The stolen dance saga between Nigeria’s P-Square and Ghana’s Samini continued online this week, as the social networking site, Twitter has become the stage for these renowned African artistes to settle their disputes.
Trouble began when Ghanaian artiste, Samini accused P-Square of stealing their Azonto dance to make their Alingo video which has been a club banger since its release topping musical charts in and out of Nigeria.
Before Samini’s accusation popped up, wagging tongues had earlier alleged that P-Square’s Alingo video, which is experiencing thousands of downloads, was copied from Timaya’s BumBum track.
Samini actually released a new track titled Azonto to drive his point.
In the track which he sang over P-Square’s Alingo beat, Samini accuses P-Square of copying the Azonto song and dance, then renaming it Alingo!
Samini actually changed some lines of the Okoye brother’s song to drive home his point. For example where P-Square sang, ‘She is making me bark like a bingo….’, Samini changed it to, “the name sound like Azonto, the dance kind of look like Azonto so try show me something I don’t know.”
Samini seems to have won the heart of some Ghanaians and Nigerians who wasted no time to post the following comments.
“Samini has a point. When I first heard Alingo, I thought that it was a knock-off of Azonto too. Besides the similarities in the beats, the dance moves are nearly identical. I like both songs but P-square needs to give credit where credit is due or just stop copying other people’s songs.
Another post read: “He is right about it that was exactly my thought when I first saw the video. The Azonto Alingo dance part though”, an anonymous writer commented.
Another furious fan wrote, “Tru talk jor. I’m tired of getting dis usual copy copy frm P-Square. U can always trace dia beats to an existing song. Nd dis dance to somtin not new as well. But it’s ok for him to make a disdain track with their beat? Issokayy Kai, 9ja!”
And this rather passionate fan wrote: “It is clear for all to see except envious Nigerians that Azonto came before Alingo. The fact that nobody is dancing Alingo except for P-Square and their group shows that Azonto is the original and more durable dance. P-square has a dubious history of jacking songs and beats and using them as their own; another fact that seems to fall on deaf 9ja ears! When it comes to certain things we Nigerians like to stick our heads in the sand and feign ignorance. It’s an inferiority complex we really need to overcome.”
Samini’s diss track however, did not go down well as some diehard fans of P-Square decided to defend the artistes by posting the following; “Mtchewww this one shud go and hit his head on the rock. He’s just trying to get popular. Big up P-SQUARE you guys rock always”HYPERLINK
Another P-Square fan wrote: “Make he go siddon joor! him no get better story to yarn…next please!!..between Peter that is a matured way to handle it…N..Gee. what if they modified azonto……its just plain bad belle. Azonto and d Alingo r not even d same dance..D alingo iz even hard to do while the Azonto iz so easy… Everyone comes out wit dancesteps.Mj had d moonwalk. It is common this days to have dance steps, P-Square just used that to push a song. It is called strategy. This guy wants attention. I wish P-Square just ignored him.”
Meanwhile, Peter Okoye tweeted this: “Don’t you worry your pretty little mind. Pple throw rocks @ things that SHINE.”