood's success.

For your info. The first Nollywood movie was not made by Kenneth Nnebube or Living in Bondage production. It was made by Jide Kosoko- Asiri nla. 
Theres been Nigerian movies waaay before Living in Bondage. Nigerian films, Nigerian movies, theyre all still categorized in "Nigeria Movie Industry"  Jide Kosoko produced the first Nollywood movie asirinla in '92.  But living in bondage was more popular and accepted than asiri nla and that was why people tended to identify with living in bondage as the first nollywood movie, but doesnt mean igbos started the movie industry or opened the gates when there were movies already out there being made by others. In my own personal opinion Both movies are not up to standard so i personally wouldnt say they are "bigger and/or better". Jide Kosoko produced the first nollywood movie, i agree living in bondage appealed more wider demographics but i dont agree it was better or threw the gates open. Nollywood as a concept is the issue between jide kosoko and by extension the yoruba speaking movie industry and the living in bondage guy and by extension the ibo speaking side, and it is as clear as day that the alade aromire/jide kosoko movie was the very first nollywood movie in nigeria. Nollywood is just a name there was nothing like Nollywood before 2000 was there? People were just making movies and nobody cared to give Nigerian movie industry any name same way our music industry has no name. Ppl just called it Nigeria movies, Nigeria film Jide Kosoko produced the first Nollywood movie before Living in Bondage. Nigerian movies were also already being made before the 90s too by legends like Hubert Ogunde, Ola Balogun and co who are the forefathers... who also made way for theatre arts in Nigeria. 
By the way, Kenneth Nnebue quit Nollywood a few years ago, retiring to his village.
Posted: at 10-01-2013 11:17 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 10-01-2013 11:35 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 10-01-2013 11:35 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 11-01-2013 12:38 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Hotblades on 10-01-2013 11:17 PM
 For your info. The first Nollywood movie was not made by Kenneth Nnebube or Living in Bondage production. It was made by Jide Kosoko- Asiri nla. 
Theres been Nigerian movies waaay before Living in Bondage. Nigerian films, Nigerian movies, theyre all still categorized in "Nigeria Movie Industry"  Jide Kosoko produced the first Nollywood movie asirinla in '92.  But living in bondage was more popular and accepted than asiri nla and that was why people tended to identify with living in bondage as the first nollywood movie, but doesnt mean igbos started the movie industry or opened the gates when there were movies already out there being made by others. In my own personal opinion Both movies are not up to standard so i personally wouldnt say they are "bigger and/or better". Jide Kosoko produced the first nollywood movie, i agree living in bondage appealed more wider demographics but i dont agree it was better or threw the gates open. Nollywood as a concept is the issue between jide kosoko and by extension the yoruba speaking movie industry and the living in bondage guy and by extension the ibo speaking side, and it is as clear as day that the alade aromire/jide kosoko movie was the very first nollywood movie in nigeria. Nollywood is just a name there was nothing like Nollywood before 2000 was there? People were just making movies and nobody cared to give Nigerian movie industry any name same way our music industry has no name. Ppl just called it Nigeria movies, Nigeria film Jide Kosoko produced the first Nollywood movie before Living in Bondage. Nigerian movies were also already being made before the 90s too by legends like Hubert Ogunde, Ola Balogun and co who are the forefathers... who also made way for theatre arts in Nigeria. 
By the way, Kenneth Nnebue quit Nollywood a few years ago, retiring to his village.
You kinda have a point. IMO Nigerians in general made way for the rise of Nollywood and the Nigerian movie industry. It did not begin just by one single movie (Living in Bondage) The gates opening for Nollywood took time, experience, confidence, which progressed over the years. You don't just draw your first picture and decide to be an artist the next day or sell one item and decide you want to own a business the next day. It takes time & experience. The Yoruba ppl dominated the "Nigerian movie Industry" during the days of Hubert Ogunde's and Ola Balogun's days. Igbos who claim theyre the starters of it & own the movie industry are not & don't. (when judging by history). We started from somewhere. Not from 1 movie. With all the movies/films Nigerians have made over the past decades played a huge role too. We forget our history of theatre arts in Nigeria and how it came to be.. that our forefathers and legends also contributed to the uprising of our Nigerian movie industry with all their professional theatre work, movies, plays, etc. Our forefathers who acted films in the 50s/60s and also built theatre arts school. By the '90s we've succeeded in making sooooo many movies Nigerians could already see that they we're talented and capable enough to establish what is now Nollywood. Just like Hollywood and Bollywood that also later grew & established after hundreds of movies. The name "Nollywood" didn't come til like 2000 even though Living in Bondage and Asiri nla was made in the 90s it was still  referred as "Nigerian movie" If Living in Bondage and/or Asiri nla was the very first Nigerian movie ever made above all movies that were already made in the past decades, Nollywood would not have been established because of one movie. 
Posted: at 11-01-2013 12:38 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 11-01-2013 03:25 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: NZOGWU on  9-01-2013 11:18 PM

Nnamdi Azikiwe and popularly known as Zik was one of the leading figures of modern Nigerian nationalism who became the first President of Nigeria after Nigeria secured its independence from the United Kingdom on 1 October 1960 holding the presidency throughout the Nigerian First Republic.

Achebe is a brilliant writer.To be honest I believe his books are incontrovertibly the best for mainstream readers in Nigeria. Especially when one considers Wole Soyinka's style and his insistence that he doesn't write for all.Making go get another book one of his favorite mantras.There are so many good writers around the world,and I don't think I can conveniently say that Achebe is better than all past winners of the prize.You may want to say that if Soyinka has won the prize Achebe should also have won, but before you try to use this argument to recuse the panel, I will like to bring to your notice that Soyinka mostly writes plays, and Achebe writes novels.Plays are believed to be a tad difficult when compared with other written literary works.

During the Congo Crisis of the 1960s,the United Nations Secretary-General,Dag Hammarskjöld, appealed to the Nigerian government to send troops to Congo. Lieutenant Colonel Ironsi led the 5th battalion to the Kivu and Leopoldville provinces of Congo.His unit proved integral to the peacekeeping effort, and he was soon appointed the Force Commander of the United Nations Operation in the Congo.

Major-General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi then rose from the ashes of the First Republic to become the country's first military Head of State when Acting President Nwafor Orizu officially surrendered power to the military.Ironsi is the first Major-General in nigeria .while Chief of Staff, Nigerian Defence Forces then are

Chief of Staff, Nigerian Defence Forces Brigadier Babafemi Ogundipe 1966

Chief of Staff, Army  Lt-Colonel Yakubu Gowon

Military Governor of Eastern Region Lt-Colonel Chukwuemeka Ojukwu

Military Governor of Western Region Lt-Colonel Adekunle Fajuyi

Military Governor of Mid-west Region Lt-Colonel David Ejoor

Military Governor of Northern Region Lt-Colonel Hassan Katsina

Yes every tribe contribute for the growing of economy,but will need Igbo president to move nation forward.When an Igbo president rebuilds Nigeria, Nigeria will still thwart his history. Nigeria will make the history look as if a northern or western minister in the Igbo president’s cabinet did the job. Ekwueme resisted Abacha’s terror with his G17 group. That was at a time when nobody dared challenge Abacha. This group later became the political party called PDP. Yet Nigerian denied Ekwueme the presidential ticket. Today nobody recognises that this Igbo man risked his life under Abacha in order to bring a sense of belonging back to governance in Nigeria. Nigeria needs Igbo presidency now to rebuild all the cracks on the walls of Nigeria .
I'm not arguing over Soyinka and Achebe or who's better. Theyre both great writers and do they're own thing. I specifically said Wole Soyinka won a Nobel Peace Prize to highlight the fact that igbos arnt the only achievers in Nigeria. There are Nigerians who've done things & succeeded in things Igbos havnt done yet. You're naming all these Igbos here and there. And what is your point exactly? NIGERIANS in general have excelled in sooo many things! Why must you seperate it into igbos? I too can create a list of Achievers & Successes from my tribe but I won't. You talk of all these igbo ppl doing great things, well what have YOU done? Where are you on the list? What have you contributed to your country? No. Having an Igbo president doesn't mean Nigeria will be better or the answer to all Nigeria's problems. Thats your egotism speaking. Mind you some of our polilooters are also Igbo amongst many other tribes. Tribe/Race/Gender does not matter when choosing a good president. There's more important inside factors like making sure the person is trust worthy, background info, education/experience, knows/experienced what it's like to live in poverty, God fearing, etc...
Posted: at 11-01-2013 03:25 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- STKASTRO at 11-01-2013 03:58 AM (11 years ago)
fake news
Posted: at 11-01-2013 03:58 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 11-01-2013 01:31 PM (11 years ago)
Una dey try sha..

Posted: at 11-01-2013 01:31 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 11-01-2013 02:49 PM (11 years ago)
no be small..
Posted: at 11-01-2013 02:49 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 11-01-2013 05:20 PM (11 years ago)
hmmmm

Posted: at 11-01-2013 05:20 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dexiouz at 11-01-2013 08:30 PM (11 years ago)
There are a lot of undiscovered wonderful things in Nigeria.
Posted: at 11-01-2013 08:30 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 12-01-2013 12:01 AM (11 years ago)
You are right

Posted: at 12-01-2013 12:01 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 12-01-2013 09:43 AM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 12-01-2013 09:43 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 12-01-2013 09:43 AM (11 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 12-01-2013 09:43 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 10 11 12 [13] 14