Some Lagos Prostitutes have made open claim that they usually bribe members of the Nigerian Police force with free se x. Dealing with Prostitutes in Lagos State has been a huge task on the government; at least, now we know why.Commercial se x workers (Locally called Ashawo) at a brothel around the Railway Police Station, Agege area of Lagos state, Southwest Nigeria confirms that they go give the Police a free stand chance so as to avoid unnecessary arrest and gain information on possible raid.The brothel, it was learnt, has been in existence for several years without any disturbance from its neighbouring Railway Police divisional headquarters as well as two churches, one located directly behind it and the other located two houses away from it.
Parading 19 ladies of different sizes and shapes, some of the prostitutes confessed to P.M.NEWS that the rapport between them and policemen force has remained very cordial.
“I’ve been doing ashawo (prostitution) business here for over three years now and I can tell you as a customer not to fear because the police will never come here to harass anybody.
“They know what we do here and also know how we operate. In fact, they are our best friends here,” one of the commercial sex workers, a Benin girl who refused to mention her name, told our correspondent.Another prostitute in the brothel told our correspondent that to keep the relationship between the brothel and the police “in good shape,” they cough out N3,000 monthly to bribe law enforcement agents.
No wonder keeping these commercial se x workers off the street of Lagos has been a tedious and unyielding job. Those that are meant to uphold the law are their greatest patronizers.
Posted: at 2-02-2013 01:16 PM (12 years ago) | Hero